CareDash Reviews | Glassdoor

CareDash Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
CareDash CEO Ted Chan (no image)
Ted Chan
8 Ratings
  1. "10 out of 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership Mission Culture People Professionalism Work-life balance Perks & Benefits Accountability all 10 out of 10s

    Cons

    Maybe a bit more noise in the office. It's quiet in here!

    CareDash2019-04-01
  2. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CareDash full-time

    Pros

    Great community of people working

    Cons

    Too many hours of work

    CareDash2018-07-26
  3. "Awesome company culture and a fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing and SEO 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CareDash

    Pros

    CareDash was a really fun and cool environment to work in. I was a summer intern and then did a winter internship with them. The office is really great - fully stocked kitchen, everyone gets a Macbook laptop to use, segway, massage chair, etc. You can work from pretty much anywhere in the office from your desk to the kitchen, conference rooms and comfy couch rooms for some more privacy if needed. You can take a... lunch break whenever and there are great places to grab food nearby, but there were also catered lunches 2X a week which were awesome! Everyone is respected by each other regardless of their hierarchy and I liked being able to see myself making impactful contributions to the company, even as an intern. The CEO, Ted, is super cool and easy to talk to as well. We went on an awesome company trip to the Vineyard over the summer that was pretty extravagant but also great for bonding with my coworkers. I would have loved to work here full-time but they did not have the revenue to keep me around in the position I was interested in.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some days felt a little slow because I did not have anyone directly managing me (although this is not generally an issue for most positions). Working independently can be great but it is important to have some sort of guidance especially as an intern. Sometimes the office environment got a little too casual with jokes and messing around but that is something that can either be a positive or a negative depending on... your work ethic. Some people were bothered by this while I found it a way to keep things fun in the office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome work environment while making sure that everyone is still pulling their weight and being professional. Individually check in with your employees more often.

    CareDash2017-06-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash full-time

    Pros

    CareDash is a really great place to work. Everyone genuinely cares about each other both professionally and personally, and I enjoy coming to work everyday and spending time with my coworkers. The startup work environment is dynamic and challenging, and CareDash consistently pushes it's employees towards growth and self-improvement. All employees are expected to contribute from day 1, and the amount of... responsibility and trust placed in every employee reflects that. You have a lot of freedom to tackle projects that interest you, and upper management is very transparent and receptive to feedback. I also believe in the overarching mission of CareDash and think that the company will continue to grow and be successful. There are also the typical startup perks including catered lunches twice a week, a massage chair, and team bonding trips and activities. One of the best parts about working at CareDash is the emphasis on a work/life balance. When you're at work, you're expected to work hard and be responsible for what you need to get done, but you also have flexibility over your hours and unlimited vacation. Because of this, I never feel stressed about going to work or feel like I'm drowning in work.

    Show More

    Cons

    CareDash is a startup, and the cons of working here are likely similar to any other young startup. There is a level of uncertainty about the future and job security, and because you have the ability to touch so many different parts of the business, it can be challenging to streamline certain processes or focus on a very specific project.

    CareDash2017-04-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A great workplace for self-motivated people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Data Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office has a pretty relaxed culture, with an office Segway, massage chair, and video games, and working here doesn't have you feeling stressed out at the end of each day. Everyone's very supportive of each other and get along really well, and there are fun office-wide activities fairly regularly. The office gets food catered twice a week, and sometimes more often than that, and the company has two annual... trips (including a ski trip) for all of its employees. Something I particularly like about the analyst position is that there are many different types of roles in the analyst team depending on where your interests and strengths lie, and the management has encouraged me to look for professional development opportunities (courses or conferences) that can help develop my skills in the direction I'm interested in.

    Show More

    Cons

    You probably need to be a pretty self-motivated person to be able to be effective here, since you'll be given plenty of space to work the way you want, which can either work for you or against you. You do also deal with some of the standard cons to start-ups in general, since your salary may be lower for the same position than it would at a larger company, and you'll have less mobility if you want to live in new... places but still want to work for the same company.

    Show More
    CareDash2017-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "You get out of it what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash full-time

    Pros

    - You get a big say in crafting the direction of your career. Management really values having employees work on projects in which they have interest - You learn a lot! One of the core values of the company is having employees continue to develop professionally, and it willing to put resources into that. - Flexibility. You get a lot of say in how you want to work. Management also values employee's personal... lives, and has general policies that allow work life to fit nicely next to any personal life. - It's fun! It's a pretty tight community in the office, and it's celebrated to spend time socializing after work and during lunch. I'm good friends with many folks in the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The loose structure in the office can sometimes a lot of responsibility on employees to know how to succeed/ contribute well to the company. Management doesn't always go out of their way to empower employees to do meaningful work. - If you're someone who prefers going to work and really putting their nose to the grindstone and expects that same attitude from those around you , you'll be disappointed. People put... in the hours and do great work, but it's more laid back. - Company/ team vision can be unclear. You often have to go our of your way to figure out what success means in terms of your work. - Startups have growing pains, and often have structural/ workflow issues that need to worked out, or fires to put out, and Caredash is no different! - Compensation is competitive, especially when starting your career, but not fantastic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on company/ team vision(s) and better empowering employees to realize that vision. Define success!

    CareDash2017-04-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great startup environment with lots of potential for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Laid-back and flexible work environment, both in what you're working on professionally, as well as flexibility about when you come into the office and needed time off. I would say most/all employees do not abuse this, which is rare in my experience. - New ideas or contributions are welcomed and considered. - Room for growth in your career - you have opportunities to discuss your career and its future regularly... with your manager. - Small, collaborative team - we have an open office that makes open communication in person (and over slack!) easy. - Lots of free food and drink.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There's always some risk associated with startups, and CareDash is no different, but no job is a guarantee forever. - CareDash is a fast-paced environment, so new priorities sometimes prevent you from diving deep into other things.

    CareDash2017-04-20
  8. "A positive and productive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at CareDash full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What I like best about CareDash is that the flexibility and ownership mean that I never feel like I'm watching the clock until the end of the day or dreading going into the office. As long as you are getting your work done, you have some control over your hours and you have unlimited vacation. I haven't experienced anyone abusing this at all and I think as a result, people are productive when they are in the office... and everyone seems really happy. I like working in a place where I am friends with my coworkers (but also where I don't feel any pressure to fit a certain mold or to attend certain social events). Being a part of a growing startup is really exciting and allows you a lot of independence and flexibility in terms of your role.

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't really a lot. If I had to give a con, I guess I would say the classic cons of working at a startup and experiencing the growing pains that arise as a company gets off the ground. The management I've experienced has been really positive and there is a lot of communication within the office.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain the current culture and focus on employees even as the company grows.

    CareDash2017-04-26
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Providing Workplace Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CareDash full-time

    Pros

    Lots of free food and alcohol - you can easily have breakfast at the office everyday. There was lunch provided every Wednesday and Friday. There are always some drinks at the office. Analysts typically went out for drinks every week or more on the company's dime. "Laidback" office environment - no one would get onto you if you aren't super focused all day. No one would get on to you for completely goofing off... all day either. No sense of urgency. Very little criticism was ever given. If you are driven, it's pretty easy to set yourself apart due to this atmosphere. Company outings and trips - CareDash takes annual ski and beach trips along with smaller outings about every month to fun activities like trampoline dodgeball or escape rooms. Lots of opportunities for contributions - at least when I was there, there were a lot of projects that you could own and prove yourself on, even as a new analyst. Can take off whenever - you can take as much time off as you want. No one would say anything to you about it unless it was particularly egregious. Good health insurance - I think new employees had to pay 20% of their premium each month, but the rest of the premium was covered by the company. Once you got hired, it was very difficult to get fired. Especially in the analyst role, there was a lot of hand-holding in the hope that you might contribute one day. None of the pros for me were unique to CareDash. Most if not all are easily found in other jobs in tech.

    Show More

    Cons

    Incredibly Unprofessional Environment - Easily the most unprofessional place I or anyone I know have worked at. Racist and sexist comments were routine. There were a few times when coworkers were on the verge of tears due to the incredibly unprofessional things that were said to them. No matter why they left, former employees were bashed as soon as they leave, their accomplishments downplayed, their character... disparaged, etc. It was especially weird because very little criticism was given when an employee was there. In my case, the CEO encouraged me to leave the company because the company’s outlook looked grim. However after I left, the CEO vocally condemned me for being disloyal and cracked inappropriate jokes at my expense at meetings. It may just be a case of really sour grapes, but it is very unprofessional nonetheless and contributes heavily to the toxic professional environment. There is HR there but it was not very effective in detoxifying the environment. Unstable revenue - vast majority of revenue comes from email marketing, which could dry up in an instant. There were many highs and some very lows for revenue while I was there. A tiny fraction of the revenue actually comes from CareDash. This made me question the long-term value of the company and my stock options because it was effectively an email marketing firm that is dumping millions each year into an unproved, unprofitable product. Before joining, you should definitely ask what the current revenue, revenue distribution, and burn-rate. If you have outside financial obligations that would cause you to be risk-averse, think long and hard before joining. Hard work was neither expected nor rewarded - The positive spin is calling the environment "laidback," but there were people who would do very little all day long. I considered that behavior to be not doing your job, not being "laidback." Unfortunately, hard work was not rewarded with differentiated compensation - all analysts made about the same amount. Management would attempt to placate people with a few more points of stock options during performance reviews, but it would not be made worth the effort. It was incredibly disheartening for more driven coworkers, several of whom left in part because of it. When I would bring this up, management would present a false dichotomy of not being able to take time off, getting yelled at for being 5 minutes late vs. the "laidback" environment where some people did nothing week in and week out. It was very frustrating because I simply wanted people to be held more accountable for regularly watching YouTube videos and doing crossword puzzles at work. Projects/Roles Assigned - Management did a bad job of matching people's skills and career goals with projects. There was also often a large divergence in how the role was described to people before joining and what they actually ended up doing. Several people quit due to this. Two examples of project mismatch are CS majors running adwords accounts and math majors making content. It was almost entirely on you to seek out roles/projects based on your skills and career goals, which ought be done or at least helped by your manager. Unchallenging Work - The work was not challenging at all. I felt like my skills greatly atrophied during the time I spent there. Turnover - there is very high turnover. There's a decent chance that your interviewers will no longer be at the company when you actually come on board. The high turnover causes a lot of internal knowledge to be lost and puts people into managerial roles who should not be there. There have been a lot of great, talented people to leave the company in part due to some combination of the cons that I have listed here. The problems with turnover hold true for the company that incubates CareDash, Cogo Labs. Cogo has lost a TON of talent over the past 6-12 months. Compensation - not good. Part of it is in stock options, which you ought do your homework in considering your offer. Management didn't give me an opportunity to even discuss my compensation during performance reviews, which was a contributing factor to me leaving the company. Management - CEO has a very bad habit of saying whatever he thinks will get him out of the situation with seemingly little to no intention of following up on it. Several former employees felt like they were misled by the CEO with regards to their position when they joined. CEO did not seem to have a good idea of people's contributions. Some of the cultural problems were a direct result of the CEO's behavior.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage professionalism. Reward success. Be honest.

    CareDash2017-04-01

    CareDash Response

    April 18, 2017CEO

    We’re always grateful for any feedback, but in this case I encourage anyone interested in a position with CareDash to ask me about this review directly. I’ll leave it at this employee was not a cultural or work style fit for us, and this review serves more to demonstrate that than ...

    Show More
  10. "Great Cultural Fit and New Exposure to the Health-Tech Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting and Administrative Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareDash part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CareDash cares about their employees, their happiness, and the work-life balance. There's a lot of freedom to explore interests in various projects that support the company in different ways.

    Cons

    I do not really have anything negative to say about CareDash. I am really happy here. As for my own personal career aspirations, I would like to be on the other side of the review site.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up everything you're doing because everyone here seems extremely satisfied with CareDash and the work they do.

    CareDash2017-03-23
Found 12 reviews