Capital One Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Capital One Intern Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital One CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
19 Ratings
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, on task, flexible

    Cons

    redundancy in the work, work itself is not fulfilling

    Advice to Management

    Encourage employees to think outside the box and not just follow processes

    Capital One2019-01-23
  2. "An Internship I'll Never Forget"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst Intern in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Great company culture Great work life balance and travel opportunities

    Cons

    None, had a fantastic time working here

    Capital One2019-01-08
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and culture. Lots of fun networking events with peers

    Cons

    Hard to find people with answers

    Capital One2018-10-03
  4. "Best intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Intern in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Great manager, awesome snacks and beverages, so many interns events, lots of compensation, plenty of team bonding

    Cons

    Honestly nothing to complain about. Lived up to the hype. I really have nothing to say here. I heard the promotion process can be tricky.

    Advice to Management

    Make the promotion process more clear perhaps, overall I think things are being done really well in the direction of heading towards tech.

    Capital One2018-06-14
  5. "Fantastic company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst Intern in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent intern programming Access to executives across the company Real projects that contribute to the business Autonomy and responsibility, even as a junior employee

    Cons

    Programming and trips sometimes distracted from project work

    Capital One2018-06-02
  6. "Overall a mixed feeling in my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people just have to find them

    Cons

    Management does not treat the "good ones" properly

    Advice to Management

    do better at recognizing skilled workers for their efforts

    Capital One2018-04-02
  7. "All-around great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Analyst Intern in McLean, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One for more than a year

      Pros

      - Engaging project-based work - Fun and intelligent people to work with - Excellent company culture - Easy to move both vertically and horizontally

      Cons

      - Frequent intra-company movement means sometimes information/knowledge gets lost when people move

      Capital One2017-09-15
    • "Data Engineering Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Engineer Intern in McLean, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One

      Pros

      Company is striving to transform itself as more of a technology company. Great work-life balance. Very clear-cut career path from junior engineer to manager and beyond. People are very friendly, talented, and open to talking and sharing their experiences. HR works hard to make sure you are happy. Great values and philosophy at Capital One. One of few banks out there that is still founder-led.

      Cons

      Work is hindered by regulation and such due to being a bank. Most of the projects are internal and necessary, and generally aren't the "sexiest". Lack of open-source projects here. Team culture may be hit-or-miss. Depending on the location you're in, you might not have the swankiest office spaces and such.

      Advice to Management

      Work on standardizing culture at Capital One. Some teams are definitely very different from others. It would be nice for management to encourage teams to host more bonding activities and such.

      Capital One2017-08-20
    • "Great environemnt"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY

      I have been working at Capital One for less than a year

      Pros

      Good culture, good people, good experience

      Cons

      None. Work hard! The free meals could've been better

      Advice to Management

      More team building activities

      Capital One2017-04-11
    • "Busy working on a useless project."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Capital One for less than a year

      Pros

      Nothing exclusive that other places don't have. People are friendly, but that's almost the same everywhere.

      Cons

      Mean pay, terrible bureaucracy. Below par benefits. Worst snacks ever.

      Capital One2017-03-28
    Found 30 reviews