Cardno "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cardno Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Cardno CEO Susan Reisbord
Susan Reisbord
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Knee jerk decisions made by upper management filtered down to workers with no explanation(in 18 reviews)

  • "Poor work/life balance and understable, bordering on tyrannical senior leadership(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working environment, GREAT people

    Cons

    Not much room for career growth

    Advice to Management

    Richard has not been CEO since August of 2016 - the listing should be more current.

    Cardno2017-11-14
  2. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time

    Pros

    Overall ok company to work for with decent benefits

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive, work environment, communication, turnover

    Advice to Management

    Communication goes a long way. Invest in your employees

    Cardno2019-08-06
  3. "Senior tech CMT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Marietta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits; obviously going through transition but working towards positive goals.

    Cons

    Based on Matietta, Georgia office location (now ATC) poor management; hostile work environment; less than encouraging atmosphere for women in Field Technician roles; bogus investigations into sexual harassment by HR into accused coworkers.

    Advice to Management

    No advice since Cardno sold out to ATC. ATC WORSE than Cardno in all above cons.

    Cardno2018-10-03
  4. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good staff, flexible working environment, depending on office and division

    Cons

    A lot of talk about staff growth and development, little action. High performers tend to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Value people, remove artificial barriers between divisions

    Cardno2018-02-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Cardno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Laboratory Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardno

    Pros

    interesting projects good salary opportunity to work internationally pleasant working environment I enjoyed my time at Cardno. The company has a large presence in the oil and gas sector as a civil design and construction management firm. There are benefits and drawbacks to working for a multi-national firm, and I eventually decided that I would prefer working for a mid-size firm based in the USA that was... more focused in my area of expertise. I would still consider returning to Cardno.

    Show More

    Cons

    large corporate bureaucracy poor work/life balance huge overhead costs cut into funds available for employee raises poor market sector outlook (oil and gas)

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend that management seek to diversify the business more out of the oil and gas sector. I would also recommend cutting through red tape and bureaucracy, which sometimes seemed to occupy more of my time than actually doing my job.

    Cardno2016-11-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work environment at Cardno today is staff friendly with flexible work arrangements, transparency and quality work as the goal in all interactions.

    Cons

    Prior reviews were relevant relative to the old regime, but in the past 12 months significant strides have been made to remedy past sins and focus on what matters most.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on staff, clients and how to develop and provide value to each. Continue efforts on social responsibility and meeting mission, vision and values.

    Cardno2016-03-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company with unlimited opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno

    Pros

    Large, multi-disciplined firm that offers a diverse service offering. Great work environment that provides flexibility while offering opportunities for professional and technical growth. Focus is on clients, rewarding staff and striving to be the best in technical expertise

    Cons

    Recent challenges with management and integration. However the new CEO and the executive leadership team have turned things around and the entire team is now focused on the right priorities

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on clients and people

    Cardno2016-03-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Cardno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cardno

    Pros

    Great people and positive working environment

    Cons

    Poor pay, lack of leadership, low morale likely due to long hours and poor pay, upper management cannot be trusted

    Cardno2016-02-02
  9. "Cardno ATC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Industrial Hygienist in Southwick, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cardno full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice laid back Work Environment.

    Cons

    Management has little to no direction. There is no incentive to do good work. Safety is not as high of a priority in reality as it is on paper.

    Cardno2015-11-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good company with potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cardno full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and flexibility. Employee contributions recognized.

    Cons

    Not too many wins off late and corporate management seems to be out of order.

    Advice to Management

    Strategic vision is critical. Let the individual business operate without much meddling from corporate.

    Cardno2015-10-12
Found 26 reviews