Cardinal Solutions Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardinal Solutions Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated 2 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cardinal Solutions CEO Kelly P Conway
Kelly P Conway
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "This company has it all!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home capability Multiple Projects w/ Updated Technology Down to earth, SMART people to work and learn from Generous Salaries The president, VP, and CTO are all very clear about expectations and will share the numbers of the company every quarter! No one hides things here! Cant forget to mention the happy hours, team events, family nights, etc. SO much fun! You can reach out to the President, VP, and... CTO at any point and they don't hesitate to get back to you, unlike some larger companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    There needs to be more offices opened faster, so we can get the Cardinal name out to everyone!

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing us the numbers, being transparent/honest, and stay available to the employees when needed like you have been!

    Cardinal Solutions2018-07-20
  2. "Managing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary was very very good

    Cons

    The bench policy was very misleading

    Advice to Management

    Ask twice, and then ask again!

    Cardinal Solutions2018-08-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not much more than your average staff aug shop..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reimbursement offered for training/certifications, potential to relocate to other office locations

    Cons

    As the title says, Cardinal was little more that a staff augmentation shop when I was there, there was very little actual "consulting" work to be had. It wasn't a bad place to work, but growth opportunities were limited, all of the quarterly, practice area, team building, etc. meetings held after hours were cumbersome, consultant work/life balance was noteable a lack of concern for management, and compensation... packages were absolutely sub-par.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Worry less about preaching your "good to great" philosophy, and try to be something more than a body shop.

    Cardinal Solutions2018-06-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training. Downtown location with own parking. Company events. Good place for junior developers to start.

    Cons

    Sink or swim environment. Organization paints an initial facade as a "true" consulting company with projects to be fulfilled and developed but in the end it's an elaborate staff augmentation firm. Focus is mainly toward Microsoft technologies and thus if they are interested in some niche skill set that you may have or toward most technologies outside of Microsoft technologies...Buyer Beware! Not good place for... seasoned developers to advance careers. Very much of a good old boys/country club atmosphere.

    Show More
    Cardinal Solutions2018-01-31

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    February 9, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the review. I'll pass your comments (good & bad) on to the management team. --DM

  5. Helpful (9)

    "Talks the talk, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cardinal likes seeing its employees gain certifications and will reimburse those. Paid parking as well, which is nice when working uptown. The office has the feel of a smaller company. First name basis everywhere. Occasionally you get to work on variant projects with new technology and expand your knowledge. At least for the first 6 months I was there, they fed us well and regularly and kept the fridge... stocked with beer. It slumped toward the end, however.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary is generally less then you will receive elsewhere for roles with similar responsibilities. You can definitely make more money elsewhere. However, Cardinal bills themselves as delivering on a better total package, especially in their work culture. They do not follow through on this, however, as you will see below. Cardinal talks about being family-friendly and flexible. This doesn't line up with my... experience. As a new parent, and having worked out a flexible but 40+ hour schedule with a manager who left Cardinal, I was actually dismissed for working that schedule after the manager went to another company. I was given no formal warnings before that dismissal either...it was retconned to 3 months in the past. No other writeups or warnings about performance existed. To the contrary, I had accolades from every client I had worked with up to that point. This was all done just a few weeks after I mentioned a need for leave for the birth of my 2nd child in a few weeks. Cardinal offers no paternity leave, so it was going to be my PTO used to help at home for a few weeks at most. I would have become FMLA eligible shortly after the birth of my daughter. Cardinal elected instead to concoct a cause for dismissal rather than be placed at risk of having a consultant on the roster with a new child and special scheduling needs. Obviously, they claim this is not the case, but the facts don't support their claim. So, if you want to work at Cardinal, don't have kids and do plan to be there from 8-5 daily, onsite, regardless of what you may be told or agree to with a manager. Or frankly, be there long enough that you can work the flexible schedule some people seem to be allowed. Typical office hours for some departments will be from about 10-4. So yes, it's a two-tiered, hypocritical approach to work flexibility. As a consultant, you will have very little choice as to what projects you may be assigned to next. Volunteerism can get you in trouble, as management will take that and throw you into the less attractive roles, while giving the plum assignments to those who hold out and are pickier. You need to walk a fine line between raising your hand and being reluctant to work undesirable assignments. I never said no to any work offered to me, whether I had bandwidth to do the work or not, because I never really felt comfortable making such a refusal. One person I saw bounced from role to role practically weekly as a result of being too willing to help. It was brutal to watch. It's very much possible to get put on a staff aug projectonsite with a client for years and be practically forgotten...which may actually be the best result of all, depending on your perspective.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your Careers page says: "We employ smart people and keep them happy." To deliver on that, you need to recognize that successful, smart people also have lives and families. Mike and Kelly do believe that. I have met both and shaken both their hands and I believe Mike especially has a dedication to having consultants for Cardinal be able to have a life at home. However, the experience I just had speaks to an... inability to deliver on this dream. I have watched as many family people burn out, working incessant hours at home, traveling constant. In early, home late, laptops out at home. Human resources fails to turn around candidates in a timely manner and opportunities are lost. Sales keeps consultants in the lurch with uncertainty about future assignments. Management fails to properly assess situations as they arise, and in my case at least, went with an unnecessarily punitive approach to "solve" a problem that wasn't a problem. I was not a perfect employee; nobody is. I worked *very* hard during my first 7 months at Cardinal. My last 2 months, I was left adrift and directionless, with no manager but also not directive to self-manage and make things happen. Motivation was hard to find. I maintained a slow burn but honestly was already one foot out the door because of the lack of attention to the team I worked on. In many ways, Cardinal did me a favor by releasing me...however Cardinal has the seeds of a strong organization to which I would gladly return if they could deliver on the promises made upon hiring. We are people, not human capital. We have lives and these aren't factory jobs. Trust us to be where we are needed when we are needed. Don't treat us like children. Make your processes more transparent. Above all, be honest. Don't look to gain leverage over employees for short-term gain. Look at us as the partners we are. Recognize that, especially in the smaller cities where Cardinal is a larger player, that you are likely to see many of us again even after we leave. Even if a role doesn't work out, the organization has a responsibility to be professional. Even in my short time at Cardinal, I saw abdications of responsibility from management on several occasions. We have large networks, and Cardinal is gaining a bit of a reputation from conversations I have had with friends. That reputation will only get worse as I share my experience as well. If you want to stop that toxic spread of information, the best way to do it is simple. Keep people happy, as you promised above. Part of that is also to treat them fairly.

    Show More
    Cardinal Solutions2018-01-16

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    February 9, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the review. As always, I make sure the management team sees all comments, positive and negative. We are always working on ways to improve. --DM

  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth if you find and take them A lot of company events, within your practice and office, to network Great job at showing the status of the company

    Cons

    A lot of Staff Aug work Nothing to do on the bench Client contracts and billable hours take priority over individual employee goals

    Advice to Management

    Work with employees to see if opportunities align to their goals. It wont always match, but it doesnt seem that employees have any weigh in on the work they are assigned.

    Cardinal Solutions2017-07-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've gotten to work on a variety of projects with a lot of smart people for a bunch of different companies during my years here. There are lots of company events like a golf outing, Reds night, family picnic, happy hours, poker night, etc. Good, consistent management. If you're looking for a consulting company, this is a good one! You get to do work for large companies while belonging to a smaller, less... bureaucratic one.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes you get placed at a client company for a very long time, unsure of when the end will be, but you can also end up working out of the main office a lot, too.

    Cardinal Solutions2016-12-08

    Cardinal Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the great feedback! Cardinal Culture is one of the best things about working here. We are always trying to find new things to do to bring our employees together. As for being on a lengthy project, please talk to your Team Lead whenever you feel that you have been at ...

    Show More
  8. "Great Consulting Firm and Strong Focus on New Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive Salary - Conference and Training Reimbursement - Management can see potential in their consultants and in my experience have put forth effort to strengthen the consultants' skills in emerging technologies (where reasonably possible) - Lots of cross-training events and meetups with free food - Obvious effort from management to stay on top of the various IT platforms - Steady growth; Cardinal will... be around for a while - Great Culture - Paid Bench-Time - Paid Vacation

    Show More

    Cons

    - As another review has said, the Industry of Consulting requires a consultant to put in time at clients that are more difficult to work for than most other clients - Communication could be better, consultants are not notified of client assignments efficiently

    Advice to Management

    - Practice managers working full time on clients can't be good for that client, or the manager's work/life balance. They become difficult to meet with and a consultant's professional goals quickly become secondary to a client's needs

    Cardinal Solutions2016-03-26
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Good for recent graduates. Senior talent and those with young families look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant II in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peers are nice. There is some opportunity for training. Paid bench time. A pro/con - there are lots of social activities if you like to drink (I don't).

    Cons

    Company doesn't care what their product looks like (supportable, etc) as long as the client pays. There is no strategy to the clients they accept or who goes on a particular assignment; warm bodies will do. Have no appreciation for senior staff and above. There's no means of promotion unless you want to sell for Cardinal. In order to do that be prepared to put in lots of hours outside of work on social media... (twitter, blogs, etc.). They have a vision with absolutely no viable plan to achieve it. They don't listen to their talent and we all have similar complaints. If you are not in the "in" crowd expect to be marginalized and ignored. Expect lots of requests for time outside work. Compensation is below industry average.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Choose what kind of a company you want to be and what kind of customer is important and target that customer. Don't try to satisfy everyone. Stand behind the work of your employees. Focus on quality. Show some pride and dignity and stop letting sales drive the business. Have growth opportunities other than becoming a sales person for people who can provide great products technically. Listen to the feedback... you are provided. Put aside your cliques. Don't treat your managers and billable AND managers. They get burned out and quit. Take notice!!

    Show More
    Cardinal Solutions2015-04-30
  10. "Great culture, decent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant II in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has great benefits compared to other consulting companies and really tries to emphasize a work-life balance and making sure the company culture is lively, inclusive, and fun. Unlimited sick time so you aren't penalized for being out sick. It's actually encouraged so you don't get others sick as well. Promotions are well-defined with measurable goals to help you realize what it takes to get to the next... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Their pay is competitive initially, but raises can sometimes lag behind in certain areas. Occasionally you can get stuck on a bad client, and the only way out is to leave, but this is sort of an industry-wide gripe - not exclusive to Cardinal.

    Cardinal Solutions2014-12-10
Found 16 reviews