Cardinal Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardinal Solutions Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cardinal Solutions CEO Kelly P Conway
Kelly P Conway
94 Ratings
  1. "Great IT consulting firm w/ amazing, smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers = very talented and smart Culture is the best - not just games (although there are plenty!), but a collaborative work environment where you can feel empowered. Company values and work life balance are second-to-none. Tons of opportunity to self-direct your career in any direction. Involved, transparent management.

    Cons

    Sometimes the offices feel distant from each other, but this is getting much, much better.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-07-05
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth if you find and take them A lot of company events, within your practice and office, to network Great job at showing the status of the company

    Cons

    A lot of Staff Aug work Nothing to do on the bench Client contracts and billable hours take priority over individual employee goals

    Advice to Management

    Work with employees to see if opportunities align to their goals. It wont always match, but it doesnt seem that employees have any weigh in on the work they are assigned.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-07-06
  3. "Overall okay. Depends which office you're in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The good: Overall great people, great company. Some of the best, brightest, and friendliest folks I've worked with. Anywhere. Ever.

    Cons

    The bad: Pipeline may veer far afield of not only your strengths but even your practice area! YMMV depending upon which office or practice you're in. For me, the complete disengagement (apathy) of local management coupled with a consistently sketchy pipeline were my reasons for leaving. The ugly: It was difficult to get access to even the most essential, most basic tools, software, and subscriptions I needed to be... successful. Had to use free alternatives or know a guy who knows a guy who could hook me up. Stuff I was told we couldn't get, I'd later find that others had had all along!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge good people if you want to keep them. NONE of them are desperate. ALL of them have options.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-06-20

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    June 26, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the review. Could you please let me know which location you are referring to? I want to follow up with them regarding some of your concerns. --Dolf

  4. "Top notch consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Owner and culture and done great job growing and maintaining high level of competency for newer technologies. Ideal for younger consultants.

    Cons

    Account manager driven, putting consultants secondary, and not best for senior consultants.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-06-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant II in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The fridge is stocked with pop all of the time and sometimes yogurt Fresh fruit Company events happen frequently Company sports teams

    Cons

    Takes a long time to be placed at a client, yet they keep hiring people Mundane Bench Action Plan sheet

    Advice to Management

    Get something set in stone for an employee before hiring

    Cardinal Solutions2017-04-30

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Patience you must have, padawan... Judging from your level, you are new to consulting. "Bench Time" is a common thing in the consulting world. Enjoy the downtime and make good use of it! You can take a variety of online training courses, study for certifications, etc. The process ...

    Show More
  6. "Great Company and work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff II - Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They take great care of employees. Your happiness is paramount and it is made known through constant lunches, dinners, parties, events, fun, and great culture building.

    Cons

    Long contracts at the same client.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-03-06

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the kind words! Cardinal Solutions cares about its employees and we do everything we can to make them happy. As for long contracts, maybe it's because the client really LOVES you and can't stand to see you go? ;) In all seriousness, if you feel that you need a change ...

    Show More
  7. "Great place to work w/ great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, nice/intelligent coworkers, lots of opportunities for engagement

    Cons

    Many of the projects are "staff-augmentation"

    Advice to Management

    Find projects that are Cardinal-built projects

    Cardinal Solutions2017-01-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've gotten to work on a variety of projects with a lot of smart people for a bunch of different companies during my years here. There are lots of company events like a golf outing, Reds night, family picnic, happy hours, poker night, etc. Good, consistent management. If you're looking for a consulting company, this is a good one! You get to do work for large companies while belonging to a smaller, less... bureaucratic one.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes you get placed at a client company for a very long time, unsure of when the end will be, but you can also end up working out of the main office a lot, too.

    Cardinal Solutions2016-12-08

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the great feedback! Cardinal Culture is one of the best things about working here. We are always trying to find new things to do to bring our employees together. As for being on a lengthy project, please talk to your Team Lead whenever you feel that you have been at ...

    Show More
  9. "Principle Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant I in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for! They focus on personal development and education, while providing rewarding and challenging placement opportunities for their consultants. Unlike many other consulting agencies, they don't just place independent contractors, rather have a bench for there staff PMs and BAs. Highly recommend them.

    Cons

    Like most consulting agencies, while on assignment, can feel isolated from company.

    Cardinal Solutions2016-11-16

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the great review! Trying to keep employees engaged is a top priority for Cardinal. It's why we created The Culture Club. We'll keep striving to keep employees connected no matter where they are assigned. We appreciate the feedback!

  10. "Very people centric."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions

    Pros

    Very people centric. Work life balance is focus. Employees all seem to want to see branch and company succeed. work for the same goals.

    Cons

    none come to mind that would limit me from recommending. if you like consulting, it is a good place to be. Branches can be different based on leaders in each office.

    Cardinal Solutions2016-11-06
Found 123 reviews