KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

CarShop

Engaged Employer

CarShop

Add a Review

CarShop Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated May 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 659 reviews

4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
CarShop Chairman and CEO Roger Penske
Roger Penske
81 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and every weekend(in 17 reviews)
  • "Some long days & can occasionally be stressful due to customer visits, weekend working required for most roles but understandable due to the nature of the business.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of CarShop and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good fun place to work with a family feel

    May 11, 2021 - Customer Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good opportunity to earn good money if you put the work in and fun place to work

    Cons

    Long hours and working weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Internal Development Oppertunites

    Sep 23, 2019 - Retail Operations Manager Designate in Swindon, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always looking to improve colleague and customer experience. passionte about evolving the car industry. Helping customers see a different way of purchasing. great training, rewards and benefit packages. Plenty of development for internal colleagues and promotion oppertunities are frequent.

    Cons

    Can be long hours and you to be a welcomer of change.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fab company :)

    May 13, 2020 - Detailer in Warrington, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at Carshop for just over 12 months and have enjoyed every minute of it so far. I work with a fantastic group of people and a great management team who strive for the best for not only the company but also their employees. Carshop have been amazing during the Covid-19 pandemic, ensuring all staff are fully supported and continually updated on what is happening. There appears to be more and more focus on communication within the company and with helping those that wish to progress and develop the opportunities to do so.

    Cons

    It is long hours but I do feel the rewards are competitive. Feel that the opportunities to develop and progress still require some work as great as they are now they are still somewhat limited.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great looking business, from

    May 25, 2021 - Retail Manager in Warrington, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and Car Allowance are competitive Simple and easy sales process

    Cons

    Long hours as open until 8pm and beyond depending on customers needs. No such thing as a day off

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and provide your feedback. Please feel free to contact me on fiona.cottle@carshop.co.uk if you would like to discuss anything further. Thank you.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic Opportunities

    May 25, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunities, fantastic senior management team, proper career progression for the right people, excellent earning potential. Honestly in my opinion (and I have worked main dealer and supermarket), CarShop has the best opportunities and pay in the motor trade.

    Cons

    Long hours and every weekend - but thats when we earn our money

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, positivity is contagious so stay happy

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good career progression

    Oct 16, 2020 - Business Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good career progression, company car scheme is ok, brand new every 3 months but allowance isn't great.

    Cons

    Working weekends and long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive feedback! As you know, weekend work goes with the industry and can't be avoided, however, there is an opportunity to book some weekend days off during the year as you know. We are currently taking steps to see how we can improve this even further along with overall weekly working hours. Thank you.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for, great ppl to work with, great benefits.

    Dec 16, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work environment, enjoy coming to work everyday, concept of the business

    Cons

    Long hours ( which are a no brainer in this business!)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    VP of Personnel and Culture Development

    I would agree, our work environment is awesome. I too enjoy coming to work each day----- most days anyway :)

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    10 YEARS WITH THE CARSHOP!

    Mar 2, 2018 - Retail Manager in Swindon, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of staff that have been with the business a long time which gives it a real family feel. Progression is more often internal. Lots of personal development opportunities. Huge number of staff benefits including company car options. Can be a great buzz and time often flies.

    Cons

    Can be long hours and on your feet all day. Must have a positive mind set as things may not always go your way.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for the review - good to see you living our values and always Being Determined!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Senior sales

    Feb 14, 2018 - Deputy Business Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast peace envitonment, every day is different. Great package for hard work, big earning potential

    Cons

    Long working hours but well worth it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it's good to see people doing well and taking advantage of the internal progression opportunities!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    CarSense, a company I would suggest to any friend who is looking for a job.

    Dec 16, 2013 - Sales Consultant in Mount Holly, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, Profit sharing is incredible and CarSense loves to hire from within. A place where they expect you to grow and give you the tools and training to do so.

    Cons

    Say goodbye to any kind of life outside of work. They expect you to work hard and long hours but they also will compensate you handsomely if you do all the right things. During the busy seasons it is very hard to have any kind of work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CarShop Response

    VP of Personnel and Culture Development

    Great post! Some associates want to be notified on their day off and some do not. I guess just let your direct manager know how you would prefer to work and we can make the adjustment. Let me know how it works out.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Popular Careers with CarShop Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CarShop? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

CarShop

1 days ago

Culture
Please join me in congratulating Amy D. in her promotion to Area Controller of CarShop! Amy brings a wide variety of skills and expertise to her new role. Amy joined CarShop in 2008 as a Delivery Coordinator and then earned a promotion to Finance Assistant in Hatfield. When we expanded into Pittsburgh in 2012, Amy transferred from the Philadelphia market to help open the Cranberry Finance Office. Nearly 2 years later, Amy volunteered to take her expertise to the Robinson location to ensure another successful store launch. With both Pittsburgh stores firmly established, Amy moved back to Chester Springs several years ago as an Accounting Manager. Now her journey continues as the Area Controller where she will now lead CarShop’s Accounting team. Amy is another prime example of a hard-working, exceptional associate who has earned multiple promotions and has ascended to a key position within CarShop. Congratulations Amy and we look forward to your continued success!
See all

CarShop Photos

+ Add Photo
CarShop photo of: Ramadan Fair
CarShop photo of: CarShop Hatfield Team Building Event 4/15/22
CarShop photo of: CarShop Hatfield Team Building Event 4/15/22
CarShop photo of: CarShop Hatfield Team Building Event 4/15/22
CarShop photo of: Tyler Adams, CarShop South Brunswick Employee of the Year 2021
CarShop photo of: Joe Buemi, CarShop Glen Mills Employee of the Year 2021
CarShop photo of: CarShop Glen Mills Holiday Luncheon 2021
See All Photos