Carlos Rosario International School Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Strong Mission Driven Organization

    Feb 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong Mission Driven Organization Great students and wonderful, dedicated staff

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult to achieve

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Crossing the line - that's a direct quote

    Feb 28, 2021 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission is excellent, the students are greater. The organization has many talented, inspiring staff who are passionate about service and education.

    Cons

    The same thing cannot be said for the organization's CEO. She routinely insults staff and boldly admonished staff using school-wide emails. The CEO proudly responses with language like, “crossing the line” and “jumping the gun” in response to numerous staff calls for transparent diversity work. The CEO silences many staff requests for transparency and she is tremendously elitist. She prioritizes relationships with likeminded board members and individuals loyal to her over hard working staff and rarely engages with students. Additionally its worth noting that though this organization serves 98-99% black and brown immigrant students, the executive leadership has only one immigrant member. Turnover of extremely qualified black and brown teachers and staff is extremely high. The CEO is constantly trying to "do better" and keep her “eyes wide open” regarding transparency and bullying but I failed to see any real progress in my years there. Carlos Rosario School had MANY opportunities to elevate the voices of their diverse staff but each attempt fell flat every time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Place to start not to stay

    Jan 22, 2021 - Anonymous - Former Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The students are committed to overcoming barriers in order to reach their goals. The students are respectful and help foster a lovely learning community. The principals work really hard to provide support to the teachers and the staff. The Career Services department provides incredible value and support to the students. The teachers and paraeducators are also amazing.

    Cons

    The CEO is disconnected from the needs of the students and the staff. She is an elitist. The Chief Human Resource Officer is a bully and very unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Carlos Rosario International School Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and thoughts with us. We take all comments positive and negative seriously and are reaching out to you because of the issues you are raising. We are glad, however, your experience shows that students are indeed at the center of our mission. We are at our core, as a School, and as individuals, committed to continuously foster a safe, compassionate, and empowering environment for our diverse student community. During these difficult times, we have done our best to offer numerous spaces for staff and faculty to stay informed about decisions and to share, connect, and discuss items that may arise, including all staff town-halls, staff bulletins, and numerous virtual office-hours with our CEO. We continue our open-door policy and encourage any and all individuals from the school or the community to directly voice their concerns to a manager, HR, or the CEO. This policy has been in place and has not changed. We know that the past year has been hard to adjust to for everyone, and we continue to work together - staff, faculty, and students - as we fiercely address and advocate for rising needs in our community. We strive to provide our students the best possible experience in adult education and support to our team members. We look forward to your considering giving us a call, in this way we can perhaps improve in any area as appropriate. We value your input. In service, Allison Kokkoros, CEO

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great community

    Dec 10, 2020 - ESL Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community; supportive colleagues and administration; meaningful work

    Cons

    Odd work hours due to class times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work

    Oct 30, 2020 - Program Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, very friendly and nice employees. They make you feel special. Bonuses were good. PD and training opportunities were excellent.

    Cons

    Competitive to transition into a new role.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good first job but poor management and no growth opportunity

    Feb 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good opportunity for the first job - Very welcoming to immigrants

    Cons

    - Management is unprofessional and does not create an inclusive work environment: I am not LatinX and felt excluded on many occasions because everyone was speaking Spanish and management did nothing to help fix the situation, overall a very isolating experience - Agree with other comments in the reviews about the pay gap - upper management makes a lot of money compared to what the staff gets paid, there is not a lot of transparency even though the school is a nonprofit - There are not a lot of opportunities to grow, when you try to move to a different opportunity the management is not very supportive, they will try to keep you in your position. If felt like any opportunity was given to fellow LatinX employees and others were not informed about it

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Wonderful place to work

    Apr 14, 2019 - Academic 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best students! Great tools, resources, professional culture, and fun at work!

    Cons

    Schedules can be tough and they are worth it because it is what the students need

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent

    Feb 9, 2019 - Administrative in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong mission, culture, leadership and amazing students

    Cons

    Schedules can create long days

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Feeling deceived

    Feb 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The absolute best reason to work at the school is the change to work and learn from our wonderful students.

    Cons

    aWe have just learned that the CEO got paid a heinous amount of money. Deferred compensation or not, the average earnings per year are heinous and way out of proportion with other schools like ours. This is an affront to public education, teachers, and students everywhere and to the immigrants we serve. They have broken trust with tremendous salary disparities and it feels like they have used the immigrant community. Killed our morale. If it takes a lot of money to make a leader stay, maybe they're not the right leader. Incentives are fine, but within reason. The money that was paid out could have been put to use in student programming and direct student support. We will rebuild though. We are a strong bunch. Join our workforce if you want to help us make a difference and change the leadership culture here for the benefit of students.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work but leadership needs to be more transparent

    Oct 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are amazing at Carlos Rosario! The teachers are passionate about providing Tier 1 education to the students, the staff is great. The school has a very welcoming environment.

    Cons

    There needs to be more transparency in the leadership team. The CEO only freely communicates with two or three other people in leadership.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Carlos Rosario International School Response

    Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Our School is indeed a very special place, and our work and mission is more important now than ever before. As CEO, I'm always looking to evaluate and improve. We've grown rapidly, nearly doubling the number of staff and students in the past five years. This growth takes a lot of coordination, intentional learning on the part of managers and other team members, and strong feedback loops. We've sought to keep folks well informed in various ways including regular meriendas (chats), the new internal community newsletter, focus groups, and visits to faculty meetings. We welcome suggestions on how to continue to grow and use everyone’s engagement and input to make Carlos Rosario School the best it can be. One of the reasons I love our School is our sense of community, camaraderie, and shared purpose. We all contribute to the "special sauce" that makes our School a phenomenally successful model. Being a Tier One School since the beginning of tiering adult schools doesn't happen by accident. We're a learning organization, and we are never done growing and improving. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, and as always, don't hesitate to drop me an email or stop by my office. - Allison Kokkoros

Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Carlos Rosario International School Job Seekers

Work at Carlos Rosario International School? Share Your Experiences

Carlos Rosario International School logo
or