Cardinal Financial Company Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Cardinal Financial Company President Nick Florez (no image)
Nick Florez
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "The comp plan is enticing and very rewarding(in 17 reviews)

  • "They completely understand what a work life balance is and the need for it(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Originating loans is stressful all together - If had to give a con I cant see the TV on the wall from my cube depending on the seating chart(in 18 reviews)

  • "The mortgage industry isn't always conducive to inspiring creative work(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (10)

    "Company Review from an individual with 2+ years of full-time employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Compensation plan is outstanding. If you are a decent salesman/saleswoman, you WILL get paid handsomely. 2) Contrary to a negative review I read from 5 weeks ago, the technology is bar none. Cardinal is the sole proprietor/creator of a loan processing software system that is the definition of cutting edge. 3) The work ethic and caliber of fellow Loan Officers positively promotes solid friendships as well as a contagious competition - that ultimately bolsters everyone's bottom line. 4) Probably should be at the top of the list, but the flexibility you're afforded is excellent. I go to the gym for ~1 hour 3-4 days a week in the middle of the work day - no questions asked. 5) Of the four employees I've recruited here over the past 2 years, all of them are still gainfully employed. I guess the "Pro" is that you can infer that the reason they're still gainfully employed is because they are thriving financially and generally HAPPY - which is perhaps the most important aspect of a job.

    Cons

    1) For those familiar with the mortgage industry - specifically a loan officer - there is always the dilemma of processing turn around times. As a loan officer, it ALWAYS seems "the loan should close more quickly", or "could be more efficient". But the question is relative in nature: compared to what? I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a company that routinely closes a refinance in less than 4 weeks.

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2019-08-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute best operations & leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for several mortgage companies in the past, several. I moved around a lot and I could never figure out why. When I moved to Cardinal I figured out why. I settled for poor operations, unstable management and liars in the past. I don't have any of those issues at Cardinal. The pay is good, operations has it all the way together, the leadership team is human and easily accessible. They are all fair, honest, transparent and trustworthy right from the start. I can't see myself leaving this company until retirement I've never been able to honestly say that.

    Cons

    The health insurance is a bit pricey.

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-04-13
  3. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Technology, benefits, Leads offered, management is very respectful, helpful and understanding., Most often promote from within

    Cons

    Local leads not available in the assigned branch, higher rates then competition depending on branch

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I am very blessed to be with such Amazing Leadership & Co-workers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about Cardinal Financial is the Leadership team are hands on & are just a ping away. Where else can you find such a great open door policy. They get into the trenches to help keep the pipeline flowing. Nick & Erica always keeps the employees informed with our "Catching up with Cardinal". Our process is seamless from start to finish. Yes at times we have so growing pains.. But the kinks will works itself out with the leadership team with have. The integrity, Honesty & hard work flows down from the leaders to the employees. Everyone is family here.

    Cons

    When our system has upgrades the bugs needs to be worked out.

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-04-08
  5. "Liars, Small time, lack of leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Addison, TX
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really hard to think of one. You can login from home which is convenient.

    Cons

    The worst leads in the market. They take FOREVER to close loans and my manager picks his favorite people to take care of. Since I’m not on his favorite list he never helps me close Loans. For some reason I have only been paid commission maybe once or twice. You have to fund 3 in order to get paid. Well for some reason they just won’t close my loans. Makes me think they are holding back in order to not pay me at all. It’s not just me it is multiple LO’s that feel the same way on my team. They try to make you fear losing your job in order to motivate. The managers just praise each other when they do no training for the employees and don’t benefit us only certain people in the office. Now being in the Dallas area there is a lot of companies to work for and I am looking to move somewhere else that will treat me right and pay me.

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-05-17
  6. "Great people to work with"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Cardinal Financial Company

    Pros

    Pay and time off. The people.

    Cons

    Lack of training for positions .

    Cardinal Financial Company2020-03-16
  7. "Not enjoyable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros about working here is they have good coffee for employees (most of the reason I showed up everyday), and there's literally so much work to do that working 55-60+ hours/week somehow goes by quickly. is that there is so much work to do that your 12 hour work days go by quickly.

    Cons

    There are too many to count.

    Cardinal Financial Company2020-03-02

    Cardinal Financial Company Response

    March 13, 2020

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your time working at Cardinal Financial. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. The mortgage industry as a whole has experienced unprecedented volumes due to mortgage rates being very low which as a result, has increased loan volumes. Cardinal Financial respects and appreciates your feedback. Wishing you the best of luck in your future career.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Career Killer - Miami Branch"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't say anything good about the Manager 's

    Cons

    Rude, Liars, Dr Jekyll and Mr.Hyde type of leader hostile environment

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-03-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Originator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base wages are guaranteed under Texas law only because they are a lender

    Cons

    Rude, arrogant, manipulative leadership that can't keep decent mortgage originators

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2020-03-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Like Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Graphic Designer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Financial Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in the Brand & CX Department (formerly Marketing) changed my life, both professionally and personally. I graduated college in May of 2017 and—with very little professional experience—applied for the position, and officially started on October 2, 2017. From what I was told throughout the interview process, a lot of people applied for the position, and it even came down to a "design off" between me and 1 or 2 other applicants. As exciting as the process was for me, I knew every other applicant had to have had more experience than I did coming fresh out of college, but they chose me instead. It was my first professional interview, so I was extremely excitable and I knew I didn't nail answering every question that was thrown at me, especially after being interviewed by 3 different people. About a week or two after being on-boarded, I asked my boss, Erica Lee, why she chose me out of all the other applicants. She said (1) because I had experience working with video, and she knew in the future she wanted to bring that kind of work in-house, and (2) she said she had "a good feeling about me, liked my eagerness and energy, and thought I'd be a good fit for the team." Nothing she said had anything to do with my skills or experience as a designer, and all about my potential as a person and an employee. To me, this speaks volumes about this company and this department, because that told me she believed in me as person to fit the role and execute the work they were looking for, even if another applicant had more refined skills than I did. For that, I couldn't have been more grateful. The amount that I grew professionally within just the first 3 months of working under Erica's leadership and with the people around me was more than I could have ever expected. I learned so much more about business in general than I could have ever imagined, and I learned so much in other creative fields from Copywriting to Digital Marketing from my coworkers than I ever would have had the knowledge of had I never applied for the position. Moreover, everyone in that department wants everyone else to succeed, and isn't afraid to give either advice or give praise. One of the most impactful things that happened to me during my time at Cardinal didn't even have anything to do with my professional life. Due to personal reasons, I went through a time of depression pretty much during my entire first 8-12 months at Cardinal, and I was afraid I wouldn't even make it to my 90-Day Review. I knew it started to affect my work life, so I brought up to Erica what I was going through, and she went far above and beyond what I could have expected. She empathized with me, and gave me techniques to use help deal with my situation. She said because she believed in me as a person, that I'd eventually be able to work through it and that she was "rooting for me." Well, I went from being afraid I wouldn't see my 90-Day Review, to having an outstanding 2-Year Review a little over a month ago, so I'd say Erica was right. I've grown and gained so much from my time at Cardinal both as a designer and business-minded person, so it was an extremely difficult decision to make when I was presented with a job offer from a good friend of mine elsewhere. It took me about a month to make a decision through much thought and prayer, and the only reason I made that decision was because it was simply a position with different challenges, and I also know everyone on staff personally, so I thought why not take on new challenges? Even if I didn't accept the offer, I would have been more than happy to stay where I was at and continue working with the team I've come to know and love. This team at Brand & CX has been amazing to me, and I've made great friendships and will continue to hold on to those friendships as well. I'm simply going from one family to another.

    Cons

    Honestly, I'm having a hard time thinking of anything to put here. To say I've enjoyed my time at Cardinal is an understatement. Was everything just absolutely perfect the whole time I was there? Not at all, no company is "absolutely perfect." Companies are created by humans, and ran by humans, and we all make and have our own mistakes here and there. But, when you have a team as efficient as this one and you work with a group of people that are here to support you and help each other succeed no matter what, you don't remember the "bad," because that's what family does.

    Continue reading
    Cardinal Financial Company2019-11-28
Found 220 reviews