KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CareerBuilder

Engaged Employer

CareerBuilder

Add a Review

CareerBuilder Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,471 of over 2K reviews
3.6
63% Recommend to a Friend
CareerBuilder CEO Susan Arthur
87% Approve of CEO

Found 1,455 of over 2K reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
CareerBuilder CEO Susan Arthur
Susan Arthur
41 Ratings

What people are saying about CareerBuilder

Join the conversation on

Recruiters

2m

a 

Talent Acquisition Manager

Anyone have suggestions for finding niche candidates outside of common career boards lole LinkedIn, Handshake, Minster, CareerBuilder?

33

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management and very outsourced.(in 53 reviews)
  • "level managers have been in place for too long and it's time for them to move on.(in 51 reviews)
  • "poor leadership and imbalance of work distribution(in 49 reviews)
  • "It's a great company but the low pay makes it diffcult to stay for many years.(in 47 reviews)
  • "Low salaries for techies; Too many emails(in 28 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CareerBuilder and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Apr 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is engaged and open to feedback. Surrounded by colleagues motivated to do their best work and have a positive impact on the company.

    Cons

    The organization would benefit from being more agile. It is a work in progress and actively being addressed.

    1 person found this review helpful

    CareerBuilder Response

    Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate your thoughts, and we are glad to hear that you are motivated by your peers and see how your work impacts the company. Thank you for all that you do!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good job

    Aug 7, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Newark Heights, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly co workers Helping others in need

    Cons

    Travel to many assignments and weather

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Place I've Ever Been

    Jul 30, 2022 - Training Facilitator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything has been absolutely amazing

    Cons

    Nothing has been bad so far

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great place to grow your career

    Jul 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with and a great place to grow your career.

    Cons

    The company is moving in the right direction and making the necessary changes to grow in the industry.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    great place

    Jul 14, 2022 - Support Specialist II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great place to work in Chicago

    Cons

    I have none at this time

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture, respect, W/L balance

    Jul 4, 2022 - Customer Success Manager (CSM) in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work, with generally great people. At least in my role, my manager doesn’t babysit me. Having worked in many corporate roles, being treated like an adult that can get their work done without the “helicopter parent” syndrome, is nice.

    Cons

    Commission structure is convoluted and doesn’t always reward individual successes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    CareerBuilder Response

    Great feedback! Thank you for taking the time to review CB. I would love to speak with you further about possible solutions to your feedback regarding comp structure. Please email our HR team directly at hrdept@careerbuilder.com.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great company, lacks communication

    Jul 14, 2022 - Accounting Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management of the accounting teams is the best I had ever had. Understanding, always backs you up, and pushes you to do better

    Cons

    There is no communication. Many changes are made with no prior notice to internal teams causing much confusion for employees and customers calling for help

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CareerBuilder Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review CB. We appreciate your feedback about the accounting team, glad you had a positive experience. I would love to speak with you further about possible solutions to your feedback regarding communication. Please email our HR team directly at hrdept@careerbuilder.com.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Jun 16, 2022 - Talent Aquisition Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best culture and working environment in my adult career. They're doing it right.

    Cons

    The company is quite large and spread out so you have to be comfortable with a certain level of autonomy and personal responsibility. If you need daily accountability to do your job well this may not be it for you. Self motivation is a must.

    2 people found this review helpful

    CareerBuilder Response

    We appreciate your thoughts and we are glad that you are enjoying everything CB has to offer.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Winds of change

    Jun 7, 2022 - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New CEO driving needed change in a hot market. Performance is rewarded. Candor is welcome

    Cons

    Change takes time to get hold after years of navel gazing

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    My time at CB

    Jun 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote, flexibility, insurance, PTO, OT

    Cons

    Personal balance, work overload, lack of training, life & work balance

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,455 Reviews
</>Embed

CareerBuilder Reviews FAQs

CareerBuilder has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 1,517 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at CareerBuilder to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 22% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CareerBuilder employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CareerBuilder. This rating has improved by 17% over the last 12 months.

63% of CareerBuilder employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CareerBuilder 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at CareerBuilder to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with CareerBuilder Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CareerBuilder? Share Your Experiences

or

CareerBuilder Photos

+ Add Photo
CareerBuilder photo of: Collage of recent company events
CareerBuilder photo of: Catered lunch celebrating International Women's Day 2022
CareerBuilder photo of: Team members use their paid volunteer time to give back to their communities
CareerBuilder photo of: Our Noida, India office held a virtual/in-person yoga event to support our employees' mental and physical health
CareerBuilder photo of: Sales and customer success leaders come together in Chicago (and virtually) for a leadership summit
CareerBuilder photo of: Sales and customer success leaders come together in Chicago (and virtually) for a leadership summit
CareerBuilder photo of: Sales and customer success leaders come together for a leadership summit
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Broadbean TechnologyWORKTERRA LLC

Glassdoor has 1,517 CareerBuilder reviews submitted anonymously by CareerBuilder employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if CareerBuilder is right for you.