Career Step Reviews | Glassdoor

Career Step Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Career Step General Manager Derris Moore (no image)
Derris Moore
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you want an honest management team who wants you to win(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The same as any rapidly growing company - there are a lot of growing pains and sometimes you end wearing too many hats(in 5 reviews)

  • "If you're not on the Sales team it can feel like you don't really matter from time to time(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Advisor in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -love my job -love the people I work with -love management -unlimited PTO -unlimited overtime

    Cons

    - some favoritism when it comes to leads, promotions, etc. but not any more than anywhere else -health insurance, 401k, benefits pretty standard -got bought out by a corporation recently and I've seen less spiffs/prizes, commission cuts/changes, less free food/snacks/drinks, etc.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2020-03-26
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Advisor in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is always looking for ways to grow. Our whole mission is to help people change their lives, which really shows in the way the company invests in not only the growth of the sales team, but mostly in improving the experience of our Learners/Students.

    Cons

    If you're looking for a company where standards, policies and structures are NOT undergoing frequent change...this may not be your ideal workplace.

    Career Step2019-11-14
  3. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Lehi, UT
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, Great Leaders, Awesome work Space, Personal Gym, Great Location.

    Cons

    0 incentives for employees, comparatively they invest very little in employees: including incentives, swag, trips, perks, etc.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Basically zero integrity at this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing Manager in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Decent pay, in some cases.

    Cons

    Roughly one half of the company's staff of around 80 was fired and replaced within eight months. Jobs can be lost at the drop of a hat, on a whim, with zero regard for the wellbeing of these now-former employees. Promises are made to "give you plenty of warning in advance and chances to fix the problem" before you are let go. Then, you are let go with complete surprise. Terrible insurance benefits.

    Career Step2019-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Change is Hard, but Worth It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The right people are now in the right positions to help this place take over the industry. Our senior leadership has an excellent vision for the future of the company. Many legacy employees weren't happy with the new direction, but those who chose to stay for the ride are amazing. I'm one of the new(er) folks here, but from what I've observed, management has been extremely transparent and given every opportunity come with. I've had informal lunch with the CEO, we get to ask executive leadership any questions we want anonymously, and they respond via company email regularly. With all the new folks here, focused on our goal to adapt and move towards aggressive growth, there is so much opportunity here. CareerStep was already a good place to be... the future is BRIGHT.

    Cons

    People don't like change; the people who didn't like it were vocal about it, but they have all left. Insurance could be better, but the new HR regime seems to be aware of that.

    Career Step2019-09-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dishonest and unprofessional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess there is free soda?

    Cons

    New management is ignorant. They don't know how their product even works. They also don't care about their employees. Many of the people I worked with there were fired without any notice or explanation. My opinion was that they weren't a good culture fit. They did their jobs fine but they weren't the "silicon valley type". They also had one of their employees become a contractor so when they fired him they wouldn't have to pay severance. Their excuse was that he was moving out of state and they didn't have a business licence in that state. He only worked as a contractor for a month when they fired him. Don't work here

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-08-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t believe the hater reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Advisor (Sales) in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This place is great for people who like to actually do the work they get paid for. Management is extremely transparent and nice. Some of the reviews talk about people being nice and then being fired. They forget to tell you they weren’t working and just complaining. We are growing and adding support to the sales team so of course your quota changes if you now have someone setting you. These people claim they are current employees but are just ticked the gig of gaming the system is up. If you want an honest management team who wants you to win... great place.

    Cons

    Things did change quickly. Takes a while to adjust to change.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "On the right path. But take a step back."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Career Step

    Pros

    Great pay when you hit goal. Warm leads-no cold calling. Location is great. Facilities are nice. Benefits are decent. They have implemented a lot of positive changes in the last year. The product really is life changing and this is a sale you can stand behind.

    Cons

    High level leadership has struggled to show people that they care in a genuine way. Fear is used as a motivation, and passive aggressive jabs and guilt trips are common. Instead of developing and investing in their people they just continue to fire them. The current model seems to be “fire the old and undeveloped, bring in the new and hope they were trained by a great leader before and don’t require any help.” The mark of a good leader is if they can develop people with potential. But if you can’t motivate them or help them grow, time after time, that’s a leadership problem. Not a hiring problem. Some of the people with the most potential have been fired or quit. If leadership can’t develop talent, only try and attract it, they aren’t good leaders. If they can’t make people feel cared about, they will never have loyalty.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-06-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're looking for a company that offers a truly unique and life changing solution, Career Step is that company.

    Cons

    Not a lot of parking spaces

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Change is good. Feed your heavy hitters is better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think sometimes people are hard to please. Some people say things are great, keep it that way, others demand change, but when change comes, they complain that things aren’t the same. You can’t have it both ways. If you don’t like the change, or won’t/can’t change with it, get out of the way. Change is good, even if everyone is t for the change. If the size of your commission check was based on the outcome of the team, instead of individual performance, would you equally divvy our leads to everyone, or give the most to those that close at a higher %? That’s what I thought. If you’re doing well, and closing deals at a higher %, you get more leads. This is how it is on every sales floor, we’re just transparent about it. If you don’t think your current sales floor is, you weren’t closing at a higher enough %. We feed our heavy hitters, but we also make sure our other players get more than enough to hit their number, and exceed it in stride. Great culture that is in the process of being built into something amazing. Everyone here is a part of what it will become... and it’s going to be great. Snack basket, on-site gym, soda, popcorn for days, and a leadership tram that cares about where we want to be, instead of just where we are.

    Cons

    I wish they had more fresh juice options, instead of just soda, or apple juice... orange, or naked juices would be amazing. Technology is a bit behind, and outdated.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-16
Found 54 reviews