Cardinal Web Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardinal Web Solutions Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Cardinal Web Solutions CEO Alex Membrillo (no image)
Alex Membrillo
26 Ratings
  1. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions

    Pros

    Cardinal is a great place to start and grow your career. Cardinal is a place that rewards hard work and dedication. You have to know your stuff, make an effort to learn, and work hard to make an impact. If you do this, your work will be recognized by leadership and you will be compensated well. The office is a really fun place to work, there are games in the office and leadership encourages you to take breaks from... work. They understand that everyone works hard for their clients and the employees deserve a break. Work hard, play hard mentality at Cardinal. Working here gives you exposure to working with some really great, well known brands. Show initiative, be proactive, and ASK how else you can make an impact outside of your day to day responsibilities. I worked directly with the CEO and I brought him new ideas every week, I brought new ideas to the organization, and I contributed to more than just my day to day responsibilities. Many of the reviews on this page are from people who likely didn't see the opportunities ahead of them while they were at Cardinal. Be different, be innovative, and don't get sucked into negativity. Every workplace has negativity, if you get caught up in it, you're cheating yourself. I no longer work for Cardinal, but it's where I started my career and I wouldn't be where I am in my career without the guidance I received from senior leadership at Cardinal. If you're willing to work hard, seek learning new things, and you're ready to prove yourself, go work at Cardinal. If you're not willing to do this, go work somewhere that doesn't care about innovation (I guarantee you'll be working for an organization that won't be in business for long).

    Show More

    Cons

    The work is not easy and it's a competitive place to work. If you don't know your stuff, learn it, communicate it to leadership and they will listen and support your goals. Show your interest in the company and don't be afraid to contribute new ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to emphasize growth within the organization and support your employees goals. There is a lot of good talent that comes through your doors, recognize them, support them, and incentivize them to stay with Cardinal. Good talent is your lifeblood.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-09-23
  2. "Digital Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Snacks, game room, flexible hours.

    Cons

    No room for real growth, no training, mean girl cliques.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2018-07-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to get started... but that's about it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions full-time

    Pros

    If you're inexperienced in the world of digital marketing, Cardinal is probably the only agency in Atlanta that will hire you. Seriously, come in with a theology degree and you'll probably be managing a book of 4-5 small clients in your first week. My former colleagues and I used this as an opportunity to truly learn and hone in on our craft across all facets of digital - SEO, Paid, Content, Social, Influencer... Marketing - with the understanding we'd take our talent elsewhere in about a year's time. If you're an opportunist and can put up with a quickly dwindling team (40 employees to about 7 in the course of a year) then take Cardinal for what it is: a stepping stone. Look up any former employee on LinkedIn and you'll see that they've moved on to some of the larger agency houses in the Atlanta area or as managers in-house at brands. The good news is those that have left Cardinal are a tight bunch and retain friendships far after their time at the agency. Great for continued networking with a "we survived" mentality of some of Atlanta's leading digital professionals.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cardinal isn't hiring new talent because they've mishandled finances and are down to a "bare bones" team. They tout a lot of large brands on their website but the majority of these partners left with the talent or only had short-term engagements in the first place (notice how they use the label "a few famous friends" not clients?) Cardinal, don't kid yourself, you lost all of the business of these reputable... companies and now focus on low-grade loan shark type sites.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Attempt to get acquired by a serious agency and start from scratch.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2018-04-05
  4. "Great, young culture- particularly if you value benefits over your salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Flex hours- can choose start time between 7am and 9am every day, you just have to work a full day. Relaxed environment- things like foosball, cornhole, Guitar Hero, etc. are available in the office for employees to use during breaks throughout the day. Not uncommon for a group of four to stop for 15 minutes and play a game of cornhole. We even had a Thanksgiving potluck during the day before Thanksgiving-... supervisors brought boxed wine, and everyone relaxed for the rest of the day. Bosses are pleasant and encouraging, good direction is given when new hires need help learning the ropes. Young people, many fresh from college, make up this company. I believe this is because they want to pay low salaries wherever they can. Good benefits- medical and dental insurance. Dogs were welcome at work as well!

    Show More

    Cons

    Even though there are lots of perks, actual compensation left a lot to be desired. I left after a few months because I couldn't turn down an offer from another company for more money. I'm giving "compensation and benefits" two stars because the salary is more important to me than casual benefits like cornhole.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2018-01-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag of experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Work From Home, Unlimited PTO, Dogs in the Office, Out of Office Team Building, Excellent Place To Learn. I really enjoyed working at Cardinal. Breaking into the digital marketing field, Cardinal was an excellent place to learn the basics and hone my skills to the point where I could "graduate" out and go on to bigger things. Cardinal also promotes an excellent work-life balance, with working from... home once per week the standard around the office, as well as 9-5 work hours. Cardinal is a small enough agency to where if you want to execute a cool idea or test something, you can do it immediately. There is very little red tape "at the top" to get through to test, and upper management is always looking for the employees on the floor to come up with the next awesome idea to put to a client. I don't know if I was oblivious or what, but the certain group others refer to on here honestly were not bad people. Some of them were possibly over-promoted into roles they couldn't take on, but there is one person in that group that, if she left, the entire company would fall apart at the seams. They do A LOT of work that most of the employees don't see, and that stress sometimes got transferred to the specialists, which brought down the overall atmosphere. I worked with some of the smartest people I've ever known at Cardinal. There are some diamonds at that company that, if they make the right moves upward through the company, can absolutely right the ship and keep Cardinal afloat. The monthly meetings were a personal highlight. It is something that all companies should look at, because it really helped us understand all of the behind-the-scenes work that was going on with each department. Alex was also very good at understanding the challenges of the company, and laying out a plan to ease or remove those challenges.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of real corporate identity, Potentially toxic work environment, Too little "work" and too much "play" in the atmosphere of the company, No formal training process, unrealistic client expectations led to enormous disappointments. The biggest issue with Cardinal is that they really don't know who they are. They started in SEO and web development, then laid off the web developer, then became a creative agency,... then laid off their designer. They then heavily promoted a "hyper-local" opt-in social media program for Papa John's, but all of their website content and promotion is based around SEO? It felt like Cardinal was trying to run in four different directions at the same time, and that cause confusion among the staff, who were trying to execute any sort of corporate culture they could figure out. Aggressive expansion all but obliterated the company's morale after a huge layoff in February 2016 that saw 40% of the work force laid off. To be around for the aftermath of that was depressing, as the survivors fought to cover all of the now vacant roles, leading to huge stress and tension in the office. The office also became far too large, leading to a negative atmosphere and a lot of empty space. They hired a business consultant to help with moral and culture, but he fired them after 8 hours of a 3 day contract because of all the negative survey responses. Cardinal would often tout themselves a little too much, and not tout the clients enough. The Papa John's account, for example, would often take a backseat to management-mandated marketing of Cardinal. A lack of clear accountability really hurt Cardinal when it came to clients. Often, the work outlined in the initial agreement was not the work delivered, and clients would be understandably frustrated. Additionally, the eagerness to take on clients resulted in less-than-desirable clients being onboarded, which led to those clients jumping ship whenever was convenient to them (see: several pizza companies and markets, Mizuno). Many employees were there to collect a paycheck and go home. This was brought about due to the lack of a formal hiring process and absolutely no training or training materials provided. This created a culture of under performers, which expedited the company's degradation. The "Cardinal Qualities" were a bit of a joke. There was a weekly meeting where two people would have to act out a company quality and explain why it's important to adhere to them, but when there are 40 of them, that gets tough. Pare those down into tenets to work by, then you have the right idea.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cardinal is a phenomenal place to start your digital marketing career, so highlight that! You have some truly talented people working there that strive to do amazing work, so let them show you what you can do.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2017-01-19
  6. "SEO Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions

    Pros

    This is a great learning and growing atmosphere. There is always an opportunity to attend a training session, ask questions, and assist with other teams. The CEO, Alex Membrillo, is young and very personable. He is so easy to talk to and gives great career advice. The gas card came in handy is also a nice touch.

    Cons

    Sometimes it felt like I was in a frat house but very fun.

    Advice to Management

    Have more diversity.

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-11-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Account Managers. Terrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions

    Pros

    Friendly people Great benefits Good sales staff

    Cons

    Too many to get into

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-11-19
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Do not trust Cardinal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions

    Pros

    - "Cool" work environment. Foosball table, nap/quiet room, snacks and drinks, really no dress code unless you may be meeting with a client (rare from what I saw), dogs in the office occasionally, work from home benefits.

    Cons

    - Glassdoor won't post your review if you call people out specifically by job title, so I'll call them "a certain group of people" (if you have read any other reviews here or worked at Cardinal for any period of time, you know who I'm talking about). This group makes working at Cardinal an absolute nightmare. Work there for even just an hour and you'll see what I mean. I have never met a group of people more petty,... childish, condescending, hateful, and just downright rude. Cardinal says they value teamwork/communication/treating each other "like a family" but never once have I seen this group participate in sharing those values with the rest of the company. There is even a company-wide meeting every Monday morning at 9AM where 2 people have to get up and discuss one of the "Cardinal Qualities" (painted on the wall and printed on every single employee's mousepad). Everyone always thought it was funny when this group would get up and speak about these positive values because we all knew they didn't follow them. I mean it wholeheartedly when I say that some of the things that came out of these people's mouths and the way they behaved toward clients and other employees was downright shocking. These are relatively grown women who still think it's okay to act this way? More than anything, I'm just sad for this group. They think ruling by intimidating is okay, and it's not. Cardinal isn't some major corporate entity where you could blow this off and defend the way these people act by saying, "That's business... not everyone is nice and not everything is fair." Cardinal is a small company that markets themselves as a "family." If you're going to do that, yet stack your employees with people who are just rude, then you're a hypocrite and you'll never be able to fool anyone into thinking your company is a good one. - Another point that I think potential clients would want to know: Before you hire Cardinal, you should know that if you're on a call with the team there, they will mute the phone and they will make fun of you "behind your back." Cardinal is supposed to be a relatively experienced marketing agency. Clients come to us because they believe Cardinal is the expert on all things marketing (more about that later). Employees at Cardinal shouldn't expect a client to understand everything about marketing already... that's why they're coming to us. To learn. To understand. I have witnessed more client calls where team members would mute the phone and make fun of whatever the client was saying. Some clients, yes, want to go over every little thing and it can be exhausting, sure, but to sit there and mock them or roll their eyes and deep sigh when they're genuinely trying to understand what Cardinal can do for their business is NOT okay. I'll be fair and say this didn't happen on every phone call, but it happened enough to the point where it bothered many other people on the team and made us uncomfortable. - The positive reviews on here make it seem like if you didn't/don't like Cardinal, you're not motivated enough, you don't have enough experience, you don't care about results/your clients, you're too immature, you're straight out of college and you don't know what you're doing, you don't have enough dedication to the company, etc. That's just simply not true and a way for management at this company to lie to themselves and others about why people don't last at Cardinal. Everyone knows those statements are 100% false. There are PLENTY of people who didn't have a good experience at Cardinal who are truly talented/smart/genuinely nice people/motivated/dedicated/who truly want to provide great results for the client. This is just another way for management to put the blame on others instead of taking responsibility for their actions and the actions of troublesome employees (again, we all know which group this is-- and management knows who they are true. they just refuse to do anything about it). - Cardinal does the bare minimum for clients in many areas. They think they're up to date on marketing trends but they won't give their employees room to try new things or to grow. Talking about new trends in a meeting means nothing if you're not acting on them. They're very stuck in their ways and stick to what they call a POA (Plan of Action-- given to each client when they sign on with Cardinal-- basically just a list of what will be done for the client each month) and won't budge. Granted, there is some merit to sticking to what you promised the client and working at an agency with multiple clients means you can't give everyone 100%, but there are some REALLY REALLY cool things going on in digital marketing right now. Take this opportunity to 'wow' whatever clients are left (plenty of them have seen right through Cardinal's lies and false promises and left) and show them you really mean business. This doesn't mean upping the number of Google+ posts a client gets (despite what Cardinal tells you, that's NOT going to help a client all that much...) or making another infographic for them. This means really looking into the hot trends right now (and there are PLENTY) and seeing what you can do. Come on, you can't seriously believe that 10 G+ posts, 1 infographic a month, maybe running a Site Speed test for the client & finding 3 backlinks a month are really going to make that much of a difference, right? Since having left Cardinal and moving onto a real job where I'm actually trusted and given the ability to try new things, I've found a TON of opportunities to take action and provide awesome results. Again, I know agencies are different and you can't do everything for every single client, but you can't keep skating by on the bare minimum alone. Impress your clients and show them why Cardinal is "great" (HA). Don't forget that your clients make or break you. If they're not happy with the results (and again, plenty of them haven't been), they will leave you in the dust and find someone who knows what they're doing. - Cardinal truly believes they are the industry leader/authority on all things marketing. After Cardinal, I had many MANY job interviews where the interviewer saw I had worked at Cardinal and would always ask, without fail, "I've heard some bad things about Cardinal... is it true that X, Y, Z?" (Obviously not going to go into specifics here because the details of my interviews are no one else's business). Cardinal has a TERRIBLE reputation around town. Some of the jobs I interviewed for weren't even other marketing agencies... some were companies that just needed an in-house marketer, so even companies outside of the marketing world knew about Cardinal's bad reputation. There's truly no way for them to come back from this. When I started, there were 40 something people. Literally 1 year later, there are 15 or so. That kind of turnover (whether people were fired/let go or they left on their own) is NOT normal. Cardinal likes to pretend like "Oh well, that's just life at an agency... turnover happens," but no... not to that extent. I've had SO many people laugh when I told them management at Cardinal would say that about turnover because everyone knows that just simply isn't true. For a company to lose that many people in the span of a year is a problem. It's a real issue that should be addressed-- but no one will do it because they're afraid to face the facts. - There's no HR person at Cardinal. They've been promising for a year now that they've been interviewing people, but come on... we all know they don't want to get HR because they know the line would be out the door of people wanting to express complaints and, again, they don't want to face the reality that their employees are unhappy. They even had the nerve to say in a company meeting one time that "They found the perfect HR person but she took another job... so we're going to wait and see where that goes and then try to hire her after she's done with her new job." What? They do realize that, unlike Cardinal, people stay employed and stay with a company for more than a few months, right? How long were they planning to wait? Did they think they could say something like that and people would just forget? I mean, it's just amazing. - If you want to keep your job, don't speak up. Enough said. Don't listen to them when they say they have an "Open Door Policy" and "if there are any concerns, please come talk to us immediately." They'll listen to what you have to say, pretend like they care, and then turn around and threaten to fire you-- or just actually fire you. The amount of times this has happened is astounding. There's not much more to say... it's just a sad way to run a business. - I really hope everyone sees through Cardinal. I'm not a vindictive person, however I believe in doing the right thing and I truly believe the right thing is to speak up when and where I can about this company (without fear of being fired anymore). I really hope potential employees and clients take all these negative reviews to heart and realize that we're not just bitter, unhappy, jealous people who want to badmouth Cardinal.... We're good, hardworking, genuine people who want to see clients treated the way they deserve to be treated and for employees to be valued the way they should be valued.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel sad for you. I feel sad that you think you have to run your business this way. But I guess if you can live with yourselves and the way you treat other people, what can I say here that will even make a difference?

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-10-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't waste your time as an employee or client"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions

    Pros

    -Full of young professionals who are just trying to learn, grow, and be supportive. -Close to downtown Atlanta so there are plenty of things to do after work -Opportunity to work on local franchise brands like Papa Johns (not the actual company, just a local franchise group)

    Cons

    -Management is extremely arrogant and would rather invest time in writing positive reviews online than take the time to improve upon what they have. -The owner and his executive team are completely out for themselves and don't realize how much this actually comes across to their employees. This place is a revolving door of hired today, fired tomorrow without a reason (just as a note, I was not fired so this is not... out of spite). They hire people who are right out of college, knowing that they do not have the type of experience that's required to grow a digital marketing agency and retain clients. However, rather than provide training and support, they prefer to simply let people go. This might not be so awful if they replaced such people with experienced professionals, but they aren't able to do this since actual industry experts know about Cardinal's shotty reputation. -If you think that the negative reviews on here are written by those who are bitter, just ask them as a client or potential employee why they have a 56% employee retention rate and a 50% client retention rate. Cardinal has been in business for over 10 years, so their excuse of being a "start up" doesn't apply anymore.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What advice is there to give to people who already know everything...

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-10-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cardinal Web Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young environment that allows you to easily make new friends Plenty of flexibility around work, effort, and time on site Plenty of games to play throughout the office Designated nap room

    Cons

    Executive team is very disrespectful of clients and employees. If you or a client raise a complaint about anything, expect to be immediately dismissed or even fired. The owner is surrounded by people who take advantage of his generosity and kindness. Because he is offsite so often closing sales, the other executives treat the place like it's their own personal recreation room. It is not uncommon to hear executive... members talk poorly about the owner when he is away, talk poorly about the company as a whole, or talk poorly about other employees. Very little pay and opportunities for a raise or advancement. Offer position titles like "sr." and "associate director" to compensate for real benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire executives who are professional and have real experience building successful start ups. You can come from a company that is well known, that doesn't mean you have the right type of approach when it comes to client management, employee management, and direction. Treat your employees with respect, as well as your clients. These two entities are the lifeblood of your company, why not treat them as such?

    Cardinal Web Solutions2016-09-15
Found 35 reviews