Capita "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor

Capita Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
96%
Recommend to a Friend
Capita CEO Jon Lewis
Jon Lewis
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Career Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Journey Manager in Rotherham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capita full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Valuable career progression to develop skills

    Cons

    Challenges in signing off salaries and promotions

    Continue reading
    Capita2020-03-10
  2. "Good low stress job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Handler in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capita full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team managers. As long as you are hitting targets then managers are usually happy and will be more flexible with you. Free coffee machines (ok coffee).

    Cons

    Quite repetitive work, not very engaging. Does not seem to be many opportunities for career progression at the moment. If you aren't meeting close to targets during probation you are unlikely to stay. Limited holiday allowance during religious festivals e.g. Christmas, Eid.

    Continue reading
    Capita2019-12-28
  3. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administration in Darlington, North East England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capita for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work available for staff

    Cons

    opportunity for career progression is lacking

    Capita2020-01-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Capita full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good career progression for all verticals

    Cons

    Only located in three cities in India

    Capita2019-08-23
  5. "Okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Darwen, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capita full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, good people to work with in teams friendly place and very chilled

    Cons

    No career progression so job becomes repetetive to the point where you just stop trying to be the best at your job because it will still get you nowhere

    Continue reading
    Capita2019-07-10
  6. "Capita Employee for 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capita full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive environment. Excellent standards and processes with business unit. Interesting work and lots of scope for career progression. Large amount of investment in our products.

    Cons

    Within the business unit I work in, nothing springs to mind.

    Continue reading
    Capita2019-04-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "call centre work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Bury, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capita full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Within capita some businesses are better to work for then others, I was there for 4 years and it really depends on your ops managers, some of them made it a nice environment to work in and were approachable, others were scary. Hit and miss

    Cons

    Low wages, not much career progression or training, favouritism

    Capita2019-03-29

    Capita Response

    April 1, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review ! We hope all our employees have a great experience regardless of where they sit in the business which is why we have created our manager commitments for all our managers to live by !

    Continue reading
  8. "Good opportunities within a team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Clonakilty
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capita full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career Progression, Work life balance, Location, Flexibility, Pay, Benefits, Culture, Colleagues

    Cons

    Challenging sector with a v competitive landscape, Facilities

    Capita2019-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "All talk - no execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Darlington, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capita full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Decent benefits New senior leadership - potential for improvement

    Cons

    Very little resource within teams & overworked staff Management very sly with wage increases etc. (warning of discussion of salaries with disciplinary) Project intake - complete mess, severe lack of communication and responsibility High turnover of staff Very little career progression Nepotism within recruitment - promises broken and lied to regarding progression Refusal to acknowledge problems Multitude more problems Management clueless on their own employees Bullying/unsavory attitudes within management Slip of standards continually

    Continue reading
    Capita2019-03-15
  10. "Chronic payroll and holidays issues, but good working atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capita full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Relaxed atmosphere -Managers were friendly -Not too much pressure put on you to meet targets -Employee friendly work arrangements

    Cons

    -Chronic issues with pay being incorrect, and a very arduous process in getting it resolved. I was due a bonus to be payable to me over the Christmas period, and ended up giving up because I was getting nowhere. - Managers at the call centre tended to ignore poor working behaviours. - Holidays were very difficult to obtain for most of my time at Capita - Being given chances for career progression tend to rely upon being one of the manager's favourites. Otherwise nothing other than being neglected, or being offered broken promises, even if your work was of a consistently high standard. -Company has a well documented history history of incompetence in managing large contracts.

    Capita2019-02-05

    Capita Response

    February 6, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to find out more about the problems you have encountered and find a way to resolve these, this is not the experience I would expect our employees to have here. Please drop an email to Getintouch@capita.co.uk

    Continue reading
Found 61 reviews