CarVal Investors Reviews | Glassdoor

CarVal Investors Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
CarVal Investors CEO John Brice (no image)
John Brice
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work for smart people willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CarVal Investors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working at CarVal Investors has been the best experience of my career. I have the honor every day of working with some of the smartest, nicest people I have ever met. The culture is one where hard work and integrity are both expected and rewarded. At the same time, there is a lot of laughter and camaraderie. I have been constantly challenged and consistently rewarded and I feel fortunate every day to work in such a great place with such smart people.

    Cons

    CarVal is not a place for people who do not like challenge or change. It is also not a place for people who aren't willing to work hard. This is a company and industry that demands a lot and where people are held extremely accountable.

    CarVal Investors2018-04-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It was a good investment shop that got abandoned and mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time

    Pros

    good exposure to deal flow and larger organization

    Cons

    Core skills lost in the management shuffle process

    CarVal Investors2018-11-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Hopkins, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarVal Investors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues who are willing to help you learn more Interesting asset types (credit, loans, real estate, special opportunity assets) No two days are alike - can be very fast paced

    Cons

    Leadership does not communicate well/enough with staff Deal management software is not easy to use Limited advancement potential but some opportunities for lateral movement Can be a political and/or cliquey environment

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2017-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    Fund with broad mandate; strong in value investing and distressed investing - particularly credit analysis

    Cons

    Culture changing - increasing becoming political

    CarVal Investors2015-07-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Cutthroat environment with maniacal leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Income Tax Accounting in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CarVal Investors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    was paid a lot of money. many of my colleagues were friendly and enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    learned many choice swear words from the company president who I constantly heard yelling obscenities in the phone (I worked just outside his door). conversations in break room/phone rooms were wiretapped and recorded. Cloak-and-dagger politicking was commonplace. Two persons in senior management were particularly difficult to work with, for different reasons. One you simply couldn't trust (not competent in his role, and verifiably lied to employees on a regular basis)

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2012-12-31
  7. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    CarVal has a positive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Difficult to growth in the organization

    CarVal Investors2012-03-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Large Bonuses are not worth what you put into it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    Bonuses. Monetary Compensation is great. Great international exposure in a variety of investment products.

    Cons

    This is not a place you want to spend alot of time at unless you belong to the old boys club. There was an intense dislike of the operations managers and controler from the view of a low or mid level employees. The best day is the day you receive your bonus, the remaining 364 days is an invesment in futilty. I very overqualifie for my position.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2011-09-29
  9. "Sink or swim, you will receive very little to no support for success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    Compensation is very good compared to most places.

    Cons

    There is a what have you done for me lately attitude regardless of how much you have earned or any pass contributions you may have done to help make it a great place. Definitly an old boys club and all outsiders need not stick around to enjoy the fruits of any labor. You will be used and dumped as soon as they see fit.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2011-04-12
  10. "Generally good, but there are bumps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    The compensation is a highlight of working for CarVal as it is at any hedge fund. The office environment is generally positive.

    Cons

    There can be frustrations at CarVal as they are in the middle of becoming a full on hedge fund instead of a prop book.

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2010-02-11
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting and exciting business, but no room for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Professional in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at CarVal Investors

    Pros

    interesting business - get exposure to many asset classes

    Cons

    company wants high credentials for positions, but then puts employees in less than challenging positions

    Continue reading
    CarVal Investors2009-08-16
Found 15 reviews