Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
31%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Chief Executive Officer Michael Nagowski
Michael Nagowski
32 Ratings
  1. "Worst hospital I’ve ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    I made friends here and generally liked my coworkers.

    Cons

    I had a negative experience here from the start. My hiring manager lied when she told me that the mandatory overtime they require was temporary (they’ve been doing it for 12 years) and gave me unrealistic expectations about how quickly I would be able to move to day shift. They only schedule four weeks in advance meaning that you end up working an overtime shift EVERY OTHER WEEK. All other hospitals I’ve worked for schedule six weeks in advance. Very little flexibility and although they say that they self schedule, this is not the case. Pay is very low, as is staff morale. Everyone I met was trying to leave. Honestly the worst nursing culture of any place I’ve worked. Expensive benefits that cover very little. Poor education reimbursement. Senior staff is very jaded.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2020-01-31
  2. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co workers and flexibility for school

    Cons

    Sometimes management is not understanding, but this can vary spent on the person

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2020-01-25
  3. "A great place to work. Fast paced."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Supervisor in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth and promotion potential is good.

    Cons

    What can I say..... It's a hospital. Germs, germs and more germs but we go to great lengths to prevent the spread of germs.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-12-23
  4. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Exposed to many skills and offered a lot of education opportunities.

    Cons

    Too many patients and not enough staff

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-12-20
  5. "Rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, the staff was very unaccomodating and demeaning

    Cons

    Very little employee loyalty. High turnover. Low pay

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-12-19
  6. "Horrible work environment!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Career advancement opportunities: but are required to work here and they only teach it the cape fear way for NA 2 class..meaning, some things taught are outside of the scope of practice according to NC guidelines.

    Cons

    12+ hour shifts with required 3 day work week for full time employees or they TAKE PTO to cover the missed hours. Employee safety: I work nights and we are required to park in dim lit, gravel parking spaces or risk getting. Boot on your car from security. Patient ratio: when I first started I was told the ratio was 9:1 for nursing assistants (on my floor) but recently we are given 19 patients due to lay offs, and CNAs leaving left and right. Pay: after three years and two “raises” I just got to $10/hour a few months ago. This hospital has the LOWEST pay for CNAs in the greater Fayetteville area. Home health workers make more as a starting salary. Overall: this hospital has spent 2 billion dollars to convert their EHR, building a new student academic facility and yet they are overworking and under appreciative of the few loyal staff members they have now.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-11-11
  7. "Low pay, hard work, lots of experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your fresh out of school this place is good for getting experience.

    Cons

    Very demanding hard work and under paid.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-08-29
  8. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a lot of employee opportunities.

    Cons

    They have no regards to employees.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-07-16
  9. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Financial Representative in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with others and helping

    Cons

    I would have to say the environment and work place together

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-07-10
  10. "Certifies phlebotomist at several locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the patients and my coworkers. The lab staff is amazing at all locations.

    Cons

    Upper management creates a horrible work environment. Patient care is supposed to be the first priority and it is NOT! Lack of supplies due to budget cuts.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-06-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 148 reviews