Carbonite "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carbonite Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Carbonite CEO Steve Munford (no image)
Steve Munford
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free snacks, coffee in the kitchen area(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great Like minded people, work life Balance , lot to learn and fun office environment(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "tons of support was handed off to a Jamaican call center for cost reasons, except their support team is extremely lackluster(in 14 reviews)

  • "The only way for you to get a promotion is if upper management actually likes you as a person, nothing to do with your resume or how you work(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Carbonite for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Like minded people, work life Balance , lot to learn and fun office environment

    Cons

    none i can think of

    Carbonite2019-11-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits and Work / Life Balance

    Cons

    Questionable management decisions at time

    Carbonite2019-11-14
  3. "Excellent company for immigration support!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Extremely supportive + proactive about sponsoring visas and green cards for foreign employees. As a H1-B visa holder, I have been extremely impressed with Carbonite's HR + Immigration teams, they brought me through visa to green card in 2 years. This is a huge benefit for visa holding employees and it cultivates a diverse, accepting company culture. - Good work-life balance, managers here respect that modern... work can be done remotely and are accommodating to a variety of work styles across departments

    Show More

    Cons

    - The fallout of frequent acquisitions can be messy and confusing, but all jobs have some element of that kind of thing

    Advice to Management

    Continue your great work on the immigration front! It's a real testament to the company and helps Carbonite stand out in the highly competitive talent market.

    Carbonite2019-10-18
  4. "Best Company Ive worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Culture -Provides lunch and breakfast on Mondays and Fridays -Snacks and drinks with a fully stocked Kitchen -Management truly cares about your success and ideas. they have an open door policy -great insurance -unlimited PTO -Good pay -Company is growing, great opportunity to move up within the company -Great work life balance

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! We are lucky to work for such a great company.

    Carbonite2019-09-06
  5. "Great team, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Super-smart, driven, employees who truly care about the company and the direction it's going in. Fully stocked snacks, catered breakfast on Mondays and lunch on Fridays. Gorgeous office in Boston. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Unclear direction for certain teams.

    Carbonite2018-12-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It is what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people. Constantly changing and challenging environment. Rapid growth. Lots of opportunity for growth -- the company often promotes from within and it's not unusual to see people switch teams to try something new or make a career shift. Beautiful office with a never-ending smorgasbord of free food and beverages. Company culture and morale is on the up and up. Work-life balance is excellent.

    Cons

    Growth is achieved through acquisition, not innovation. (This may be a con to some people.) Some perks (particularly tuition reimbursement/parental leave) are not as competitive as other tech companies. Very little transparency related to compensation across the company so it's hard to tell if you're getting paid what you're worth. Quarterly MBO and performance review process is clunky and painful.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people and recognize their contributions. Increase the focus on professional development and skill training to get the most from your employees and ensure new managers succeed.

    Carbonite2017-05-12
  7. "Good for some people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software QA Engineer in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow employees are friendly. Salary, benefits are competitive, office is newish and nice. Technical employees do not have to be elite. If you are good, you can be a big fish in a small pond. Work-life balance is excellent, people rarely stay past 6pm.

    Cons

    Every wonder where software engineers who are not at the top of their class end up working? Some of them work at Carbonite. There are a few top-drawer people, but many are somewhat mediocre. It's not unusual to see a colleague just disappear. They are not into remedial performance improvement plans, if they are dissatisfied with someone they are quick to fire them.

    Advice to Management

    Be more selective in technical hiring.

    Carbonite2017-03-27
  8. Helpful (5)

    "The Dust is Beginning to Settle and There Are Great Things on the Horizon!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm part of the EVault team and the product is the best, first of its kind and still one of the very best in reliability and performance. Since the acquisition from Seagate the Carbonite leadership has acted quickly to resolve issues and develop a strategic focus giving us a lot of momentum. The culture is geek chic and encourages every one of us to be involved. The benefits package is as good as if not better... than most with a lot of emphasis on work life balance. Breakfast on Mondays, lunch on Fridays, catered holiday events, fresh fruit, snacks and drinks are stocked in the break rooms daily free for all employees. Reliable equipment, comfortable and clean facilities, great support staff and a huge game room. We even have a beer cart (which also contains non-alcoholic beverages) that comes around once in a while. Leadership that is genuine, strategic and actively listens to employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Even though our SLC office is located near the freeway I personally don't like the commute here especially at peak hours. Keep in mind this is Salt Lake City and daily commutes tend to be a mere fraction of those in other cities. I wouldn't be opposed however to our offices being located in an area that would make public transit, walking and/or pedaling easier.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and keep your eyes on the prize! Seriously, much respect and kudos to you for what we've been able to accomplish through all of this transition. Thank you.

    Carbonite2016-06-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supper nice people in the office. Very good Work/Life Balance. Manager never try to ask you to use your personal time to have meeting or so. Company culture is good and fun.

    Cons

    The pay rate is below the market. Backup business doesn't have a bright future. Not using much cutting edge technology.

    Advice to Management

    Backup business doesn't have a bright future. Please give more good ideas to the company. We need something new.

    Carbonite2016-07-05
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Carbonite for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefits

    Cons

    compensation, career advancement, leadership needs to be innovative and be in the forefront of cloud backup market

    Carbonite2015-12-10
Found 15 reviews