Cover image for Caribou Coffee
Logo

Caribou Coffee

Engaged Employer

Caribou Coffee

Add a Review

Caribou Coffee Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,355 of over 1K reviews
3.6
63% Recommend to a Friend
Caribou Coffee President and CEO  John Butcher
71% Approve of CEO

Found 1,353 of over 1K reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Caribou Coffee President and CEO  John Butcher
John Butcher
172 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Free coffee, good start, flexible(in 81 reviews)
  • "Discounts and can meet some pretty great people(in 81 reviews)
  • "Flexible with school schedule and great coworkers(in 73 reviews)
  • "The hours are flexible and because of that I can volunteer and do other things.(in 67 reviews)
  • "The benefits of a free drink per shift are nice and overall the customers compared to other stores are for the most part well mannered.(in 59 reviews)
Cons
  • "low pay and they don't give you many hours(in 114 reviews)
  • "poor management and few hours(in 81 reviews)
  • "If you end up with a bad manager it can make your experience a living hell(in 65 reviews)
  • "Managers can be very pressured by upper management and a bad manager may pass that down to employees(in 32 reviews)
  • "Saw a number of excellent store managers, shift supervisors, and team members fired arbitrarily, and in an unethical manner (fired for silly, insignificant missteps as a cover(in 30 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Caribou Coffee and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pto

    Nov 23, 2022 - Assistant General Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caribou has really nice benefits I was able to use my PTO for a complete week using 40 hours of PTO when I was on Covid leave. Overall I really love the company they pay really well and I don’t feel like I’m just a NUMBER! I actually feel human and appreciated but my superiors.

    Cons

    there is a lot of gossip at not only the store I work at but a lot of the other caribou stores’s it seems that all the employees do is gossip and talk trash about one another instead of handling their issues like adults and bringing their issue to the person they seem to have it with. Caribou hires all people and everyone is looked at equally ! However it seems like they tend to hire alot of The LGBTQ community so if your apart of that community then you can definitely get into caribou without a doubt.I personally don’t have an issue with The LGBTQ community I do feel like they do wear their emotions on their sleeves and that causes alot of friction not just at my store but alot of other places I’ve been too.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stressful workplace

    Nov 25, 2022 - Barista in Onalaska, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was very happy in the beginning: Decent pay for the role ($15 per hour plus split tips), free shift drink, and somewhat flexible scheduling make it a great starter position. Seeing daily regulars and working with some of the team members as well as the assistant manager also made my shifts go by quickly.

    Cons

    Cons: STRESSFUL. Constantly being understaffed, being pushed to stay past your shift times due to no call no shows, and workplace drama pushed a lot of the good people to jump ship. Management also made it difficult to want to stay an employee- there was a huge level of disconnect between the staff and general manager. All blame for poor performance of the store seemed to be placed on the staff's "lack of work ethic" rather than on poor training and lack of support for team members. I actually had my general manager tell me about a personal issue another team member had brought up to her in confidence and then explain that she "didn't care about their feelings" and that she "had a business to run". Another con is their benefit package- in order to begin collecting PTO, I had to work 6 months. Not ideal for parents, as any shift missed due to illness/family emergencies/etc. meant losing out on a day's work. I ended up leaving Caribou after spending months as an anxious mess, and wouldn't recommend the job to anyone until Caribou begins to hold their management at a higher standard.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Caribou Coffee team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    DO NOT WORK HERE

    Oct 15, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing. Please, go find a different place to work. ANYTHING is a better option than this.

    Cons

    I don’t think I know better, I just know that this is not the place you want to work if you care about your job at all. There is ZERO opportunity to move up at all in this position, as they would rather hire cheaper employees, no matter how great of an employee you may be for them. I worked an entire year and begged for a raise on more than one occasion, and each time I was told I was lucky to make what I make. What a waste of my time. It’s all about saving money for them, and having zero appreciation for employees. We raised our prices three times throughout the year, and I still couldn’t get them to raise my pay ever! You also won’t get the shifts you desire if you are a manager there. I thought I would be working mornings like I requested, but since my boss wants those shifts, they get them. This is also an issue because the tips you make are obviously better for the people that work the mornings. Working for Caribou coffee has been one of the worst experiences with a company I’ve ever had.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good enough

    Nov 17, 2022 - Shift Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -flexible hours -good customer and coworker interactions -free shift drink -free weekly coffee beans

    Cons

    If they are short staffed they will overwork who's left into the ground.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Flexible and fun

    Sep 18, 2022 - Shift Lead in Elk River, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job has flexible hours and is overall just a very pleasant place to work. I love the atmosphere and getting to meet and talk to new people every day.

    Cons

    The pay is not super great, though tips do help. Corporate can also be a bit frustrating sometimes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Very Fast Paced, but Enjoyable

    Nov 27, 2022 - Sales Floor Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tips are nice, and you get a shift drink, free drip coffee, and half pound of beans

    Cons

    Performance pressure, extremely busy times, single drawer accountability can be intimidating

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome

    Nov 9, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people. Awesome atmosphere. Great people.

    Cons

    It does get a little bit hectic sometimes. But otherwise it’s cool.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Decent

    Nov 5, 2022 - Shift Leader in Fargo, ND
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible if you find a good crew stick with it.

    Cons

    Some GM’s aren’t the best but it’s an easy job if you can be on your feet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Barista

    Nov 22, 2022 - Shift Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved expanding my knowledge on coffee and getting to know all of the regulars!

    Cons

    Getting time off was very difficult and towards the end, management was very hands-off on my store's location.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Its fun

    Nov 6, 2022 - Shift Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule . Fun Interacting with characters .

    Cons

    Not too much of a coffee drinker.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,353 Reviews
</>Embed

Caribou Coffee Reviews FAQs

Caribou Coffee has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 1,373 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at Caribou Coffee to a friend and 49% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Caribou Coffee employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Caribou Coffee. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

63% of Caribou Coffee employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Caribou Coffee 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Caribou Coffee to be workplace, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be career development, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Caribou Coffee Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Caribou Coffee? Share Your Experiences

Caribou Coffee logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Caribou Coffee Photos

+ Add Photo
Caribou Coffee photo of: Our Purpose At Caribou!
Caribou Coffee photo of: Serving The Communities With Love
Caribou Coffee photo of: Serving Safely and Responsibly
Caribou Coffee photo of: Serving The Communities With Love
Caribou Coffee photo of: Team Members At Store 1305 With Their First Uber Eats Order!
Caribou Coffee photo of: Some photos from BouCon 2020!
Caribou Coffee photo of: Getting Ready To Open A New Cabin Location In Willmar, MN!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Einstein Noah Restaurant GroupBruegger's Enterprises, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Caribou Coffee Job Seekers Also Viewed

General Mills Logo
General Mills

4.1

3,837 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,373 Caribou Coffee reviews submitted anonymously by Caribou Coffee employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Caribou Coffee is right for you.