Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
29%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Chief Executive Officer Michael Nagowski
Michael Nagowski
32 Ratings
  1. "No paid holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job security and wonderful colleagues

    Cons

    No paid holidays. They take time off of your PTO if you take a holiday off. Micromanagement by department Director creates a hostile work environment.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-11-20
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary for the area.

    Cons

    There are a lot of discrepancy between salaries and job title.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Certified Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Advancement Opportunities within the company

    Cons

    With all the changes being made and no retirement they need to offer more pay

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-11-07
  4. "Financial Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fayetteville, NC

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working for a fast growing organization who offers opportunity, flexibility and competitive wages.

    Cons

    Living in a military town the turnover sometimes is more than I would like to see.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-10-17
  5. "Who cares about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A job to place on the resume so that I do not appear as a new grad without experience. A regular paycheck...some of the friends I have met.

    Cons

    1. As a new grad NP, I was provided absolutely NO educational orientation. 2. They claim to be evidence based practice, yet when you say, "the latest studies show...", they say, well, that's not what we do at Cape Fear. 3. They provide no feedback. I came to CFV as a new grad NP. I was in one department for 10 months, with NO feedback as to how I was progressing. I was then 'transferred' to a completely different department. I could take the new position or quit. I was informed of this as an "educational opportunity". I was not provided with any additional education. 4. You give a 6 mo lead for a request off. They never actually say yes. They expect you to wait until the last minute for approval....who cares about obligations? 5. They claim you get PTO. However, you can only take it if YOU find coverage for your potential shifts (i.e. a schedule that isn't even posted)

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-09-29
  6. "Paramedic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paramedic in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fellow employees were great. Really caring people!

    Cons

    Managment is dishonest. New initiatives all the time. They roll over you in order to implement them. Find ways to fire people to improve department budgets and manager bonuses. Patient care was second to everything. Consistently short staffed.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-09-28
  7. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of OT if you want it.

    Cons

    Constant change by management but not necessarily for the better

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-09-28
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exercise Physiologist in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience/exposure Free access to great facility Backed by hospital system

    Cons

    Not much to do to challenge yourself (cleaning equipment mostly) Mircomanagers Not enough pay

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-09-20
  9. "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Turn over is high so all shifts become available quickly.

    Cons

    Poorly managed by leadership with not skills in the area they are managing.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-09-18
  10. "Check your management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Hoke, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Met some wonderful people I miss.

    Cons

    Management that has been in place at CFVH far too long reminds me of our government. Once your in power for a long time you become crooked. Michael Nagowski, please take this seriously. Look at the reviews. It keeps appearing. "Management" You need fresh newly educated people who know professional relationships better. I could name off your staff that have poor professional attitudes. We all know how poorly they treat the employees. Unless one lies, cheats or steals your management is getting rid of valuable employees with integrity, because they don't ride the " click" bus. Lives have been ruined. I was proud to work for Mr. Nagowski and very sad that I am one with integrity that got bullied. I had 104.8 temp, asked to go home and manager just smiled. After tylenol I was 101 in a.m. and dx with severe polynephritis. So yes I was sick, and no one seened to care. The bully made me look bad and I was let go. I had even told my PCM in the morning, but she did not show she cared. She only said to me .."I have a princess shift you can work tonight. " So that was a signal she did not hear me. So very sad....you ended my career. You did not listen to what I had to back me up on everything that happened. What a mistake you made. I shall never forget that bully you listened to.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-08-20
Found 149 reviews