Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
34%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Chief Executive Officer Michael Nagowski
Michael Nagowski
32 Ratings
  1. "Bottom liners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paramedic in Fayetteville, NC

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to get experience, one of the busiest hospitals in NC, caring first line management.

    Cons

    Low pay scales, mediocre benefits, annual raises have been 2% of hourly pay, skeleton crews on weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Work on retention instead of spending so much on new hires with no experience better health benefits plans

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-06-14
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paramedic in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good and fast pace EMS

    Cons

    Could pay more for the heavy workload

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work guys!

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-21
  3. "Challenges and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn in all aspects of nursing and patients. Busy, fast-paced so time goes by very quickly.

    Cons

    Short-staffed, therefore high nurse: patient ratio. patient safety concerns. a high percentage of novice nurses compared to experienced ones.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation for staff. Be more visible and available on your units. Patients are humans beings, not numbers.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-28
  4. "Monitor cardiac rhythms and dysthymia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cardiac Monitor Technician in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers make shift go by.

    Cons

    Management do not listen to workers complaints and needs.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to workers. Discipline primary worker that do not follow policy, not everyone in department.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-24
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and nice environment. I liked working there.

    Cons

    Scheduling is sometimes an issue. Couldn't always get the shift I wanted.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-04-21
  6. "EMS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center

    Pros

    Everything! Great management and awesome employees!

    Cons

    There are no coins in my opinion

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome work!!

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-03-19
  7. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Technologist in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager was very supportive

    Cons

    Trying to implement unrealistic changes from higher ups. Too much cut downs and micro management from the highest level.

    Advice to Management

    receive feedback from end users in projects

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-25
  8. "Good Nursing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great orientation package for new nurses

    Cons

    Units are all understaffed and pt: nurse ratio is not good

    Advice to Management

    Recruit more staff

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-22
  9. "Staff is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RN- Cardiac Step Down 

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were the best part of my job

    Cons

    The place could use some updating

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-07
  10. "Poor overall management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Allied Health in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The system has the potential to be a great community hospital.

    Cons

    Instead of improving the current system, management continues to make multiple purchases to add to the system. This was done at the expense of multiple employees who were laid off after a major hurricane and right before the holidays. Definitely not good for engaging loyal and hardworking employees.

    Advice to Management

    Learn and apply true leadership skills throughout the system. Integrity, dignity, trust, competence...these overlapping principles are sadly lacking.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-20
Found 145 reviews