Capital Group "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Capital Group Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Capital Group CEO Philip de Toledo
Philip de Toledo
476 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people; Great Culture; Great benefits(in 164 reviews)

  • "Excellent benefits, work/life balance, room for growth -- all things companies preach but rarely display(in 131 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management may not have associate interests as a top priority(in 60 reviews)

  • "It's a call center so adherence is a must(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent with great hours

    Cons

    It's a call center so adherence is a must.

    Capital Group2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Culture was a main focus, but ultimately fell short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great retirement plan (if willing to stick it out and become fully vested) Supportive Team Members and Managers

    Cons

    The cons of Capital Group dealt mainly with the focus moving towards call metrics and away from the people-first attitude when I initially joined the company. It was overwhelming, discouraging and lead to a typical call-center environment that undercut the principles the company said it valued. Additionally, there was very minimal room for growth or opportunity to move to other business areas.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-08-08
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Client Services Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    work life balance is still pretty great. Good benefits. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    They're moving from service center to call center with metrics that are very heard to meet.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2018-03-22

    Capital Group Response

    April 16, 2018Vice President - American Funds

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about working at Capital Group. As you commented, we strive to offer premium benefits, ensure associates have flexibility in their schedules to achieve work/life balance, and hire talented and motivated individuals to help challenge and develop each other. Regarding your perspective on the changing environment, we have and continue to focus on being nimble while maintaining our core values and emphasis on associate engagement. We know change can be challenging and often raises questions. We welcome ongoing dialogue and encourage you to continue to share your feedback. GlassDoor is a great way to do so, as is talking directly to your manager, senior manager or someone in HR.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Micromanaging call center environment.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2018-03-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Shareholder Services Dept Specific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic medical, dental, vision benefits along with 2 annual bonuses. The facilities are well kept making a nice working environment. There is also a company retirement plan that is funded 100% by Capital (15% of eligible salary) with a 6 year vesting schedule.

    Cons

    The Shareholder Services department has evolved into a strict call center environment with limited to no flexibility in schedules - getting time off for vacation is a challenge and you're managing disengaged associates who are frustrated with the work environment. The organization is also very flat so upward mobility is extremely limited. There have been two layoffs for middle to upper management due to restructure and impacts the industry has had to the business. There is a lack of diversity of thought, a favorite saying is "the train has left the station, get on board". Upper management is focused on managing the business versus managing the people who support the business.

    Capital Group2017-12-06

    Capital Group Response

    January 23, 2018Vice President - American Funds

    We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to share your perspective. Providing a comprehensive total rewards package that includes competitive salaries and premier benefits has always been important to us – we’re happy for you and all associates to participate in the success of Capital! Delivering superior investment results, providing an excellent service experience to our clients and having highly engaged associates are non-negotiable to how we operate. Managing our business smartly with an appropriate focus on metrics and business results is important to ensure we sustain a fiscally responsible organization. In each of our business areas, including our four service centers we strive to create an open environment where associates share input about the work they do while also providing a wide variety of development opportunities. We’re committed to a diverse workplace where we can bring our true, best selves to work, which we believe leads to better ideas, better solutions, and better opportunities to grow for our associates and all clients we serve. Thank you again for sharing your perspective, the input and engagement of all associates is important to our continued success.

    Continue reading
  6. "It's a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    Not bad for a call center. Retirement plan is great

    Cons

    It is a call center

    Capital Group2017-12-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sr Client Services Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Service Representative in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and competitive pay.

    Cons

    Every day is scheduled for you with no say and an increased use of call center metrics. Due to the DOL ruling accounts are leaving at a rapid pace leaving less and less for service center employees to do.

    Capital Group2017-11-22
  8. Helpful (7)

    "It used to be an amazing company but things have changed drastically in the past year or so..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Capital Group part-time

    Pros

    Great people and culture still. Everyone is always willing to help each other. Good benefits.

    Cons

    That culture that is so appealing is changing rapidly and the push towards pure numbers is turning it into a basic, numbers-obsessed call center.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2017-11-09

    Capital Group Response

    December 8, 2017Vice President - American Funds

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. As an associate, you know how unique and important the culture at Capital has been for more than 85 years. Back to our founding, we’ve operated very intentionally to deliver superior investment results while maintaining an environment for our associates that is respectful, fair and of the highest integrity. Managing our business smartly with an appropriate focus on metrics and business results is important to ensure we sustain a financially healthy organization. We strive to recognize and reward the contributions of our diverse and talented associates so that we can deliver high-quality service to our clients. Thank you again for sharing your perspective, the input and engagement of all associates is important to our continued success.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Client Services Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Service Representative in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Where are all of these seemingly fake good reviews coming from? Ask anyone around and the morale is quite low nowadays. This new ruling from the department of labor has almost eliminated entire departments. Don’t be fooled, associates are resigning left and right due to severe cuts in cost. It all makes sense since the profitability just isn’t there anymore, but layoffs are here. This company used to be an exciting place to work but it’s gone downhill in the last year and they’re expecting that downward trend to continue.

    Cons

    Everything- including the new call center metrics that expect intelligent associates to act as simple minded robots by keeping in mind how many seconds each call takes. Even the managers are scrambling for their jobs at this point. Avoid joining shareholder services at all costs unless you’re looking for a 2 year filler job, that seems to be the average length of tenure before people get sick of it and leave.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2017-11-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Call center in disguise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people are genuinely great - Benefits are nice (especially from a millennial perspective) - Management is typically supportive

    Cons

    This company wants you to drink the kool-aid so that you don't realize you are essentially working at a call center. This is not made clear during the hiring or training process, and it seems like they are not upfront because most people probably would like to steer clear of call center environments. Felt like the job was not meaningful and had little impact due to changing industry standards. There is not much room for upwards mobility or changing to other business areas after being hired on. The company offers "internship" rotations, so that employees feel like they are doing more (and usually are) however there is typically not a pay increase.

    Capital Group2017-10-24

    Capital Group Response

    December 6, 2017Assistant Vice President - American Funds

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience working at Capital. We’re glad you enjoy the people you worked with and extensive benefits we provide our associates. We’re sorry to hear that you don’t feel the working environment was what you expected. Our recruitment and training processes make every effort to ensure transparency about our roles and responsibilities, including the opportunity to listen to mock phone calls and take a tour of our facilities to get a good feel for the work and our environment. We're also sorry to hear that you didn't feel the work that you were doing was meaningful. We firmly believe that while the client service representative role focuses on direct phone service, the work that is done by our associates is absolutely making a difference to improve the lives of our clients and shareholders. Thank you again for sharing your perspective and feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 33 reviews