Cardno Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardno Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Cardno CEO and Managing Director Susan Reisbord
Susan Reisbord
4 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Geologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and exciting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Compensation could be a bit more competitive.

    Cardno2020-03-14
  2. "Poor Leadership = Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Planner in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Ability to work remotely was great.

    Cons

    As with most engineering consulting firms, senior leadership are not business people or adept managers.

    Continue reading
    Cardno2020-03-08
  3. "Get out as soon as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer in St Leonards
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nothing i can add here to be honest.

    Cons

    a lot of things are wrong. from how engineers design and manage project right up to the management and the way they manage their people with massive staff turnover.

    Cardno2020-02-24
  4. "Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Cardno

    Pros

    Nice staff (below management level)

    Cons

    High staff turnover Too many managers Very low wages No training Very budget driven

    Continue reading
    Cardno2020-01-24
  5. "Be Careful - Dig Deep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly good background in ports and harbors within the USA. Some good references to former clients when putting together proposals for new work. Can work from home since the central office is small (staff)

    Cons

    Mainly Government contracts - therefore risky and little room for aggressive pricing of consulting services Ownership is a venture capital firm, focused on profits which are never big enough . Company seems to be pruning itself for sale (2019) based on conversations with former employees Little interest in exploring markets outside the USA

    Cardno2020-01-08
  6. "Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Cardno full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team members and management

    Cons

    Do not proactively assist with career progression

    Cardno2020-01-03
  7. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, focus on quality and people dedicated to their craft.

    Cons

    Not always as commercially focussed as could be and sometimes a bit too soft on under-performers.

    Continue reading
    Cardno2020-01-03
  8. "Cardno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they have a very flexible schedule

    Cons

    long hours and not compensated for

    Cardno2019-12-09
  9. "Good engineering firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Cardno full-time

    Pros

    Great work experience gained over the years

    Cons

    Decisions of upper management not always in touch with daily operations on the ground

    Cardno2019-11-29
  10. "Cardno Compant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is improving, starting to win major projects

    Cons

    Some existing staff too used to "the status quo" and not interested in progression culture and projects wise

    Continue reading
    Cardno2019-11-26
Found 311 reviews