Carbonite "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carbonite Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Carbonite CEO Steve Munford (no image)
Steve Munford
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free snacks, coffee in the kitchen area(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great Like minded people, work life Balance , lot to learn and fun office environment(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "tons of support was handed off to a Jamaican call center for cost reasons, except their support team is extremely lackluster(in 14 reviews)

  • "The only way for you to get a promotion is if upper management actually likes you as a person, nothing to do with your resume or how you work(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    I started working at the call center as a stop-gap measure while I was looking for better work. It turns out I found it! Everything in the company culture is about putting people --employees and customers-- first. It permeates everything they do. They have a number of perks, activities, and incentives to attempt to reduce as much of the drudgery as possible. To include a beer cart and rec room on-location! The... biggest thing they do, is really focus on promoting from within. They will not, as a rule, accept external applicants for a position until theyve exhausted their internal talent pool. It was because of this policy that I was able to quickly move into my desired position after a brief stint of answering phones.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is outsourcing a lot of the call center work, and as such our location is shrinking. They are doing it without any firings or layoffs, but that may make it harder to get a 'foot in the door' for people trying to get in to the organization

    Carbonite2017-07-12
  2. "Pretty good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Support Agent 

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Fun tech stuff, learned a lot

    Cons

    Repetitive calls, mediocre software, call center life

    Carbonite2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Very toxic environment for Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The techs you work with are amazing, as are employees from other departments. Free food on Monday and Friday.

    Cons

    Our poor Managers are powerless and have contradicting directives handed down to them almost daily. You can't believe a single word that comes out of our Project Manager turned Senior Manager's mouth. She is on a short leash by our Director and will lie straight to your face if it serves her purpose, which it usually does. Our Director is a joke. He needs to spend less time being "Really excited" about "peeling an... onion" and actually work on the department. The rotating door that he's set up for his employees is nauseating. Whenever he shows up in the office, someone is getting fired. He runs TS like a call center, WFO Schedules, low pay, and more emphasis on getting off a call than fixing the customer's issue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At this point, It's probably better to go scorched earth and start from scratch.

    Carbonite2019-07-01
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Not a bad place, for a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - the responsibilities were minimal because we were not allowed to support anything other than just the carbonite software (for better or worse) - other employees - it's a call center that has decent pay (for better or worse) - beer cart - pizza days - some half baked customer service days

    Cons

    - no separate sick time and vacation time, which is a big negative. Management would try to argue you don't need it, but after having a job with separate sick and vacation time, why would you ever go back? This should be standard. - you could submit feedback to the "developers" but no one but the "product experts" would ever read it, then shoot down good ideas because they didn't think it would work out, regardless... of whether or not they were wrong. This resulted in lots of angry customers who would eventually quit Carbonite because they felt their voice wasn't heard in a timely manner, or at all. The product experts would sometimes post on the ideas page every few months, and most of it was completely ignored. - there are apparently a handful of developers, and extremely minimal product updates to the consumer/business software, and only the server software ever got updated on a semi-acceptable basis (because it costs more and has more to lose). Support felt like these lack of updates, and lack of listening to any feedback on the software was because the software was actually because the consumer/business software was actually in "End of Life" mode, soon to be replaced by the company's EVault or other offerings (much more expensive, and more inclined for large businesses). This was further cemented by the acquisitions of software only to do nothing with the software (Mirror Image) then when customers complained it was janky, to eventually drop it entirely instead of working on updating the software to work with newer hardware. "Our customers didn't like it, therefore we're stopping support of it" (except, the customers didn't like it because the software was old and it showed, especially after firing the MI team. Ironically, for a time the software Carbonite was using was way older than what Rebit had made because Carbonite never thought or cared to check that our version was up to date or not) Eventually, for the software they no longer wanted to deal with, they sold it off to another company for them to deal with. (or works on ending, in the case of Mozy) - tons of support was handed off to a Jamaican call center for cost reasons, except their support team is extremely lackluster. The normal support team was by and large very disappointed with their quality of work. - the software, by and large, has tons of "spaghetti code" that no one who's there fully understands how it works properly, because of poor coding and commenting, and programmer churn. Most of the updates are made to make sure the program still works by and large, since anything major would require large swaths of code re-writes, which would be not cheap, and therefore that doesn't happen. - because of this, as an agent you would have to constantly backpeddle and apologize for problems with the overall design of the code and implementation when it should have been a priority to them to have fixed. Instead, their time and attention was spent in a nebulous "elsewhere" that was never ever discussed with support. Need to know basis and we weren't important enough to know. - They started pushing more and more on upselling (but it's not upselling!!) products to customers in order to make support seem more viable, because management wanted to ship the jobs back to India from Maine (this was said to be the CEO's initial desire) because "it cost too much" and management's idea was to offset the costs of support by showing that they can sell customers the products they need. This is fine in and of itself, in that we weren't ever "required" to have upsold a customer on an interaction, but we were expected to have offered it, and the line was murky where and when to upsell them. (we would still be judged on these during frequent QA call auditing) This is partially because of a change in procedure of initially telling agents they never would have to upsell a customer, to you had to at least make an attempt. Some people excelled at this, and some just simply aren't and will never be good at it, especially for the reasons previously mentioned in this post. Why try to upsell a piece of software that you don't believe is worth the asking price? - Another fun thing was how we had to direct customers (and keep in mind, these are mostly elderly or completely computer ignorant customers sold on the idea of "set it and forget it" and then be completely surprised when they took "forget it" literally) to Support.com, which is also considered to be not worth the asking price, at least by most support members. Almost every single time anything would be transferred to them, Support.com agent would realize that it was us calling them, realize it wasn't a simple thing like an outlook profile import they can charge $120 for, and start getting a reserved attitude and eventually we'd feedback that support.com wasn't able to help them, to the surprise of no one. - I suppose most of this is bad management, or lack of proper oversight, but it really sours your opinion of the company as a whole when you see how poorly it's being handled.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't stonewall ideas that support and by extension, customers have simply because you don't think it will fly. Too many times there was great ideas that were shot down because it would have required "too much work" that would have improved the user experience simply because every level was trying to penny pinch every bit out of customers, and it showed. Managers in support did this often, until eventually a higher... level manager heard about it and was like "it works like this? this shouldn't be how it works" and only then does stuff change. I can't imagine that the support call center is the only place where this happens. Don't try to assuage people's complaints by saying "they don't need separate sick time and vacation time because" because that's a weak excuse. Just because some bad apples may try to ruin the rest doesn't mean you cut down the whole apple tree. Listen to your agents feedback instead of trying to handwave it away, and stop skimping on taking care of your agents and stop focusing on punishing outliers with rules that apply to the whole group.

    Show More
    Carbonite2019-02-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company did a much better job of managing things in an efficient manner and getting a previously practically impossible-to-manage workload down to a much more manageable level among individual team members in the Salt Lake Tech Support department. There was also a spirit of inclusivity in both the local senior management that oversaw the Tech Support department that I worked at, and an active effort to increase... an appreciation of different cultures and viewpoints by the CEO, which was incredibly refreshing.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of excellent & very knowledgeable people who had worked for years in the Tech Support department of the previous entity that was bought out by the company were being go and I don't know why. There was also a slightly more micro-management and "call-center-like" approach (ie: a much bigger focus on being on time down to the minute & sticking to one's schedule) than in working hard & getting quality... work done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Expand the new-hire training in the Tech Support department to include a really comprehensive overview of the multi-faceted nature of the work that will actually occur to better empower new techs. Consider really valuing and holding onto people that have worked a long time at the entity that was taken over by Carbonite in Salt Lake and the wealth of in-depth knowledge on some extremely complex yet Critical... technical dimensions of the software that they may bring to the table.

    Show More
    Carbonite2018-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best call center around Lewiston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Best call center around Lewiston

    Cons

    Its still a call center

    Carbonite2017-09-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None - They use you until they feel that you aren't worth anything again... that's a tech call center for you. Pay isn't good. $13 an hour starting out, benefits are ok

    Cons

    You may look at my feedback as discouraging. But don't want you to get disappointed, saving you the hassle. - Pay - Management - Some Male Perverts work there - New CEO sucks, doesn't know what's his doing - Company is moving overseas as expected & probably will be laying off bunch of their employee in the U.S.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favoritism. Some of you don't deserve to be part of the management roles.

    Carbonite2017-03-08
  8. "Nice working environment with occasional beer cart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Variable shifts to choose, good overall benefits, company makes every effort to promote within, friendly co-workers, casual dress coat

    Cons

    Strict call center environment - everything is timed down to the second, micro managed

    Carbonite2017-01-12
  9. Helpful (6)

    "For the love of Christ, stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Call Center Representative in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for more than a year

    Pros

    Average compensation, better than many.

    Cons

    Too many to list. The atmosphere on the call center floor is draconian. "Not a sales job," they said... but if you don't ICE (Improving Customer Experience) your customers you get dinged on your evaluation. Managers and workforce agents looking at your workstation remotely all the time; check an email while waiting for a call and you could be history. "Build rapport with your customers," they said - but if you get... too chummy with them you can kiss your job goodbye, even if your customer satisfaction stats are sky-high. Managers are generally young and good at call-center work but have no clue how to manage people. It's almost as if they get bonuses for writing people up and firing subordinates. This all leads to a very oppressive atmosphere. Also, the company has no integrity - they'll make promises they have absolutely no intention of keeping. The product itself is well-intentioned but buggy; most customer service calls deal with the program's service being disabled for no reason. Macintosh customers are dealing with poorly-designed software with no hope of an upgrade in sight, which leads to a lot of customer frustration. Look elsewhere for satisfying employment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Update your product so it works. Discontinue your Mac product line or re-write it. Get some trained execs to analyze what's happening on the floor in Lewiston and offer some improvements to morale that go beyond a beer cart. Value your employees as much as you value your customers.

    Carbonite2017-02-09
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Worst job of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support ( Cough Sales Cough) in Lewiston, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit package that started from day 1 of training (unless your a temp)

    Cons

    Everything else. This was my first job in a call center environment. Many colleagues whom had worked in call centers before consider the working conditions better than other centers in the area. I on the other hand found the entire situation Orwellian. There was an ever increasing emphasis on sales, the only hint of upward movement I saw were those on the top of the sales charts (displayed on TV's surrounding the... office). While I can appreciate a companies need to increase the bottom line, they were not trying to do so in an honest way. Frankly the product is unreliable garbage. Rather than invest in improving the code, they threw cash at add compaigns aimed at sucker ing sweet old ladies into three year renewals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't pretend to care about your employees when you clearly don't.

    Carbonite2017-01-29
Found 16 reviews