Carbine Studios Reviews | Glassdoor

Carbine Studios Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Carbine Studios CEO Chauncey Gammage
Chauncey Gammage
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Future Uncertain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Carbine Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good game Great talent Caring management Good community of developers Even in the layoffs they treated us well with severance packages. I'd work for them again.

    Cons

    There were layoffs recently so not as much of the "Pros" mentioned above, still some. Carbine may be a sinking ship at this point but they may yet turn things around. While the future may be uncertain right now, if things improve financially then I'd say go for it.

    Advice to Management

    I hope you can turn things around financially. Things were looking good for a while, a lot of good changes for the better happened. WildStar is a good game and you still have some good people. Take care of them and things might just turn out alright.

    Carbine Studios2016-03-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "New Ideas needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Carbine Studios part-time

      Pros

      Great group of people who work at Carbine. The art for the game is really good. The environment is friendly

      Cons

      They spent a lot of time and money making a game like World of Warcraft- but it took so long to create that there really was not the market for it. They need a new approach and new vision to get the company back on track.

      Advice to Management

      try some other types of games and products. Maybe start going into a newer field, like VR gaming or other innovative ideas.

      Carbine Studios2016-09-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Carbine Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - QA Tester in Aliso Viejo, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carbine Studios

      Pros

      A great work environment with a great team. Great benefits package this may have changed since I left. Very friendly teams with great attitudes.

      Cons

      Internal politics may keep you from moving out of QA. Former HR lead was combative when faced with issues dealing with company politics.

      Advice to Management

      I wish I had advice for the management, but since I'm no longer there I wouldn't know where to begin.

      Carbine Studios2016-06-12
    • Helpful (4)

      "Fine studio, hard genre, broken industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Artist in Lake Forest, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people, no insane pressure to put in long hours. Open to ideas and not stifling to creativity.

      Cons

      There was nowhere to go. There often isn't, in this industry. Veterans know this well. Wildstar had every chance to succeed. Everyone wants to blame someone or something: "the CEO!", "nobody listens!", "bad morale!". It was none of those things. At the end of the day the market just wasn't there. The fact is, it was a great team, and Chauncey (head honcho) did the best he could with a terrible situation. Many saw him...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Keep the team small for now and look for new opportunities. Wildstar won't sustain forever and you need some new revenue streams.

      Carbine Studios2016-04-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Passion Driven"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time

      Pros

      -Talented team -The benefits -new building -relaxed attire -Vending machines with partially subsidized pricing -Good parking -Cafeteria -gym

      Cons

      No focus on team building. Little on the job training widening the range of abilities- employees learn this at home.

      Advice to Management

      Encourage some team building activities. A work force that pulls long hours is an extended family, treat it as such.

      Carbine Studios2016-03-13
    • Helpful (3)

      "Bittersweet Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Carbine Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Experienced Team New building Competitive Salary

      Cons

      Several rounds of layoffs, the last being massive No room for advancement No new projects No future

      Advice to Management

      After sitting through presentation after presentation detailing the reality of our situation, I'm not sure if there is anything can be done at this point.

      Carbine Studios2016-03-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's a bad studio for design and engineering."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      - Good benefits package is actually a thing. Engineering and Design are very talented departments, and are some of the best people in the industry. They worked so hard to try and improve the quality of WildStar, and often came up short due to the cons listed below.

      Cons

      - "WIldstar" is a bad game. - "Free snacks and soda" are gone. - "Free SWAG for all employees" is done. - "Food truck Wednesdays" is gone. - "Laid back environment" doesn't exist - "Open to employee suggestions" is a lie. - "Nice area" if you can afford it. A despotic tyrant controls the entire studio and it's alleged creative vision, ignoring all advice and suggestions. Headquarters is enamored with said tyrant,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Just shut the thing down please.

      Carbine Studios2016-03-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Carbine Studios, and how it gave us a chance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Artist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Overall, the studio is a fun environment, where you as a content creator are enabled to be as creative as you can. I worked at the Carbine for almost seven years, and it was my first game shipped in the videogame industry. I was a green employee, and was given the chance to prove myself in a multitude of different ways. I have nothing but respect for the company, their leadership, and the overall culture. Some will disagree...

      Show More

      Cons

      Communication is key! They have great communication from the top down, but the teams within the company could work on this. The team needs to be more open to conversations. Plenty of times I would have to find out, months later, that a slew of requests were thought to be "In Progress" Overall, my exp was great, I had no issues walking over to talk to designers/programmers. Some things slipped through the cracks,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Find a way to push forward with the talent you have, because the problem is not your talent, it is the attitude of the studio. You have treated me with nothing but respect as a developer, and I am very thankful for the experience I had at Carbine.

      Carbine Studios2016-01-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Game Designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time

      Pros

      There is/was a lot of good talent at the studio. It was an overall fun place to work.

      Cons

      There are/were a few bad people that seemed to stick around, including some in high places.

      Advice to Management

      You have, or at least had, a lot of talented people working for you. I would listen to them more often.

      Carbine Studios2016-01-20
    • Helpful (9)

      "what could've been"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Carbine Studios full-time

      Pros

      Convenient location, large benefits package, flex time scheduling. Korean parent company is publisher of titles and therefore can set it's own ship dates, including moving the date if game isn't right and needs more time. Korean parent company more than patient giving studio chance after chance to turn things around, but not tolerant of mistakes or failure to deliver.

      Cons

      Very clique heavy atmosphere. Underachievers promoted because they hang with right people while top talent snubbed and leave on their own. Management very closed minded with obsolete thinking often repeating history and mistakes. Not receptive to new or current ideas within industry. Management style very outdated. Company morale generally low. Office space is dirty and unkempt. Many employees lack most basic of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of cliques, starting with the inner circle. Clean up the office, it's filthy, an embarrassment, and a health hazard. Get real HR staff that isn't clueless. Implement objective standards to rate employees as culture is heavily biased towards favoritism. Get somebody who really understands how to run a studio and not just look at numbers. Get directors/producers who have pedigree in the field and stop hiring/promoting...

      Show More
      Carbine Studios2015-11-19
    Found 32 reviews