Carbon Black Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Carbon Black President and CEO Patrick Morley
Patrick Morley
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "My work/life balance is incredible and they have a rockstar group of managers(in 11 reviews)

  • "great culture, a lot of opportunities for growth, work/life balance was good, learned a lot(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Healthy & Growing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My work/life balance is incredible and they have a rockstar group of managers.

    Cons

    Internal processes can get in the way of moving fast.

    Carbon Black2019-08-23
  2. "Superlative CEO, Opportunity to Leverage Acquisition to Cut Fat, Drive Productive Change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent individual contributors - Excellent HQ office - Excellent perks in office (cold brew, snacks, beer) - Excellent CEO & VP-level leadership (inside sales) - Best endpoint product within the marketplace

    Cons

    - Executive leadership vocalizes importance of transparency but does not drive this emphasis downward through chain of command - Sub-market pay (may be specific to inside sales) - General unwillingness to change broken processes that obstruct revenue growth. - We have a lot of highly-paid employees who are not measured effectively and thus the value of their contributions cannot be quantified. Some of this $ could be better spent. I am very embarrased to quote Donald Trump, but we need to 'drain the swamp.'

    Continue reading
    Carbon Black2019-11-17
  3. "Bit9+Carbon Black was a great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbon Black full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard working people and exciting growth

    Cons

    VMWare acquisition seriously changed culture

    Carbon Black2020-04-29
  4. "Fast growing cloud company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbon Black full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of smart engineers, and was successful in integrating new acquisitions that led to successful IPO in 2018.

    Cons

    Not a fan of the big room planning every quarter. It was a lot of ceremonies and wasted time to practice agile.

    Carbon Black2020-02-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Have fallen really far behind on tech"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Berkeley, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, decent pay, good work-life balance (no real expectation of nights/weekends), solid benefits

    Cons

    It’s been really disappointing to watch the company grow by acquisition instead of by innovating/building. And the acquired products to this day are on different platforms with different agents. Spending all this time assimilating acquired tech has put us WAY behind competitors. Even competitors 1/3 our employee size have better tech and more innovative features and roadmap. We were also a few years late to the cloud which really set us back. We’ve accumulated massive technical debt. The latest Gartner MQ was a cold splash of reality. Getting acquired by VMware was the right move but it will most likely make the tech innovation problem worse, not better, because so much Engineering time will need to be spent connecting CB products to VMware’s products (despite customers not having shown demand for that over the years). I’ve been here awhile now but I can’t in good faith recommend working here IF the quality of the tech matters to you. For some roles that may be irrelevant.

    Continue reading
    Carbon Black2020-01-01

    Carbon Black Response

    January 3, 2020Carbon Black

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear these concerns but we hope you'll find the acquisition by VMware will accelerate our efforts to disrupt the cybersecurity market. We're very excited to have these additional resources to support our R&D teams and innovations. Thank you for all you've done to support Carbon Black and our products over the years.

  6. "Excellent Talent, Disengaged Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High level of freedom and awesome problems and challenges

    Cons

    Executive decisions circle around shareholder pleasure

    Carbon Black2019-12-03
  7. "Eh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbon Black full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For the most part, great culture of individual people. Good benefits, relaxed hours, casual office.

    Cons

    Company said it was looking to change certain aspects of its process, but that wasn't quite true.

    Continue reading
    Carbon Black2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Somewhat good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbon Black full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Snack bar and relatively good coffee plus soda machine

    Cons

    No diversity to speak off.

    Continue reading
    Carbon Black2019-10-10

    Carbon Black Response

    October 21, 2019Carbon Black

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you weren't able to take advantage of some of our newer diversity initiatives during your time at Carbon Black. Although we started with women-focused efforts, we've been working on expanding to other areas to support all of our employees. We're proud of what we've accomplished these last few years and are excited about our new offerings in months to come. Best of luck in your new role!

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Site Reliability Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has good culture. The people, for the most part, are excellent: kind, intelligent, hard working

    Cons

    Work life balance suffers due to on-call.

    Carbon Black2019-08-23

    Carbon Black Response

    August 30, 2019Carbon Black

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your dedication and commitment to Carbon Black, and are glad to hear you like the culture and the people. We pride ourselves on both of these and are always looking for ways to protect the culture and hire great people.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Run away from joining the "security division" of the new VMWare"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbon Black full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can't think of any - poorly run company sold for pennies on the dollar after years of mismanagement

    Cons

    * Made sure only a few people (Executive Management) received any meaningful equity * Merger has been a mess * Managers and workers have been misled concerning bonuses and new healthcare plans * No one is getting paid(retention bonuses) for doing both their jobs and the integration work

    Continue reading
    Carbon Black2019-10-08
Found 133 reviews