KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Carbyne

Engaged Employer

Carbyne

Add a Review

Carbyne Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 22 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Carbyne CEO and Co-Founder Amir Elichai
Amir Elichai
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are smart and dedicated.(in 6 reviews)
  • "would definitly recommend anyone who is looking to join a great technological advantaure and great team to apply.(in 2 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Exciting place to work!

    Feb 21, 2022 - Chief of Staff in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting mission and future, fun culture, real personal and company growth opportunities. This is a big opportunity for someone looking to join something revolutionary relatively early on.

    Cons

    Dynamic environment, not everything has a lot of structure.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great product but some cultural issues and reckless management of biz ops

    Jun 30, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I didn't work at Carbyne for long because my department was ultimately affected by the company-wide layoffs but I had enough time and involvement in the company's strategic initiatives to share my honest take on how things are done and what the culture is like. - Everyone at the company is extremely kind and open to helping you out. Whether it is to close a sale, or to create a slideshow presentation, no matter who you reach out to, everyone is always willing to extend a hand. - Company products are top of the line. Really great tech.

    Cons

    - This is my second time working for a global company and first in an Israeli company. I found that the Israeli employees in the NYC office usually chose to speak in Hebrew leaving other employees excluded. There were also many occasions when meetings would be interrupted and it was extremely unprofessional. - Business operations - unfortunately, another one of those cash burning startups and internal operations are a bit messy and unstreamlined.

    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Passionate people, amazing mission

    Jun 29, 2021 - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Life-saving technology - Leading technology that disrupts the 911 industry - Passionate people who love and care about what they do - Fast-growing, exciting phase - Strong company culture

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing- so you need to be adaptable to succeed here!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mission driven people

    Jun 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really unique mission, amazing driven people. Super advanced technology, truly disrupting a very stagnant industry.

    Cons

    Some growing pains but on the right track

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good perks, but gross dark side

    Jun 1, 2021 - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salaries are very competitive. People are smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    Just do a bit of Googling before you sign on and ask yourself if you want to be associated with a company who counts Jeffrey Epstein as a major investor. Or whose technology might be being misused for very nefarious things. Do your research and read about Carbyne online before accepting an offer. Would you feel good about yourself working here??

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Carbyne Response

    Hi, this is Amir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I’d like to reassure you that Jeffrey Epstein is not, and has never been, a Shareholder in Carbyne. We take our investment partners seriously, and only work with investors whose values align with our own and share our vision of creating a better and safer world. I welcome any conversation about this, and I have an open communication line with all current and former employees - feel free to give me a call at any time to discuss where this misunderstanding came from. Thank you, Amir

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, great technology

    Mar 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really loved working there as the team was so energetic and positive. They were somewhat new to the US market but the products really were cool and a very unique approach. I understood that there were changes needed to how they adapted to the US, and even though I left, I still believe in what they are doing. They have recently made some very smart hires, bringing in people who have expertise working with non-US origin companies and good track records (unlike the post I saw from someone else, I know 2 of the people brought in and the reputation they have is second to none).

    Cons

    We did a lot of trade shows and traveling and that wore on me. Also, there was a bit too much office gossip for my taste.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture and place to develop your career!

    Jan 31, 2020 - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Carbyne is a wonderful place to work. As one of the first US employees, I am proud to say that I have grown quite a bit with Carbyne. Not only through hard work but with the professional tutelage Carbyne has provided me with. Like any start-up, there has been some turnover, but that goes for every company. This means that Carbyne's employees develop the ability to wear many hats and grow into leadership roles. The leadership team is incredible. They have been extremely responsive and supportive. The CEO has had an open-door policy with me and has never once told me to wait or did not have a great answer for me right away.

    Cons

    As in any sales role... I have had to travel often. Lots of turnover, but that is part of the start-up life.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    DON'T RECOMMEND WORKING HERE

    Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly the people are great but you will get thrown out as quick as you got hired. If you are looking for a short term position then this is great otherwise stay far away.

    Cons

    As hard as you work it is never really enough and half the time you don't really know what is going on with the company. Your in the dark and you can get fired out of nowhere. The turnover in this company is one I have never seen before.

    12 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    This company let employees own their work

    Jan 19, 2020 - Senior Director Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Intimate work environment - Every employee has access to c-suite management You ca own your work. If you have initiative they let you run with it A lot of team building events and positive culture You feel like you are really making a difference through your work withing the company and without.

    Cons

    Be ready to run fast. It's a fast paced company that grows rapidly.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst company I have ever worked for

    Feb 6, 2020 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing at all...period. Worst place to work.

    Cons

    The main product is not complete and unable to sell. Leadership is telling potential customers that the product is ready and they are lying. Nobody is live with the full system. Truthfulness is a huge concern and I refuse to be part of this culture.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Carbyne Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Carbyne? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Product Manager(3)
  • Sales(3)

Carbyne Photos

+ Add Photo
Carbyne photo of: Company trip 2018
Carbyne photo of: Hanukkah & Christmas Celebration :)
Carbyne photo of: Catan geeks :)
Carbyne photo of: Kicking off from Carbyne’s offices around the world !
Carbyne photo of: Quality time
Carbyne photo of: Our NY team!
Carbyne photo of: Celebrating 2 years Anniversary
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist