KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Carbonite

Part of OpenText
Is this your company?

Carbonite

Add a Review

Carbonite Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Carbonite Interim CEO and President Executive Chairman of the Board Steve Munford (no image)
Steve Munford
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free snacks, coffee in the kitchen area(in 29 reviews)

  • "Work life balance and technologies used(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The only way for you to get a promotion is if upper management actually likes you as a person, nothing to do with your resume or how you work(in 15 reviews)

  • "Our colleagues who were let go after Carbonite purchased Mozy, were very well rewarded by EMC(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Fine place to work, but the company lacks direction

      Sep 14, 2018 - Software Engineer(Internship) in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing office Great central location Friendly coworkers

      Cons

      The company lacks direction from management. At least when I was there, the upper management seemed totally disconnected from the engineering or product departments. Any direction from the top seemed as if it was coming out of the ether rather than from a person that cared. My engineering team spent months/years working on a product that was eventually totally phased out by the management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      worst place to work at now

      Mar 8, 2019 - Technical Support Professional in Lewiston, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      at this point, no pros. I guess the only pro is that they gave you free tickets to see Star Wars,

      Cons

      VERY rarely any promotion opportunities. The only way for you to get a promotion is if upper management actually likes you as a person, nothing to do with your resume or how you work. Criticism is NOT taken well here, despite wanting to only improve the company. Micromanaged. Pay is abysmal. You're just another number. Don't say anything out of turn (for instance, if you're concerned about job security) because that just gets you closer to getting fired. Don't talk to anyone else on the floor. Do your job, get paid terrible for it, and don't ever complain. Most jobs outsourced to Jamaica. They'd rather fire people than help them get a different position. They hire outside of the company rather than promote inside.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't join right now

      Apr 15, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work office is nicely decorated with a hip feel to it including some Star Wars murals. The vacation policy is unlimited but you still have to find time to actually use it. They also provide snacks. Some great coworkers in other sections of Engineering who know how to get stuff done cross functionally.

      Cons

      The Upper Management (Directors, VPs and above) seem to make awful people decisions. I've seen good employees gone the next day with little to no communication around what happened. Some departments seem to have this kind of thing happening quite often and as far as I can tell it's not because of a shortage of money as they try and quickly replace them with less competent workers. The politics here are a little extreme - You can't afford to completely stay out of it or you might be on the chopping block. Due to the fluctuating environment it's hard to accomplish work as people and departments you were working with shift often especially in the Engineering dept.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Abandon all hope, all ye who enter here.

      Apr 14, 2016 - Engineering in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Snacks? I guess? Generally good compensation.

      Cons

      In fact, the Tele-presence robot this company used to have quit and rolled itself off the nearest cliff in despair. Seriously though - there isn't enough space to list them all. Recent changes in upper management ravaged an already badly diseased corporate culture. What remains is a case study in leadership anti-patterns. Carbonite is full of warring silos and no clear vision. Any hope of innovation or improving the status quo is quickly crushed by the steel toed boot of this company's utter and complete inability to pick a direction and stay out of its own way. People are regularly disappeared with no communication as to why, up to and including upper management. The result of all this is giant blob of toxic insanity. Avoid at all costs.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Was a great place to work. Not anymore.

      Apr 13, 2016 - Sales in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation was good until a month ago. There are some employee perks like breakfast on Mondays and lunch on Fridays.

      Cons

      New upper management in sales has completely changed the culture from great to terrible. There is an "open door policy" which there actually is, but they really could not care less about employee input. There is no team environment anymore. It's toxic, directionless, horribly managed and has the feeling of a sinking company. They changed everyone's job description in sales. They demoted many. We all got a cut in pay. Not on paper, but the goals they have set are unattainable therefore we will be paid less. I could write pages more, but for the sake of keeping this as concise as possible, the company had promise, was fun, and was a nice place to work. Now it's deflating to even think about showing up every day. The unlimited vacation is a joke. It's just a way to not have to pay out. There is no such policy in sales. You take off and you lose. They even fired an employee over the phone on their honeymoon.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay company, plusses and minuses.

      Mar 26, 2015 - Engineering in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work ethic in the Boston office is that everybody gets to work on time at 9am and works hard all day, very little shmoozing. But then everybody goes home at 5pm sharp, unless there is a tight deadline or emergency. Vacation policy is extremely flexible, no specific limit. Bonuses are good (8% to 10% of salary), and not very much tied to work performance (except for unusually high and unusually low performers).

      Cons

      Workstations are very open, clusters of about 8 people, each cluster is sort of like a big table with dividers on the table. No privacy, everybody is visible all the time. This includes upper management people, who have offices with a glass wall, including the CEO. Engineering talent level is adequate, but not stellar. People management practices are in general barely adequate, except for termination practices, which are substandard (they sometimes fire people abruptly--both technical and non-technical--with little or no warning, without a probation period).

      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Long, slow decline...

      Oct 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice, T accessible location for the office (downtown Boston) Best selection of free junk food of any place I've ever worked. Really, it was awesome.

      Cons

      I was developer; your experience may be different you're not in engineering. Carbonite had a decent number of good engineers. Unfortunately, it never really seemed like Carbonite valued them. People were always getting fired from engineering. There was continual pressure that we weren't getting enough done. In the new office, engineers got desks about half the size of everyone else ... that must have made sense to someone. I can remember a least one time when I had to have one of the laptops I was using on my lap because there was no space left on the desk for all the computers I needed to get my work done. I got really sick of Star Wars themed stuff, and you probably will too if you work there. I didn't get the impression upper management knew much about how software was developed. I mean, you do have to fire people sometimes, but a few timers there was like one person who understood how one part of the system worked and then suddenly they would be gone. There's mission critical code that no one owns and very few people understand. Lots and lots of people would get put into a side project that went no where, but the boring old code, that was actually making money for the company, was totally neglected. There were a lot of things that could have been done that would have allowed me to get my job done faster and more effectively, like refactoring some of the code, setting up better test environments, that sort of thing; pretty basic stuff, really. No one can get work done fast if a system they need to use is down half the time. Finally, I have never felt less valued or appreciated at any company I have ever worked for.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Innovation not encouraged or supported

      Oct 17, 2013 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really smart people to work with across the teams. Benefits are great, support staff is helpful.

      Cons

      There is a real lack of technical leadership in the company. The teams are working on their own projects and don't collaborate much. This means the same work is done over and over again for different projects. Upper management likes the idea of being innovative and doing new things, but doesn't back it up with the time or resources.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      The mighty have fallen

      May 5, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - unlimited vacation you can't take - free snacks and coffee - fantastic new office space in Downtown Boston - on several public transit lines - good benefits, including 401K with matching

      Cons

      - management - upper management - lack of vision - lack of communication - unwilling to hear feedback - lots of promises, little follow through

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      At one point it was great place to work for....

      May 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My former colleagues were top notch, unfortunately the smart ones left and soon after I followed suit. Free Snacks, Free Breakfast on Monday & Lunch on Friday.

      Cons

      The company has turned into a rudderless ship, the upper management team tells it's employees to paddle but provides zero direction. Management never fully listens to issues on the front lines. Also, if your idea is against the thought process of of management your black listed. I'm getting the sense that they'll be moving many jobs from Boston to Maine so they can save on employee cost.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Carbonite Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    IT Service Desk Administrator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Carbonite? Share Your Experiences

    Carbonite logo
    or