Cargill Business Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Cargill Business Analyst Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cargill CEO David W. MacLennan
David W. MacLennan
7 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Hopkins, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at Cargill for more than a year

    Pros

    The people on my team were great to work with. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. I learned a lot, dress code was more relaxed in the Hopkins office and they were fairly flexible if there was any reason you needed to work at home.

    Cons

    Parking got pretty tight unless you got there early. I can't think of anything else specific to Cargill itself.

    Cargill2019-08-14
  2. "Challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse projects opportunities for working

    Cons

    Not for people who need direction and lack self motivation

    Cargill2019-02-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Shared Services Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Wayzata, MN

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Training classes to help with your continual development

    Cons

    Leadership changes need to happen more frequently when performance is not met

    Advice to Management

    Manage expectations and accountability to ensure execution is done correctly.

    Cargill2018-10-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    Allows you to transfer between departments easily within the company. Laid back environment. Lots of opportunities to try new things. Management is very approachable.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than market average. Technology is old. Hard to climb the corporate ladder. Benefits are not as good as some other companies.

    Cargill2016-09-01
  5. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great people, great community involvement.

    Cons

    Not paid as well as I should be for work experience and years employed.

    Cargill2016-08-25
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid company with good culture. Employees are treated with respect. Good salary and benefit package. Global company, with opportunities to work abroad if desired.

    Cons

    Very large company, so they're slow to react. Although the company has many different businesses within, moving from one to another doesn't seem to be supported, so opportunities are limited. Their IT area is a mess, with restructuring and massive layoffs in the past few years. Seems there is no end in sight.

    Advice to Management

    Rather than reacting once every few years with massive re-organization and internal changes, I would recommend smaller changes on a more regular basis. Disrupting the entire company from top to bottom does have its benefits, but the employees take a beating and morale is lost with drastic changes. It was really sad to see hundreds of really good people let go in the past two years, up until the time I was became one of...

    Show More
    Cargill2016-03-16
  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Business Analyst in Wayzata, MN
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, great atmosphere to work in

    Cons

    at time there's a long period of downtime in between projects

    Cargill2016-03-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not like it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Hopkins, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional environment Great people to work with Great building and gym on site

    Cons

    Leadership is mixed, ever changing plans, schedules. Things change day to day. Don't care about employees like they used to - bottom dollar is money not the employees that help them make that dollar

    Advice to Management

    Take a breath and step back before making decisions

    Cargill2016-02-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you work hard and have average or better skill, Cargill will try to help you reach your full potential, helping you find a place you are passionate about.

    Cons

    Cargill has become increasingly like public companies, letting good, dedicated people go when the company experiences short term financial stress. This is a recent cultural development in Cargill.

    Advice to Management

    Do not think it is wise to be like other public companies. Cargill always aspired to be better than, not equal to them. Don't lose the reciprocal dedication from employees that only follows from Cargill's dedication to them.

    Cargill2016-02-19
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Waste of 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Hopkins, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Insight into what the business environment was like in the 80s- early 90s

    Cons

    That aunt you can't stand, that stepford neighbor who is eerie on second glance, that co-worker who seems to get by doing nothing, that kid in elementary school who used to cut the line, the worst manager you've ever had, Trump supporters, the type of person who loves hearing themselves talk, that person who has too many complexes to count, that one person with simplistic labels for everyone, that person who things smoking...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's really easy to tell someone how to do something, to teach and include your employees is something management is not prepared to handle.

    Cargill2016-02-12
Found 38 reviews