Career Step Reviews | Glassdoor

Career Step Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Career Step General Manager Derris Moore (no image)
Derris Moore
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Negative Environment/Bad Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Product for the People

    Cons

    Insurance was pretty bad, no REAL care for people, shamed vacation policy, cussing all the way to the CEO and in interviews, politics...

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-06-11
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Zero Stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It used to be a good company

    Cons

    Sadly everything that everyone else has already posted. You can work 80 or more hours a week, do everything they ask you to do and still get fired. It has happened to employees with tenure. If you are serious about a career, don't come here.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-06-06
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible culture and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well, sometimes they have cake.

    Cons

    So many I don't even know where to start. Management is clueless. They change their mind on a whim and blame others for their mistakes. Live to work is their motto. Need time off? You'll be lucky to get it approved with their new vacation policy. Health insurance comes with a high deductible and isn't work the cost. More than half of the company has been hired within the last year due to that many people quitting or being fired.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Due Dilligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Advisor in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time

    Pros

    The programs themselves can improve students career opportunities, and open new doors for them.

    Cons

    The CEO is very intelligent and taking steps to improve the company in positive ways for potential and existing students. However, sometimes it can be easy to overlook a flaw in the sales leadership that is chasing the almighty dollar at the expense of everything else. If your looking at the Career Advisor Role: This is the ultimate example of a company portraying an OTE that is impossible to attain in an effort to attract and retain top talent. Only two reps ever consistently reach the inflated numbers due to purposeful favoritism. Never any mention or forewarning of the fact you will be working weekends and a new hire hasn't come close to 100% of quota since the new Sales VP took over. To further reinforce the validity of any of this I encourage anyone looking at this to do your own research and contact existing Career Advisors that have been there under 1 year. That in and of itself will be a chore as the turnover is massive. Take the time before making a bad decision.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good people, free beverages

    Cons

    Sales department is in panic mode.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Career Stop - where careers go to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's conveniently located off the freeway, so you can make a quick escape when you decide you've made the worst mistake of your life!

    Cons

    I would give them zero stars if I could. Everyone is working their tails off. Management does not care about work life balance. They try to put the fear of God into you with weekly firings/layoffs. More than half of the company has been let go or quit in the last year. (All of senior management is new and clueless.) Nepotism abounds. Instead of posting jobs and doing valid searches they prefer to hire friends, lovers and spouses, often letting good people go to do so.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some cool people work here.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything all the other reviews said. The company seems to change direction on a whim and good luck if you get caught up in their whirlwind! Management doesn't take responsibility for poor decisions. Just finds a scapegoat. I wished I had paid more heed to the reviews before I came here as now I feel stuck until I find another job. A lot of people are in my same boat and that is bad, if even the new people realize what a crappy place this is.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-28
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Awful culture , wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President in Lehi, UT
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Career Step

    Pros

    Nice office , nice people that work hard

    Cons

    It’s about chasing a number , regardless of situation or people.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Toxix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advocate in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros

    Cons

    If you want to work for a company that expects you to work 80 hours/week this is the company! This place is toxic and it owns you. I wouldn’t recommend this job to my worst enemy.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Like a Phoenix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Career Step full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In my short experience there, I saw Career Step a bit like a phoenix, rising from the ashes of their own success. It's obvious that decisions from years past weren't always made with sustainability and the future in mind. However, my reason for leaving was personal as an unsolicited opportunity came my way. I would have happily stayed at Career Step to further the changes that are being made. The people are sincere, friendly, and genuinely want to do the best they can to help with the skills they have. The office is cheery and modern. Challenges are many, but if you look at them as opportunities to grow and help the company grow, this can be a real plus. The CEO is a particular bright spot. She values honesty and as much transparency as can be provided. She's new enough that she is still working to influence the culture this way, but there shouldn't be any doubt about her leadership capability. My manager was supportive of the direction that I was brought in to affect. There truly is a path forward, multiple ones in fact, so with good leadership in place, there is growth ahead for those who will be patient.

    Cons

    To reference the headline of the review, you can only imagine how painful it is to be reborn. Operational inefficiencies have to be overcome. You must deal with legacy products and procedures. Personally, I have a lot of confidence in the CEO to lead the way through it all, but if you are someone who isn't going to find enjoyment from overcoming these kinds of challenges, or have the patience to endure through them, it's probably not the right company for you. Not everything is figured out, but it's an opportunity for someone to help with that.

    Continue reading
    Career Step2019-02-15
Found 54 reviews