Carino's Italian Grill Reviews | Glassdoor

Carino's Italian Grill Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Carino's Italian Grill President & CEO Creed L. Ford III (no image)
Creed L. Ford III
17 Ratings
  1. "Waiter/Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill

    Pros

    Good tips and encouraging management, 50% off employees and 30% off total ticket when dining with a group. Great teamwork, good food

    Cons

    No Growth, but then again its a server/waiter position.

    Carino's Italian Grill2015-12-05
  2. "Carino's life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Carino's was my first experience in a large chain restaurant, I have always worked at mom and pop restaurants. I was surprised to find how efficient and cost conscious the company was.

    Cons

    Long long long hours, but that's the way restaurant life is. Also the company has faced some financial issues and closed down many locations.

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2015-10-19
  3. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Lake Jackson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill part-time

    Pros

    Flexible with school, easy to move up if you're a good employee, used to have good training. Can make cash if you want

    Cons

    Extremely cheap. Would choose what liquors to buy and what not to buy even if it meant just not having something for the week. Training is now trash, and so is management

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2015-06-21
  4. "Catering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers. Training. Opportunity. Food. Guests. Caterings were fun, and rewarded us well.

    Cons

    Management could use a boost in experience and training.

    Carino's Italian Grill2015-05-22
  5. "blah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill

    Pros

    food foood food bread nothing tips

    Cons

    starvin no breaks tables of twenty to one person

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2015-06-17
  6. "Very challenging job...........as far as patience is concerned!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Food, fantastic. Decor and ambiance really worked for Italian chain. Systems and IT, always on the cutting edge. Advanced my knowledge in the business by a great deal.

    Cons

    Way too many changes. Confused guests, staff and management about the concept. No one ever knew what was going on or why. Lost sight of what made us successful, stripped employees of dang near all benefits and lowered compensation guidelines as well.

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2015-03-23
  7. "Average Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Catering Coordinator for 25K/Year : ( in Houston, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill

    Pros

    Good in house management and co workers

    Cons

    Financial restructuring within the company led to 33% less income for supervisory position. No foreseeable changes in pay structure.

    Carino's Italian Grill2015-02-13
  8. "Don't waste your time. They'll be closed soon."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Coordinator in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employees except for some of the upper management. Most of the corporate heads are under qualified and have absolutely no idea how to run a restaurant, so it's easy to stand out and look like a star.

    Cons

    It's a failing concept so doing your job is difficult because you're being cut back on hours and sufficient supplies. Management will cut down any employee about to go into overtime even if others have to pick up the load and even if customers don't receive proper service. (No wonder they're failing,) Upper management is rude and largely unprofessional. The first thing the area director said to me was "Who are you?" Not "Hi, I'm this person and I'm the area director." "It's nice to meet you, what's your name?" Bad first impression for sure. They seem to lack the understanding that the employer/employee relationship is a two way street and both parties need to feel satisfied. They seem to want to accumulate a staff that will tolerate being overworked and under-appreciated and that will be a happy slave.

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2014-11-26
  9. "Good people, but complete lack of vision and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carino's Italian Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, loyal restaurant operators, decent product.

    Cons

    Zero leadership - no one is running the actual business. Nepotism is keeping this company from getting better.

    Continue reading
    Carino's Italian Grill2014-07-11
  10. "Great Team to be apart of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carino's Italian Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent tips, managment generally friendly, I really enjoyed being apart of that team.

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers could get a little snippy.

    Carino's Italian Grill2014-03-12
Found 39 reviews