CapitalSource Reviews | Glassdoor

CapitalSource Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
CapitalSource Co-CEO and Director James J. (Jim) Pieczynski (no image)
James J. (Jim) Pieczynski
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CapitalSource for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great learning experience -Amazing company culture and people to work with -Bosses are humble and extremely intelligent

    Cons

    -Entry level position offered was not was I was looking for

    CapitalSource2017-09-27
  2. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at CapitalSource

    Pros

    Great managers, great environment, and great opportunities for volunteering.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    CapitalSource2018-07-21
  3. "Okay Place To Start in Commercial Lending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CapitalSource full-time

    Pros

    Laid back work environment with friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Difficult to move up and unorganized task structure

    CapitalSource2017-11-07
  4. "Credit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Analyst in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CapitalSource for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing, was a challenging and engaging position.

    Cons

    Lack of professional development and career growth.

    CapitalSource2017-05-31
  5. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at CapitalSource

    Pros

    Great manager, other AE's are friendly, not bad base salary with 10% annual bonus.

    Cons

    Very slow growth so most people with potential leave after 1-2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Promote within at a faster face to reduce turnover.

    CapitalSource2017-04-25
  6. "Summer Portfolio Management Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at CapitalSource

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment. Staff was very helpful & accommodating

    Cons

    Internship program wasn't very structured. Often found myself wanting for work. Tasks would take me less time than they expected and when I went looking for more work, I wouldn't be given anything.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a more comprehensive and structured program.

    CapitalSource2017-03-08
  7. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CapitalSource

    Pros

    early innovator before competition entered market

    Cons

    faded last few years and lost ability to be creative

    Advice to Management

    sell the business

    CapitalSource2016-10-13
  8. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CapitalSource full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    can be good if you are in the right group.

    Cons

    lot of turnover because they do not promote from within. Bureaucratic. Most of the talent has left the commercial lending / origination teams. No training. No real organization structure.. Bad upper and middle management since merger. lower then average pay unless you are VP or higher.

    Advice to Management

    treat employees better to avoid the high turnover rates. new hires are lacking because pay is too low.

    CapitalSource2016-04-08
  9. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CapitalSource

    Pros

    -Good management -Great location -Good mixture or people -Great starting job

    Cons

    -No set training period -Not very structured work environment

    CapitalSource2016-04-07
  10. "Accounts Receivable Collateral Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounts Receivable Collateral Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CapitalSource

    Pros

    Not a proactive, cohesive working environment, No work Life balance. Rampant employee burnout.

    Cons

    They run short staffed and those who are there work in a pressure cooker. Little to no management communication or staff support.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of and listen to your employees or continue to lose them.

    CapitalSource2016-04-27
Found 32 reviews