KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

CarGurus

Engaged Employer

CarGurus

Add a Review

CarGurus Employee Reviews about "dealers"

Updated Dec 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 238 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
CarGurus CEO Jason Trevisan
Jason Trevisan
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch, travel covered, gym, monthly happy hours - the list goes on(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great perks - Catered lunch, interesting problems to solve, lots of autonomy, great coworkers(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It felt like leadership mentally abandoned our existing product offerings to dealers(in 10 reviews)

  • "There are not many cons here at CarGurus, but some areas of improvement would include our work from home policy, which is only two days per month(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "dealers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      #2 best place to work in Boston for a reason

      Jun 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is growing like crazy -- fun to be a part of something that is clicking on all cylinders Great senior leadership team, across sales, engineering, marketing etc. Very strong on culture -- lifestyle friendly, flexible, fun place to work Incredible new office space

      Cons

      Competitive market, with several big well-funded competitors Our customers (auto dealers) are not exactly known for embracing innovation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lacks Leadership and Direction

      Dec 28, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pay was decent. - Engineering colleagues were talented, and the collaboration culture was strong. - Middle management genuinely cared about their reports. This is more than I can say about other employers in Boston.

      Cons

      - It felt like leadership mentally abandoned our existing product offerings to dealers. While the company had been profitable selling software and ad space to dealers, by 2019 the company seemed uninterested in optimizing our core profitable products. This created a situation where feature teams felt written off when direction was roadmapped at the company. - Leadership’s investment into new product offerings felt misguided and poorly executed. Our P2P marketplace functions seemed unadvertised and phoned in, and our historical offer test alienated our dealer base (look up CarGurus Carvana Offer Test). It’s hard to feel excited about these new directions when the company can’t execute properly. - The COVID-19 layoffs were large, painful, and poorly communicated. After weeks of leadership saying that “we have the cash” and that we’d be able to weather this storm on sheer firm economics, hundreds of employees were RIFfed into a bad job market. Many high-level directors had no say in who was RIFfed, and the decisions around which teams had cuts (and by how much) seemed political. This created a culture nosedive that the company still hasn’t recovered from. - Engineering felt constantly under-resourced and understaffed. During my time there, it felt like I had to build out technologies and products that would need 4x the people to build at any other company. This led to a big culture of burnout, and that burnout culture was amplified after the COVID-19 layoffs. - It felt like there was a lot of institutionalized sexism at the company. The company hired a few VPs that would degrade and belittle the women around them. This created a culture that felt hostile towards women.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Talent Branding & Events Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We acknowledge that this past year has been extremely difficult due to the unexpected effects of COVID, which unfortunately resulted in us having to make extremely difficult decisions as a company. However, we are actively working to evolve both our structures and processes within our organization to maximize clarity, growth, and success for our employees and our organization as a whole moving forward. We’re also committed to improving and expanding upon our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion efforts so that we can continue to foster an inclusive work environment for all. That being said, we do not tolerate sexist behavior at this company. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss any additional feedback you might have. Please feel free to reach out at (aeldridge@cargurus.com). – Andrea Eldridge, Chief People Officer

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A tech company in disguise

      Nov 2, 2020 - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and pre covid office environment were fine. Has the facade of caring about the employees.

      Cons

      Clearly this will not be a flattering review and will be buried in the tide of astroturfed 5 star reviews gushing that everything is great. CarGurus advertises itself as a tech company but it is a tech company in the same way WeWork is a tech company. It just so happens to have more people and a more recently developed website compared to its competitors and rides on the coat tails of Facebook and Google to resell advertising services to car dealers. Nothing it does is new or innovative and its "technology" is a monolithic mess that no one knows how it works and no one with the authority to spend the time to fix will want to do. You are tasked with fixing a near decade of technical debt but you have to do it the way your managers want else you are just harassed and bullied until you leave or they finally weaponize HR to just fire you. You will see the salary, the benefits etc... and be lured in but keep in mind that it is unlikely to move up and you will have to move on in a few years to keep your career going. There is no career growth and the usual review processes are setup for everyone to fail so they have an excuse to not give you a pay raise. Management is a mix of internal promotion of people who were there the longest and are drowning trying to do a job they have little experience in and no support or external hires who are the ones in the inadequate hiring process wore the best suit and made the white, middle aged, male managers at the top of the org chart feel the most comfortable. If your boss is the former then you and your team will flail around without direction and be blamed for not meeting unclear, unrealistic and unfair expectations. If your boss is the latter then you will either do what they say regardless of if it is the right thing to do or as previously stated be made to feel so uncomfortable you leave or your manager using HR to come up with some reason to get rid of you, mainly so they can hire in their friends from their previous company. COVID-19 caused the offices to be closed and people to work remotely which is something senior management railed against constantly when asked and in communications since have been trying to get support for opening the offices as soon as possible so they can go back to having their staff under their thumb in the office once again. Of course the no one works from home rule is for some and not others as plenty of people had unwritten agreements with their bosses about being able to work remotely and quite frankly the resistance to not wanting to do so is just an attempt from poor management to control their staff because they don't trust they will work unless they can be surveyed from a corner office. The CEO is absentee and just wants to run a forever startup and has lost interest going as far to moving all the new product work to a subsidiary and moving all the people he liked into it so they can play in the sandbox forever and ignore a directionless company whose stock is around a third of what it was at its peak. Langley if you are not interested in running CarGurus then sell your stake and go start something else. Clearly you are happier in that initial flurry of activity with a start up. The rest of the executive board are yes men at best and negative contributors at worse with the board room being a game of musical chairs to who is going to get the blame for the latest mess. This is getting long so I will just summarize: Not a tech company, a marketing and advertising services company The technology that does exist is a shambles Senior management are absentee or underqualified Middle management are every stereo type of petty to underqualified HR is Catbert but with better PR people to write their nasty grams You will never get a pay raise Everything is your fault unless you are friends with senior management then no matter what mess you make it is never your fault

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Talent Branding & Events Specialist

      We appreciate you leaving this thorough review. First, we would like to thank you for all of your hard work at CG. We acknowledge that we have work to do to further improve our internal policies and procedures to allow us to create an even more collaborative and transparent working culture for all areas of our business. With that being said, in no way do we stand for or tolerate any forms of harassment, bullying, or unkind treatment towards our employees. Anyone found committing or participating in said actions is eligible for termination. We urge you, if you know of specific situations, to please reach out to your HR Business Partner to report them. We take this feedback very seriously would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your concerns and frustrations to better our CarGurus community. Please reach out to me at (aeldridge@cargurus.com). – Andrea Eldridge, Chief People Officer

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No more mojo

      Feb 11, 2020 - Sales Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits and daily lunch. However, those are needed to counterbalance the crap you'll experience if you're going to talk to dealers. Good people work here. You will not be disappointed with your colleagues. CarGurus does give back with charity and community. They're continually improving the benefits as well and that is appreciated amongst everyone.

      Cons

      Don't get me wrong, this used to be THE place to work, and I had a blast during the rise of it all with an excellent culture, awesome colleagues, and a product that truly differentiated itself amongst the competition. Those were the good days. Now? No innovation, no new products that add value or even work, and full of distrust from clients due to multiple 50-100%+ renewals year after year with declining performance. They're moving away from large mass renewals, but the damage has been done. Leadership has its own club as mentioned in later reviews. Promotions within? Sure, but they know who they want before the interview starts and it doesn't mean they're qualified. From there they will then continue to get promoted year after year. Very few managers coach up, and it's a lot of just telling you to hit the phones and sell because of the inexperience. VPs of your department walk past you in the hall without any acknowledgment making you feel unwelcome and uncomfortable while the COO walks the floor, says hi to everyone, knows more about you than your direct manager, and says thank you with sincerity. In the end, I recommend not wasting your talents or let yourself wither away talking to car dealers that are already pissed before you walk in the door. Positive reviews for CarGurus are from those not talking to dealers, so it's better with roles that aren't customer-facing or sales driven. To my colleagues and friends still there: The grass is greener, and morale is higher elsewhere without the dark cloud you feel day in and day out. To HR reading this: Your surveys have shown all of the above as you've told us. The exodus of talent has given the same feedback in their exit interviews, and your response of "We're hearing similar messages" hasn't prompted a change in a "We move fast" fashion

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for your detailed review. I’m glad you’ve highlighted our people and commitment to charity and community as integrity is a keystone to who we are as Gurus. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had a less than ideal experience with leadership. Managers at every level are committed to making CarGurus a fair and equitable place to work and the People & Talent team is committed to making positive changes with hands-on leadership training and positive changes to give every Guru their best chance at success. I’m glad you hear you’ve found success in a new position, we wish you all the best!

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Needs improvement

      Aug 26, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the people I worked with, and can not complain about the work-life flexibility I experienced.

      Cons

      It’s hard to nail down a timeline of where things started to go wrong; however, there had been a palpable shift (in my department at least) to more negative vibes and discontentment with the current day to day operations of the company. There are probably many factors at play, but I really think the root of it all starts from hypocrisy. The company, and by extension my dealer-facing team, preaches certain “core values”. At the same time however, our job involved either breaking these values on a daily basis, or experiencing these values not being put into action by CarGurus itself. Two of these “Core Values” are Transparency and Integrity. Let’s talk about those. Internally - I’m still not sure how the commission plans totally work. The language can change on a monthly or quarterly basis. We also moved away from using a professional compensation planning program, to receiving our data through an Excel sheet or Google Doc. I would expect this at a small startup, not a $4 billion public company. The commission data is often not released to us until we are several days away from the actual pay date. We also need to crawl our book of business revenue each month, to make sure we are being commissioned correctly. Enhancements or product tests have been run without informing the dealer-facing job functions, leading to poor customer service situations when we don’t have the correct answers or the latest information. Externally - we have run a renewal model over the last several years that relies on raising dealership subscription rates so they are more in line with “market rates.” The tough part here is that we have no clear guidance into what the “market rate” should be and why. We might use one metric as a pricing threshold in certain instances internally, but then are encouraged not to use this metric when speaking with clients. There is also no consistency with pricing across the internal teams. Reps. discounting leeway changes daily, depending on their (and the team’s) monthly revenue needs. This leads to frustration on the customer’s end, as they are told different reasons each year as to why their rate is changing. Reps. are also forced to juggle a comp. plan that is split between attaining maximum incremental revenue, while limiting churn. Adding to the complexity- it is CarGurus, not the rep., who determines which subscriptions will be renewed, essentially forcing churn if the rep. is unable to renew them. They will inevitably be brought back on as “new business” several months later.. and the cycle continues. Ultimately, I had no problem raising subscription rates, or dealing with irate customers, but I wanted to know there is justification in doing so. Really- give me any reason that makes sense. Maybe that’s where this all started. When CarGurus finally did reach those “market rates” for most customers. Instead of a plan for what was next, we decided to just keep squeezing. Each rep. is feeling less and less runway for themselves. For a Sales team, this is not an ideal situation, and stems from mismanagement at the upper level.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Vice President, Sales and Service

      Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed and thoughtful review, and for your contributions to CarGurus during your time here. We always welcome constructive feedback to help us continuously improve. We aim to provide full transparency – you’ve highlighted some areas that have presented challenges that we’re actively working to improve, through both system enhancements and commission plan modifications. Thanks again for your candor; I’d be more than happy to speak further about your experiences here. – Mike C

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Shiny Car Broken Engine

      Jan 24, 2018 - Account Executive in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Catered lunch, nice colleagues, good benefits, outings, fun culture. All these pros makes working at CarGurus a fun exciting place to be. I made a lot of friends here and that’s what kept me coming back to work each day. It used to be a lot better back in 2016 early 2017 but after a revolving door of managment and new leaders in sales the whole atmosphere completely changed for the worst.

      Cons

      Managment is absolutely awful! Not saying every manager is terrible but majority are immature and not qualified to lead teams. They are promoted within due to a lack of options which creates inexperience account executives leading teams of mostly inexperienced sales reps. Expect to be micromanaged each and everyday with meetings after meetings filled with non sense and filler so the managers can prove they provide value when in reality they do not. Also expect to be asked if you even want to work at CarGurus even though people work long hours and stay late constantly. Also make sure you pick up that phone all day or you will hear “do you know how much money you make? Earn your paycheck”. Moral across the sales floor was always so low and everyone always looked miserable. Another issue is that CG signed up basically ever car dealer so there is a serious lack of prospects to sign but upper managment would tell you differently. If you are looking at positions that do not revolve a quota or sales then CarGurus is great but if you are thinking of applying to a sales role I would think twice.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid a sales role at all costs

      Sep 29, 2017 - Sales in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Food (don't you dare get in line early though!), snacks, beer, coffee, outings. Generally a good office atmosphere with a good view. Pay is good but was rapidly declining. From a day to day, the pros vary based on department. Life is probably great in engineering, marketing and HR. They probably enjoy autonomy, valued work and a lack of micro-management. Not so much in sales/dealer relations.

      Cons

      This was both my favorite job ever, and my worst. Years ago, this was the best sales job in Boston but with new mgmt came new priorities. Morale plummeted within a year like I've never seen before. Micro-mgmt to an insane degree, placing ALL the blame on sales and not the decision making of senior leadership, changing goals/metrics on a dime (based on whatever the flavor of the month was), and just an overall decline in enjoying being part of something we all helped grow. Yeah, there was food and games..but those became taboo and you typically ate at your desk and avoided the gameroom. Promotions here are 100% ALL optics /favoritism and nothing more. Work a Saturday, lots of reply-all emails, be vocal to the right people...BOOM, promotion! Most importantly, avoid the various sales departments at all costs. You've never met a group of people more miserable then those on sales. Again, it used to be the greatest sales job in Boston but it only took about 12 months to make it a miserable place to be. Constant fear of losing your job; sneak attack firings, mgmt out for themselves and does not have your back; zero culpability from mgmt for anything. The popular move became Dealer Relations since the US market is fully sold at this point (though they will never admit it). On this team your responsible for existing account upsells into a dead banner-ad market and renewals that reach 120% in increased price...seriously. Imagine having that conversation every day of your working life. But that team is 100 people now and there is nothing to cross-sell at all. The good news here is you don't actually fear for your job on this team (hence the move for sales here). And now CG is about to go public so it's even further downhill from here. Keep looking, Boston is a thriving market and there are tons of great jobs out there from companies that offer good pay and autonomy.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The ins and outs

      Jul 3, 2020 - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation: The compensation is great. If it's pay, commission, snacks, lunches and dinners when you are overworked at the end of every month. Compensation does not equal happiness. Peers: Everyone is in the same boat, so people can get along and be friendly. Teams don't spend quality outside of hours time together. The click: If you are luckily chosen or you have managed to get on the good side of management, the rules then change for you and you are at an advantage.

      Cons

      Career Opportunities: There is no clear career path within CarGurus. You are told to "keep doing what you are doing" and "be patient" and opportunities will "come up". The rules change based on employee too, all related to "The click" above in pros. You need to be a politician and push the rules to go anywhere. Mentorship: It doesn't exist. The mentorship process is about ticking the box, nothing more. Peers look after each other but mentor plans are not solid. Micromanagement: Don't believe interviews and responses on these reviews. Micromanagement is what runs the place. Revenue, calls, time on phone, opps created, stage changes, proposals, demos, meetings, deal reviews, call shadowing, time you leave the office and more. You are constantly worried about missing a certain metric, rather than being good at what you do. Work/Life balance: If you are single, money is the most important, work late, prospect in the middle of the night or early morning to have an advantage, say things you don’t want to say, do things you don’t want to do, not take breaks, eat your lunch at your desk and put on a happy face, CarGurus is for you. It's either your life outside of work is working or you bring work home with you. Culture and Values: It's all about revenue and KPI's. Everything revolves around it. The values are not shown and it's not focused on people and helping others. People are toxic and are in fear of not making quota on the micromanagement processes above. It should be shaped around helping dealers but it's not. Loyalty: It’s a flavour of the month type of place. No matter what success you bring, it is always forgotten. If you have sacrificed time outside of work to work, took a chance on a role they said would be the next big thing, not take holidays to hit those numbers, worked late every day and more - it’s all forgotten when it’s a new month and there is no loyalty to those who have given the most and are not in with “the click”. Glassdoor Reviews: Don't believe all the "no cons" reviews. After the company receives negative reviews, certain people in each team (who have been looked after - "The click") are asked to write a review on Glassdoor. There was even a day in the office while we were working, that certain people were asked to write reviews - In December 2019, after genuine reviews were left in November. CEO: The CEO has never visited EMEA offices. Regardless of the size of revenue, the face of the company has never spent time with his employees. If you are lucky enough, you might get a minute or two at the presidents club - good luck.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Vice President, European Sales

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value every review we receive and we know it is especially important to listen to the ones that are the most difficult to hear. Firstly, I’m glad to hear that you appreciate our compensation, benefits and perks. We are very committed to ensuring that our employees feel valued and treated equally so I’m so sorry to hear that you feel we missed the mark on this. I can assure you that we do not tolerate favouritism in any form. Please feel free to reach out to me at wharris@cargurus.com to discuss your feedback further.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not Really Tech Sales

      May 26, 2020 - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Lunches Upbeat atmosphere Good Office Location

      Cons

      Extreme micromangement Unrealistic targets Favouritism You're told that this is a consultative sales job, but in reality you're just a telemarketer that is treated like trash by both the dealers you call and the people you work for. DO NOT apply here if you want a sales position that's truly consultative and driven by the quality of work you produce rather than the number of calls you make.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      CarGurus Response

      Vice President, European Sales

      Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you felt micromanaged and that you weren’t listened to as that is not the culture and management style that we strive to achieve. We do not tolerate favouritism in any form. It’s also hard to hear your role did not live up to your expectations. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please feel free to reach out to me any time at wharris@cargurus.com as I value your opinion.

    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with CarGurus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CarGurus? Share Your Experiences

    CarGurus logo
    or