Carluccio's Reviews | Glassdoor

Carluccio's Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Mark Jones
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free meals, flex schedule, good tips(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work with a great team of people with a "Can Do Attitude"(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, back to back shifts,(in 17 reviews)

  • "It s a very stressful job, and also a lot of hard work(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good restaurant chain concept but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Alexandria, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carluccio's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Often a fun environment with a lot going on in a nice setting

    Cons

    Management didn't keep much organized- from supplies to sanitation

    Carluccio's2017-09-17
  2. "Crazy boss and slow dining room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carluccio's full-time

    Pros

    Minimal training and more freedom than working in a corporate restaurant

    Cons

    You got screamed at by the owner and he also argues with customers causing her not to come back and eat there which affects tip

    Carluccio's2015-05-20
  3. "Good place to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Carluccio's

    Pros

    Nice friendly work environment, good food to eat and usually busy.

    Cons

    Long hours, no real chance of advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Talk more with employees.

    Carluccio's2015-02-27
  4. "Lovely people and fun, everchanging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Carluccio's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lovely, friendly people interactions with customers fun and versatile

    Cons

    sometimes poor management lots of pressure

    Carluccio's2019-06-22
  5. "Great place, Gained Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Management Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carluccio's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always willing to internally promote Great staff environment

    Cons

    Sometimes felt work you did was undervalued

    Advice to Management

    Give more praise and once proven in a role give a competitive salary

    Carluccio's2019-06-21
  6. "Nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Dartford, England

    I worked at Carluccio's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and customer were generally all quite polite.

    Cons

    The pay was not great.

    Carluccio's2019-06-16
  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carluccio's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It use to be a Good salary for the service charge but not anymore...part of tronc now is used to top up the manager's salary... frustrating...

    Cons

    Long hours working with no help

    Advice to Management

    Depends on the branch

    Carluccio's2019-06-02
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carluccio's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Motivation and great team work

    Cons

    Every challenge is an opportunity!

    Carluccio's2019-04-17

    Carluccio's Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    I'm glad you are enjoying the challenge Regards Mark Jones CEO

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fun but big problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carluccio's full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of discounts fun and enjoyable work.

    Cons

    Bullying culture from management with no one to take the matter seriously. Files kept on employees that share managers opinions between themselves. Makes for a very low opinion of employe moral.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and provide support to employees who flag up problems.

    Carluccio's2019-04-15

    Carluccio's Response

    April 17, 2019CEO

    Our HR team will always respond and deal with issues like this professionally and sensibly HR@carluccios.com Regards Mark Jones CEO

  10. "Good company bad management and roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carluccio's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is okay, 1 hour break

    Cons

    Too demanding, abuse, bullying, little training

    Advice to Management

    I was really disappointed working here, I was so excited to start and I got chucked the in deep end with no training. My advice is, Train staff longer, don’t shout at them in front of customers, don’t be too demanding when we’re only getting paid minimum wage thanks very much.

    Carluccio's2019-04-24

    Carluccio's Response

    April 29, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your comments . You should have received much better training and been given time before you were allowed to serve customers directly Regards Mark Jones CEO

Found 110 reviews