Carle Foundation Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Carle Foundation Hospital Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Carle Foundation Hospital CEO James C. Leonard
James C. Leonard
67 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Urbana, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall friendly culture and staff, raises yearly, good benefits for full time, opportunities to transfer

    Cons

    One department I worked in seemed understaffed much of the time, too much work was given to our team.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2018-04-05
  2. "PSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition assistance, health benefits are not bad

    Cons

    Not flexible in schedule, micromanaging, more concerned about press ganey scores than realistic functions in the office, unhealthy workplace relationships (gossip and favorites)

    Carle Foundation Hospital2018-03-29
  3. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tuition assistance , unlimited overtime for patient care staff.

    Cons

    Decent wage only obtained through working overtime.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2018-02-10
  4. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Scientist in Urbana, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Yearly bonuses and raises

    Cons

    my specific department is unstructured and no one is held accountable.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2018-02-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Awful culture and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Urbana, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cafeteria is open 24/7. Nursing staff works 12 hour shifts which gives more days away from the facility which is needed to recharge.

    Cons

    I am actively seeking other employment. Carle has a God complex culture which takes patients out of their own decision making. Carle would rather force somebody to do things their way by any means necessary, including chemical and physical restraint rather then allow them direction of their medical decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Wise up you are not above the law and do not get to make decisions against what a patient wants. People matter more than the bottom line.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2018-03-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good but be cautious in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Person in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Carle was good, I was there 3 years and nearly all the departments were pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    A challenge of working in IT is the manager. Show you have a back bone or they will walk all over you. Show too much and you become a target.

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation for staff

    Carle Foundation Hospital2017-12-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work minus the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time

    Pros

    They are doing great things with healthcare. Awesome patient outcomes.

    Cons

    If you want to move up its all about who you know instead of who can do the best job.

    Advice to Management

    Look at all of your applicant pool. There have been a lot of great potential employees slip right through your fingers.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2017-12-26
  8. "Just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time

    Pros

    People were nice, nice benefits

    Cons

    Had to work extra hours no extra notice

    Carle Foundation Hospital2017-12-28
  9. "T6 staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Joliet, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent team work by all departments. A learning/educational hospital which allows for continued improvement.

    Cons

    Largely diverse population of patients due to the University nearby.

    Advice to Management

    Continue educating you staff--all departments.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2017-11-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Ambulatory Care RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Nurse Staff Nurse in Urbana, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carle Foundation Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Established relationships with patient caseload

    Cons

    Political. Cut throat. Suckups to Management. Department manager non clinical: more interested in carpets and wall hangings than the filth: the fast turnover of patients: not versed in best practice gold standard care. Did not support nurses indeed did not know our job description. Had favorites who soured and reported. Sick non cohesive environment. Layoffs common Nov-Dec. cheap wages

    Advice to Management

    Hire clinically experienced leadership for each department : true nedical professionals.

    Carle Foundation Hospital2017-12-18
Found 125 reviews