Carnegie Hall Reviews | Glassdoor

Carnegie Hall Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Clive Gillinson
19 Ratings
  1. "exceptional organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnegie Hall full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing work happening there! They have some of the best music programming and education work in the country. They train staff on very strong arts administration practices.

    Cons

    It's quite hierarchical, which makes it hard to move up.

    Carnegie Hall2018-04-05
  2. "Carnegie Hall a great place to start, however office culture is abnormal and rigid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnegie Hall part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, excellent concerts, hardworking teams.

    Cons

    While the staff is overall friendly the office culture is abnormal. Employees are vastly socially inept. People walk past each other for days without speaking, and usually when they do, conversations are uncomfortably awkward.

    Advice to Management

    Create a more welcoming and engaging environment for interns in the Spring.

    Carnegie Hall2019-07-11
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnegie Hall full-time

    Pros

    Great environment and people. Work load is fair. Benefits are generous.

    Cons

    Career development is slow. Very Hierarchical.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunity for growth.

    Carnegie Hall2018-09-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Solid training but very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Carnegie Hall full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I received fantastic training under a great boss from whom I learned a ton, and picked up skills that I still use to this day. - Everyone there is very passionate about the performing arts, and free tickets to world class concerts were one of the best perks.

    Cons

    - Below market salaries. Seriously, I don't even know how some of my former colleagues are still working there. I suspect that a lot of them come from well-off families that they don't have to worry about finances but for me personally, the low salary was completely unsustainable. They don't even offer 401(k) for their employees. - Promotions (even vanity promotions) are not linear and really depends on who your supervisor...

    Show More
    Carnegie Hall2018-07-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Should be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Hall full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Historic venue, comp tickets to certain shows, getting to say you work at Carnegie Hall. Fridays off in July and August. Great health insurance.

    Cons

    Senior staff and HR are out of touch with the current needs of overworked and underpaid employees. Long hours with little to no appreciation. High turnover for employees, yet some staff stay too long and should leave. Prides itself on a company culture that no longer exists. No room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees to learn from them and to get a better sense of their needs. Improve lines on communication.

    Carnegie Hall2018-02-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Finance / Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnegie Hall full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff, benefits, and steady schedule .

    Cons

    Salary not market rate for middle and entry level positions

    Carnegie Hall2017-11-05
  7. "Carnegie Hall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Hall part-time

    Pros

    Best place to work. Great company!

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about

    Carnegie Hall2017-09-25
  8. "Greatest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Hall full-time

    Pros

    Carnegie Hall really attracts the greatest, whether it's artists, teachers, or staff. Meaningful work, great time off, and free concert tickets and just a few of the many perks.

    Cons

    Although it is a non-profit, the environment and organization can feel a bit "corporate" sometimes.

    Carnegie Hall2017-09-21
  9. "Alright, but few real complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Usher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Hall part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff is really familiar with each other, everyone from the top to the bottom recognize one another and are cordial, helpful, and kind

    Cons

    Turn over is high and things and people frequently get overlooked for opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Management should help their own

    Carnegie Hall2017-06-07
  10. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Hall full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great leadership and impactful work

    Cons

    it takes a long time for anything to get done

    Carnegie Hall2017-04-16
Found 35 reviews