Capital Group Senior Shareholder Account Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Capital Group Senior Shareholder Account Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
6%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capital Group President Philip de Toledo
Philip de Toledo
4 Ratings
  1. "Best Company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends

    I worked at Capital Group

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great coworkers, nice facilities. Great opportunity to learn about the mutual fund industry.

    Cons

    Difficult to advance in Shareholder Services, inconsistency with quality of team managers. The work can be monotonous, at least in SHSV.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2012-03-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Too Many Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative 

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible with schedules and good benefits

    Cons

    Incompetent mid-level management and could only get promoted through politics.

    Capital Group2017-09-06
  3. "Micromanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good money. Nice offices. Outwardly courteous.

    Cons

    too much multitasking. micromanagment. always being monitored.

    Capital Group2016-01-16
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great Benefits but unplanned Time off is tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company benefits: retirement plan, investment in their funds, medical, dental, disability are hard to beat. I've worked for several employers and have yet to find a company that matches the benefits offered by the Capital Group at an affordable cost. The managers are good about coaching employees on how to share ideas & their opinions in a positive, respectful manner. This has been a huge benefit for me both professionally and personally.

    Cons

    Time off around holidays is almost impossible to get. For non-holiday time off, you have to notify the company at least 3 months in advance or you will most likely not be approved. While Capital offers to cover the cost of business-related degrees, there is not a benefit to earning one.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2014-11-04
  5. "In the beginning I enjoyed the atmosphere, then each there after my disinterest increased."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees were nice to work with.

    Cons

    Some upper management were incompetent. The pay was minimal for the amount of work you had to do, and for the rude financial advisors you had to deal with. Policies were constantly changing, and you were micro-managed on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2014-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, no clear path for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capital group offers excellent medical and retirement benefits. Vacation benefits are misleading as they are based upon work volumes, which makes vacation around the holidays difficult.

    Cons

    There is no clear path for advancement at Capital Group. Finding the motivation to work had everyday is almost impossible as there in no incentive to work hard.

    Capital Group2013-03-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "What a great place to work - top-notch, first-class, plain great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Positive environment -Awesome benefits -Continuous development -Respect of all employees

    Cons

    -Lack of growth/advancement opportunities -Tuition reimbursement program, but no recognition/opportunities after completing degree

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2012-06-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great job, not a great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Shareholder Account Representative in Carmel, IN

    I worked at Capital Group

    Pros

    Great benefits, industry experience, reasonable pay for an entry-level postion.

    Cons

    Environment is very conservative - expect to be taken in a meeting room by a manager if you accidentally let a curse word slip. You are very micromanaged, your day is planned out for you in 15-minute increments and you'll receive feedback very regularly (sometimes daily or hourly). Your service levels will be criticized even if you have a valid reason for less phone time, ie a complex client situation that requires review by compliance and/or management. I was told when I was hired that I could get promoted within the first two years if I performed well, which I was but I was essentially doing the same job, just for a small increase in pay. There is little room for growth or advancement, if you provide good service they will want you to stay in a CSR position forever.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2012-04-19
  9. "Great job as far as call centers go ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Shareholder Account Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital Group

    Pros

    Schedules: Flexible start time allows up to 30 extra min in the AM in case you are running late. Pay: Very Competitive Benefits: Excellent. Training is pretty good. Over all a great company to work for, they pay a bonus twice a year, campus and work areas are comfortable to work in.

    Cons

    Inconsistent management. It is almost as if the rules you have to follow depend on your TM's interpretation and vary's from team to team.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2010-04-11
  10. "Informal/uncomfortable culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Shareholder Account Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group

    Pros

    - Job security (in this position only) - Great training - Great retirement plan (long/slow vesting schedule)

    Cons

    - Lots of micromanagement in this position - Un-educated/lazy management (team management, not senior level) - Raises have barely met the company's claimed economic inflation (4%) - Little room for growth - Informal culture - Associates in this position are treated like children at times (childish training/workshop games, management-associate relationships feel like high school all over again) - Managers directly control each associates ability to grow intra-department/intra-company, so many associates have an un-fair disadvantage (not personally).

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2010-04-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews