Carahsoft Reviews | Glassdoor

Carahsoft Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Craig P. Abod
178 Ratings
Pros
  • "company trip, health care, laid back environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "Lots of opportunities to earn gift cards(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "No HR department which makes no sense given the company is looking to hit 1000 employees(in 39 reviews)

  • "Insultingly low pay - meant for people straight out of college who don't know any better(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I work on the marketing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No company that I’ve worked at before has had this many women in leadership roles. My manager that I report to and the VPs that she reports to are all women. They’re all great role models.

    Cons

    The work is hard and can be overwhelming at times. I have an awesome manager and supportive teammates which helps a lot

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to us and asking for our feedback.

    Carahsoft2019-06-14
  2. "Good company to start your carrer with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDR in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carahsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Pay, Company trip, Benefits, team events, government experience.

    Cons

    No commission, Immature people, Buildings bathrooms are unusable.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people who work hard commission

    Carahsoft2019-06-10
  3. "i got it right this time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was my second job after college and I’m glad I got it right the second time around with Carahsoft! My coworkers are the absolute BEST and even after spending the entire week with them they’re still the ones I want to hang out with on the weekends.

    Cons

    The mantra here is “you get out of Carahsoft what you put in”, so if you’re looking for a job where you can coast this is not the place. It’s a lot of hard work, but it’s incredibly rewarding. Tons of opportunities for advancement for those willing to put in the work.

    Advice to Management

    stay connected to your employees.

    Carahsoft2019-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Upsell/Renewal Representative in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time

    Pros

    Invested CEO/Owner Benefits Care about their employees

    Cons

    Lower pay than similar companies

    Carahsoft2019-05-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "you get back what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Carahsoft has a great work/life balance – I’m able to go home by 5:30 every day and we don’t work weekends (unless you’re on sales in which case your team would work 3 Saturdays during busy season). Generous vacation/sick policy. I work alongside great teammates and have a wonderful manager who takes a genuine interest in my professional goals

    Cons

    Adjusting to working full-time after college was tricky but the trainings and my manager were both super helpful.

    Advice to Management

    i think you do a great job

    Carahsoft2019-05-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carahsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company taught me exactly what I don't want in a job

    Cons

    Made tons of promises of higher salary, extensive training, and perks that were clearly lies. Expected me to work twelve+ hours a day even when there was no work to be done. Claimed to be flexible when there was no flexibility to be had. CEO hits on younger female employees, bosses play favorites. No windows in office, air is heavy with dust. Pay is way too low. This is a glorified sweatshop.

    Carahsoft2019-06-12
  7. "This the worst workplace of ALL TIME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carahsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There truly are none.

    Cons

    Horrible churn and burn mentality at Carahsoft. This organization preys on entry level employees, fresh out of college, who have no idea what a workplace is supposed to be like. Carahsoft as a whole has always been and will always be a toxic environment for women. Aggressive alcohol consumption is encouraged, women are mistreated, and misogyny runs RAMPANT. Marketing employees are treated like second class citizens,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear God -- be better! Be better marketers, managers, and human beings.

    Carahsoft2019-06-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "The BEST job I've Ever had, and the BEST Career choice I've made!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Where do I start? Everything about Carahsoft is AMAZING! I started working here in December remotely and it has been the best thing that has ever happened to me career wise. The pay is great, great benefits, 401k, etc.. I will say you learn so much about sales, the company is patient and supports your growth as an employee and person. The managers are great and Craig(The CEO/Owner) is really great and to hear his story...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons as this company is the best!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work guys and thank you!

    Carahsoft2019-04-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Honestly Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carahsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Carahsoft offers an amazing opportunity that no one should pass up. It taught me valuable lessons and assisted me in furthering my career. They offer perks almost year round to keep employees happy. The office is very relaxed and everyone is super friendly and inviting. Your hard work is noticed even when you don’t think it is and you always have potential to move up in the company.

    Cons

    The only con I have is that they were outgrowing their building so there wasn’t enough parking and they were running out of desk space.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!!

    Carahsoft2019-04-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "You Can Do Better...Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carahsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some cool co-workers, that's it.

    Cons

    This is my second job out of college, I've been here three months and I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone. Majority of new hires are fresh out of school and simply don't realize that this isn't how most companies in the real world operate. This job will be expected to be your life, if you need to go to a Doctor's Appointment or take a sick day your managers will scorn you. "Benefits" are basically non-existent. They...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get an HR department, stop treating your employees like they aren't real people, establish structured training.

    Carahsoft2019-05-22
Found 262 reviews