Capital One Reviews in Richmond, VA | Glassdoor

Capital One Richmond Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 896 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Software Engineering Manager in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Everything is Awesome and cool

    Cons

    Performance Management cut offs every year

    Capital One2019-04-04
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Advertising Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One

    Pros

    Great place to work!

    Cons

    I have no complaints about Capital One.

    Capital One2019-05-13
  3. "Cool Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Coordinator in Richmond, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule (for me, some dept. are not)

    Cons

    Company is great, the work is not very exciting (for me)

    Capital One2019-05-13
  4. "Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Detection Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good team atmosphere, and good incentives

    Cons

    scheduling, pay, inbound calls, metrics, n/a

    Capital One2019-05-08
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great

    Cons

    Interviews are difficult to crack

    Capital One2019-05-03
  6. "My Experience at Capital One"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - AML Quality Assurance Manager in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Top-notch facilities and technology.

      Cons

      Ambiguous promotion structure and very little attention to career development. Salary significantly lower than similar positions at other companies.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the people who perform the work. Stop the cycle of leadership that does not understand or express interest in understanding the work they are managing.

      Capital One2019-05-17
    • "Best company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Lots of PTOS, work life balance, work from home options, great culture

      Cons

      None, I loved it. Enjoyed going to work almost every day.

      Capital One2019-05-01
    • "Good company to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Benefit, Latest technology exposure, nice campus.

      Cons

      Performance management based on manager feedback.

      Capital One2019-04-30
    • "Very good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Very good company it is

      Cons

      more work is for mostly for engineers

      Capital One2019-05-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Be prepared to work 24/7 to keep your job, and do not even think about disagreeing with your manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager and Process Manager in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits Nice campus

      Cons

      Performance management practices cause competition vs teamwork HR is useless to help out if you have a horrible manager If you want to keep your job, plan to work after hours and weekends to be able to do more than your peers Reorganizations continually rotate managers and associates in and out of roles so they end up with job assignments on a whim that you may never have been interested in doing or be qualified or...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get back to the respectable place of your origin when associates could feel great about doing their jobs well and character mattered. If a manager has had multiple HR complaints filed about their style or questionable ethics, there is a problem with them continuing to manage people.

      Capital One2019-05-01
    Found 896 reviews