KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Carbon Black

Part of VMware
Is this your company?

Carbon Black

Add a Review

Carbon Black Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 of over 174 reviews

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Carbon Black President and CEO Patrick Morley
Patrick Morley
127 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

438

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Carbon Black and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place

    Mar 14, 2022 - Admininstative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    this is a very good organization

    Cons

    the pay could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Senior Recruiter

    Jul 21, 2022 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture - lots of flexibility.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good experience

    May 27, 2022 - Senior Sales Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent people and opportunities providing a great technology to the marketplace.

    Cons

    Growing pains were felt throughout.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Nov 7, 2021 - Member Of Technical Staff in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid place to work, no complaints

    Cons

    Acquisition caused changes, some people aren't happy about it

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great training program

    Nov 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best SDR training program for new sales reps

    Cons

    Can be a little high-school ish in the sales floor

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Carbon Black Review

    Sep 22, 2021 - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, induces teamwork and work-life balance

    Cons

    A lot of cold calls when you first start

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Clickbait

    Oct 2, 2021 - Inside Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beer fridge, young fun atmosphere, many company events, cool products

    Cons

    Churn and burn sales reps. “Unlimited PTO” but taking time off is frowned upon. Little pay

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome company to work for

    Aug 26, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible culture and people. Awesome product that is world-class and is aided by the VMware brand and resources.

    Cons

    Onboarding is somewhat haphazard - some learning on the job and figuring it out as you go.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    BDR

    Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good work life balance great culture resources to grow & learn

    Cons

    no path to promotion overhired BDRs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Demanding but worthwhile.

    Jun 28, 2021 - User Experience Designer in Waltham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, very patient. Not the easiest field to understand, but rewarding if you can figure it out.

    Cons

    The product has a steep learning curve.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 160 Reviews

Carbon Black Reviews FAQs

Carbon Black has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 174 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at Carbon Black to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Carbon Black employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Carbon Black. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

69% of Carbon Black employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Carbon Black 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Carbon Black to be benefits, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be compensation, management.

Work at Carbon Black? Share Your Experiences

or

Carbon Black Photos

+ Add Photo
Carbon Black photo of: Our first cohort of "Inspired by Her" program - growing women leaders at CB.
Carbon Black photo of: Who says it has to be all work and no play? Our Boulder sales team took advantage of the nearby mountains.
Carbon Black photo of: Go-to-market team members from all around the world gathered in Boston for CB Inspire. It was a jam-packed week full of new visions, goals for 2020 and beyond, and exciting news.
Carbon Black photo of: CB and VMware employees attended our holiday party at the House of Blues. It was a great way to bring our teams together as we forge head as one in 2020!
Carbon Black photo of: Our CB team was excited to meet the co-chair of VMware's employee resource group Black@VMware POD.
Carbon Black photo of: Despite a snowstorm a couple weeks ago, our Boston team trudged their way from the Boston office to volunteer at Rosie’s Place, a local women’s shelter.
Carbon Black photo of: We always love getting pictures from our team in Japan! Here's a photo of them celebrating the VMware acquisition.
See All Photos