CareersUSA Reviews | Glassdoor

CareersUSA Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
CareersUSA Chief Executive Officer Marilyn J. Ounjian (no image)
Marilyn J. Ounjian
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many opportunities to learn and contribute, you must be driven and willing to operate your branch like a small business(in 2 reviews)

  • "Work with great people and the Christmas party is very nice(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "They all work in fear from Marilyn(in 4 reviews)

  • "I don't have any complaints about Careers USA(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Top Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity as a sales professional.

    Cons

    Enjoy the job and prospecting in the field.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not Enough Pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. The people at each branch are friendly and are always willing to help when you ask. Corporate office...it depends on the person you are asking but most people will help you when you need it!

    Cons

    For the amount of work they expect you to do, they are not paying enough. They will always pile on more work and tell you to do things when it is not part of your job description. They don't compensate you for it either and there doesn't seem like there is room to grow.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2019-04-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "THE SINGLE WORST PLACE I EVER WORKED!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CareersUSA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers with whom I could commiserate about the awfulness of this "company"

    Cons

    Horrible micromanagement by a clearly unhappy and bi-polar CEO (Marylyn). The highest turnover I have ever seen, People detest the ownership but they have too fragile of an ego to admit their company is a train wreck.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t do it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like to be micro managed, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Family owned business. Can you say nepotism?

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2019-02-02
  5. Helpful (5)

    "No Words for this dysfunctional (with a Capital "D") family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CareersUSA full-time

    Pros

    That former employees had the courage to come forward through Glassdoor to warn prospective candidates of the horrors of CareersUSA.

    Cons

    That candidates disregard these posts that have the same thread running through them, and instead, listen to the spin that the owners put on these comments.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2019-02-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "they call themselves religious but they treat employees as the devil would"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    you get a paycheck.

    Cons

    Been there years working at the site they send me to and they give me no raises, no benefits, not even 1 paid sick day, much less paid vacation. I have to work every day of the year except holidays and then i get NO holiday pay. That is not humane and it's not right. Am I working in America or a 3rd world country? They sent me a religious Christmas card. Is that card supposed to make up for NO raises and NO benefits?

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2018-12-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Branch Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Assistant in Media, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CareersUSA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the Account Executive and Branch Manager.

    Cons

    I have never worked at a company who treated their employees like they are not needed or respected I have worked at companies who respected each and every employees from CEO to janitor with care and made each feel valued. This company does neither

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2018-11-05
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Marilyn the owner needs help....MICRO MANAGEMENT Warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping people attain satisfaction in their job search.

    Cons

    Sales Directors and above report to the owner who lives and operates her Branch in Florida. The owners family basically runs the entire operation from their in an erratic and confusing manner. NO chain of command. They put you through a tough process to hire you and you think to yourself...wow....this is a good operation....and then you start to work there and realize that it’s too late. They LIE to you and promise you that you can make more money when you Can’t. The basic reason you can’t accomplish this is because they do not give you the real support you need. Meaning allow you to hire the correct amount of office staff. They expect you to do the work of 10 people. Sure middle management will agree with you and talk about the owners (negatively) in Florida but the truth is they can’t help you. They all work in fear from Marilyn. They take their nice checks and send you emails about doing better job! You know what rolls down hill here at Careers USA. They let subpar employees stay on board for weird reasons. They use antiquated equipment. Upper management from Florida including the “owner” will berate your and talk to you like your a chikd. Middle management never sticks up for you or backs you. This is all true information and I don’t have enough time to accurately describe all the bull that gos in here. The owners will not help you every chance they get so keep that in mind if your dumb or desperate enough to take the job. Remember that money isnt everything. I’m just trying to warn you to keep moving and trust your gut. These people are bad news.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2018-09-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Careers USA is good for temporary position for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CareersUSA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got a job within a few weeks of the initial interview with careers. Communication was great.

    Cons

    The direct deposit system is not great. That needs improvement. Pay rate is not great.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2018-06-04
  10. Helpful (12)

    "I WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CareersUSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers who share your discontent

    Cons

    Everything. Worked in Boca for several years. Terrible people, everyone hates their job, terrible organization, doing more work for no money. There is a reoccurring theme here, as you can see...terrible. The temps are getting jipped out of money, barely making minimum wages while Careers profits ten dollars on top of that. My ethics were challenged daily. I needed to be able to sleep at night. Glad to say I finally can now.

    Continue reading
    CareersUSA2018-05-31
Found 47 reviews