Carbonite Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Carbonite Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Carbonite Interim CEO and President Executive Chairman of the Board Steve Munford (no image)
Steve Munford
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and engineering teams.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are miscommunications across teams but nothing too crazy

    Carbonite2019-06-06
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good co-workers but terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Boston, MA

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The co-workers are great to work with, smart and very helpful. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    The management is terrible. They are mico-managing. The managers keep getting promotions and raises while individual contributors who do the actual work barely get any promotions or any appreciation.

    Advice to Management

    Support and appreciate the engineers who do the actual work rather than the managers

    Carbonite2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Going to private equity abandon ship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite

    Pros

    Boston office is newer. They will feed you, the office is near the T which rarely works so thats not really even a pro...thats it I think.

    Cons

    This company has been used as a cash cow for greedy executives at the cost of employees and investors. They really ought to be in jail cells together and might end up that way.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to whoever buys this company. Two words. Clean house. Fire every single director and executive and start over with competant and professional business people.

    Carbonite2019-09-09
  4. "A Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for less than a year

    Pros

    You get treated as a full time employee as an intern, and I learned so much because of that. The culture is laid back and you got all the benefits of working at a tech company. Beyond that the people were really what made it such a great experience for me.

    Cons

    Not a con but it would've been great if the snack bar rotated its selection once a while :)

    Carbonite2019-03-21
  5. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer(Internship) in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, great people. Free coffee and snacks

    Cons

    Pay isn't super competitive. Not a lot of young people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Carbonite2018-11-29
  6. "Fine place to work, but the company lacks direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing office Great central location Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    The company lacks direction from management. At least when I was there, the upper management seemed totally disconnected from the engineering or product departments. Any direction from the top seemed as if it was coming out of the ether rather than from a person that cared. My engineering team spent months/years working on a product that was eventually totally phased out by the management.

    Advice to Management

    Interact with your employees more, and make their work feel valuable to you and the company.

    Carbonite2018-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The dream job does exist....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The support structure of my team has been incredible. We work hard and play hard... but not in the sales pitch way people say in an interview. They are open to hard working remote employees. They are mindful of workloads and expectations. Compensation plans are amazing.

    Cons

    I'm 3 months into this and I don't expect to have any, but if I do... I'll update here. Only one I can think of is slightly California specific, no Kaiser health, but they do have pretty solid alternatives.

    Advice to Management

    What you are doing, from my point of view, is working. There is not a hint of any water cooler talk about any negative topic. So, thank you for that.

    Carbonite2018-06-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Dysfunctional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite

    Pros

    good pay and benefits, good location, good perks.

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional. management hires unqualified friends at all levels.

    Carbonite2017-05-20
  9. "Good for some people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software QA Engineer in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow employees are friendly. Salary, benefits are competitive, office is newish and nice. Technical employees do not have to be elite. If you are good, you can be a big fish in a small pond. Work-life balance is excellent, people rarely stay past 6pm.

    Cons

    Every wonder where software engineers who are not at the top of their class end up working? Some of them work at Carbonite. There are a few top-drawer people, but many are somewhat mediocre. It's not unusual to see a colleague just disappear. They are not into remedial performance improvement plans, if they are dissatisfied with someone they are quick to fire them.

    Advice to Management

    Be more selective in technical hiring.

    Carbonite2017-03-27
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supper nice people in the office. Very good Work/Life Balance. Manager never try to ask you to use your personal time to have meeting or so. Company culture is good and fun.

    Cons

    The pay rate is below the market. Backup business doesn't have a bright future. Not using much cutting edge technology.

    Advice to Management

    Backup business doesn't have a bright future. Please give more good ideas to the company. We need something new.

    Carbonite2016-07-05
Found 18 reviews