Carlile Transportation Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Carlile Transportation Systems Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Harry McDonald
6 Ratings
  1. "Risk Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people from executive leadership to the guy you pass in the hallway. Very family oriented environment. The company culture encourages everyone to do the right thing first and foremost, this includes taking on safety responsibility to making the right ethical choice - even if it is the hard way.

    Cons

    I can't work for them from Los Angeles.

    Carlile Transportation Systems2018-10-09
  2. "The rare trifecta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems full-time

    Pros

    Job title/function/area will largely determine one's view, somebody in a "good" department might not see the true face of Carlile.

    Cons

    The rare triple feat of racism, blatant disregard for safety (despite what they say they preach), and unethical behavior. All either supported or ignored by upper management.

    Carlile Transportation Systems2019-05-10
  3. "A home grown AK company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Management. Response is slow to the concerns of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid the "busy" work and focus on the human element of employing Alaskans. Good customer service starts with teaching and serving the employee.

    Carlile Transportation Systems2017-02-17
  4. "Where I started my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Specialist in Fairbanks, AK

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Carlile is involved in a very diverse array of business ventures. This provides any employee willing to apply themselves a vast amount of training/experience opportunities.

    Cons

    In my experience, they didn't work hard enough to retain long term, dedicated employees.

    Carlile Transportation Systems2016-09-07
  5. "A great place to work for, with a lot of opportunity for growth within the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, culture of safety and wellbeing. Very supportive environment.

    Cons

    Some people in positions of power should be evaluated, not all know how to properly lead employees

    Carlile Transportation Systems2016-05-28
  6. "Save yourself time and pass them on by..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of knowledge from tenured employees

    Cons

    High leadership turnover, lack of transparency and communication to employees, lack of consistency in process and procedures

    Advice to Management

    Listen and take advice from staff, have a solid vision or strategic plan that is shared with the employees

    Carlile Transportation Systems2016-04-12
  7. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems

      Pros

      Great people to work with, family oriented atmosphere

      Cons

      Some departments had poor management which affected other departments

      Carlile Transportation Systems2016-03-29
    • "So so"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Carlile Transportation Systems for more than 5 years

      Pros

      President of company shows face once in a while, newer trucks. Newer trailers. Parts department seams to have what drivers need on a daily basis. Really like the shop manager.

      Cons

      The workers in the shop seem to have a really bad attitude especially the shop forman in the truck shop. Seem to use old used parts instead of getting new ones to fix vehicles.

      Advice to Management

      I would ask your employees what they think and actually listen.

      Carlile Transportation Systems2016-03-14
    • "Dock worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sargent, Master Driver in Colorado Springs, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Carlile Transportation Systems for less than a year

      Pros

      Great place to gain some knowledge

      Cons

      Horrible promotion rates and they treat the employees kinda unfair

      Advice to Management

      Revise the lower management

      Carlile Transportation Systems2016-01-28
    • "Great experience great training great opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Line Haul in Anchorage, AK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Carlile Transportation Systems full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay good benefits good company Newer trucks They will train you if put in time and effort

      Cons

      Lots of run down trailering equipment To much maintanence checks put on drivers instead of company shop.

      Advice to Management

      Like haul should not have to work in yard breaking sets after driving for 15 hours and having been on duty for 4 more hours. Line haul would be more efficient if they spent more time driving and less time dealing with mechanical issues that should have been fixed before driver ever got hands on the equipment for the run. Some times we don't start driving for 2 or more hours after we are told to be there because of dispatch...

      Show More
      Carlile Transportation Systems2015-08-03
    Found 14 reviews