Cardinal Solutions "social events" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardinal Solutions Employee Reviews about "social events"

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cardinal Solutions CEO Kelly P Conway
Kelly P Conway
94 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Easy to place consultants in 'staff-aug' roles & leave them there(in 7 reviews)

  • "As the title says, Cardinal was little more that a staff augmentation shop when I was there, there was very little actual "consulting" work to be had(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "social events"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Flexible, People-Oriented Consulting Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good quality people around you. Owners are good people, and they really care about us and our professional growth. Well connected to real-life innovation with technology. Access to trending technology solutions, training opportunities, and smart people to help you understand it. Lot's of lunches in the office. Frequent social events to stay connected.

    Cons

    Internal administrative tools not so good. Some client work not great.

    Cardinal Solutions2018-08-03
  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture, lots of in-house parties and social events. Good, smart people who know their technology core. Great location, free parking, close to all of Cincinnati.

    Cons

    Not really staffed well enough to grow into the enterprise market yet. Tough to get the right consultant available for an open opportunity at a time that is good for the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on hiring and retention. Communicate more details about what is going on in accounts. Include the sales team in every practice meeting, make it mandatory.

    Cardinal Solutions2016-01-20
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Outstanding Culture, Extremely Understanding, Modest Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1) The culture at Cardinal is second to none. I've worked at many different places and never have I gotten along with and enjoyed the company of the folks I work with at Cardinal. Since starting at Cardinal I've turned down multiple job offers with substantially hire pay because I can't bring myself to leave the culture of Cardinal behind for the stuffiness of some run-of-the-mill IT firm. 2) Need to work from... home? No problem. Need to leave early for a doctor's appoint? Hope you feel better! Not feeling productive on a Wednesday and want to make up some time on the weekend. Sounds good. Cardinal is unlike any other company I've worked for when it comes to leniency and understanding. They care a lot less about the hours you work and a lot more about the quality of the deliverables. 3) There are lots of social events and ample opportunities to get to know your coworkers. There are monthly happy hours, the company picnic, night at the Reds game, the holiday party, practice meetings, lunch and learns, sports leagues, and more and all of it is paid for in full by the company. Before joining Cardinal, I came from (what I thought was) a fairly laid back, social company but Cardinal has blown that perception away with how much effort they put towards events like this.

    Show More

    Cons

    1) The pay is modest. Off the top of my head I know of several folks (myself included) who know for a fact they're very underpaid. That said, for a lot of us, the culture and other intangibles of working at Cardinal make up for this. 2) I can echo some of the sentiment from other reviews here in that there seems to be a limited amount of "senior" personnel - folks who can act as authorities on various subjects.... There are a lot of good people at Cardinal but sometimes it's hard finding someone with a ton of experience and expertise to lean on when you need to learn and learn quickly. 3) Standardization and "process" is still an issue at Cardinal. For example, we recently just "updated" our intranet but even after the update it's not clear where to store project information, where to do wiki pages or documents explaining various technologies or experiences at clients. we also have blogging capability on our company site but it hasn't been communicated at all how someone should "officially" go about contributing to the blog. Unless you're a CQ5 developer with access to the CQ environments, you're at the mercy of manually emailing or stopping by offices to try and see how you can contribute. 4) Retention is a serious problem in my opinion. Cardinal spends a lot of money and time on recruiting to get fresh talent in the door but they let outstanding employees walk away simply because of money (in most cases). I can name off several people off the top of my head, just from the last two years, who absolutely loved Cardinal but left for a substantial pay raise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Standardize, enforce process, communicate this to everyone and do so repeatedly. There should be an official process on how to contribute to Cardinal's blog site. There should be very clear explanations out there on how the new portal is organized and where to put things. Cardinal did this a while back with the employee review process. They reorganized it, communicated exactly how it works, put an official... process in place and have, for the most part, been following it fairly well. DO MORE OF THIS. 2) Work on retention more than you work on recruiting. Recruiting is important, no doubt, but you wouldn't be so desperate for quality talent if you would put some serious effort into retaining the talent you already have. I've seen far too many incredible people walk away over a bigger pay day that they simply couldn't refuse.

    Show More
    Cardinal Solutions2013-12-05
  4. "Fun for a while, but career advancement is limited."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant II in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cardinal has a fun, active culture. They host a lot of happy hours and other social events to keep that culture consistent. Their college-hire salaries are decent, but that tapers off as you advance. Depending on your practice, there are some good opportunities to work with cool/trendy technologies.

    Cons

    Career advancement opportunities are limited...you basically go through levels of "consultant" with very inconsistent and unclear boundaries between levels. Though they advertise otherwise, the majority of the work is staff augmentation - sometimes very long term. They have also been going through an accelerated growth period and it has caused a lot of turnover. Compensation is not particularly good at mid-senior... levels.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what you want to be. There felt like an identity crisis was occurring and some of what was initially positive about the company has been lost.

    Cardinal Solutions2013-01-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, great people, great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Healthy work/life balance is encouraged and reinforced with a great personal/sick time policy. Cardinal has great relationships with many high profile clients and carries a lot of respect. Hard work and diligence is rewarded, and the management and team leads are wonderful people who care about the growth of individuals. Training and on-going education is encouraged and they offer ample opportunity to do so,... including tuition reimbursement. The benefits package is far above average. Bench-time layoffs are seemingly nonexistent, and they do their best to keep you on projects that will keep you challenged and growing in your skill set. With a heavy emphasis on culture there is no shortage of social events, all of which they happily foot the bill for. There is a healthy mixture of industry veterans and fresh faces, which brings great balance to team work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Although rarely required, the reimbursement policy seems a little slow which can lead to floating company expenses for longer than the average employee may be comfortable with.

    Cardinal Solutions2012-08-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to start or continue a career with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cardinal is a place where advancement is in your own hands. My outlook has always been that performing great at the client is the baseline at Cardinal and to really stand out it takes more. Figuring out what "more" is can be helped by asking your practice manager and team lead. It is usually anything from presenting a topic at a practice meeting, developing internal training, or picking up extra client work. ... I also like how aggressive they have been with expanding their market cities. When I started 3 years ago the Charlotte office had just opened and a new one in Raleigh came shortly thereafter. The new office strategy is based on sending a couple of current employees to start it out which makes it a great way to advance if you are willing to move to a new city. The Cincinnati culture is relaxed and fun with social events all throughout the year. The events are usually monthly and can range from family friendly outings to movie nights (Dark Knight Rises this year) to sand volleyball happy hours. Typically my happy hour experience ends up with less drinking and more arguing about which scifi shows are better. Probably my favorite aspect of Cardinal is the employee development. They have a lot of classes that run year round to improve your skills as a consultant. Off the top of my head I can think of a few project management type classes and a public speaking course that seems to be a big hit. I remember when the mobile market really started emerging there was a cross-practice meetup that formed to do research on how to best get our employees ramped up.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes I have found myself busier than I would like. I mentioned earlier that I think to truly distinguish yourself it requires putting extra time in but I have gotten better at learning when enough is enough. When you get in those times of being overworked due to a client project they take care of you though. In my case the extra compensation was welcome. The good thing is that it is all volunteer driven so... you can't be forced to do more than you think you can handle. This isn't really a problem with Cardinal but professional services in general. Occasionally you can get placed on a project that is important but not in the new emerging markets. When this happens its easy to not feel as noticed as the consultants spearheading new clients/technologies. The front line in those areas is very visible to the upper management as opposed to a well established client. Wish we could have a more start-up style dress code at the office but that's wishful thinking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to recognize everyone at a personal level. It will go a long way in keeping turnover down by reminding the employee who has spent the past 2-3 years on site that they are valuable to Cardinal. I am happy with my salary but I wouldn't mind a raise.

    Cardinal Solutions2012-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Columbus Office - Lack of Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Columbus, OH

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent 1st job out of college to get experience. Lots of social events. Able to meet some fun, laid people. Able to play foosball/video games during work hours. Refrigerator is always stacked with micro brews that the office supplies.

    Cons

    Recruiter sold me on the culture. Turns out to be a very "college" culture which I'm long past. Very laid back atmosphere to a fault. Office brags about all their socials and wild drunken parties and even shares pictures of them with everyone. Office not taken seriously. No onboarding process at all. Sales team and recruiter drink beer and play foosball daily. Office seriously lacks leadership. Would not... consider this place to have a career. Do not get caught up in all the socials and ppl who still live the college lifestyle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new leadership that is career driven and takes their job seriously. Re-evaluate office staff (sales, recruiting, and other current leaders).

    Cardinal Solutions2012-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Big 4 type consulting, but local"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardinal Solutions

    Pros

    Like most large consulting firms (Accenture, IBM, etc) there is a lot of opportunity for people who go above and beyond. Many on the management team are people who put in an lot of effort growing their careers within the company, such as opening a new office. The company does not discriminate on years of service, but tries to objectively weigh based on capability / merit. There are 20 somethings serving as team... leads and principal consultants. The CTO and some sales directors are pretty young. The company is growing pretty fast with 4 offices and they are talking about a 5th. All the new office leadership will be staffed by internal promotions. The company puts a lot of emphasis on culture such as social events. Several of the offices (Columbus & Charlotte) were named best place to work as a result.

    Show More

    Cons

    Even though the company spends a lot of time on social events and even internal communication through social networking, it is easy to feel on an island when staffed long-term at a particular client. Those who move up quickly spend significant effort beyond a 40 hour billable work week.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on internal training programs. The feedback on the presentation workshop is really positive. Similarly the future stars training is outstanding - many non college grads would love to be exposed to this type of training.

    Cardinal Solutions2012-02-08
Found 123 reviews