Carnegie Mellon University "pittsburgh" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carnegie Mellon University Employee Reviews about "pittsburgh"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Carnegie Mellon University President Farnam Jahanian
Farnam Jahanian
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pittsburgh is very boring over the summer(in 62 reviews)

  • "Overall Work-Life balance must be balanced well if you are a student(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pittsburgh"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "CMU ECE PhD Stipends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agente Assicurativo in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stipend is good for the cost of living in Pittsburgh. For the year 2019-2020 the stipend was $36,000/year. The department also considers raising the stipend every academic year to keep up with the rising prices of rent in the area.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to report about being a PhD student at CMU.

    Carnegie Mellon University2020-01-09
  2. "Wonderful, stable place to work and be creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Director, Robotics Academy in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Lots of creative freedom for our team - Get to make a difference in Pittsburgh and the world with our work - Get to continuously learn - Able to balance work and life well

    Cons

    - Can be a lot of work to find sources of funding

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-12-19
  3. "PhD Opportunity in CMU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The living expense at Pittsburgh is quite low

    Cons

    The campus is quite small

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-11-11
  4. "Good professors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good guidance for undergraduate students

    Cons

    Pittsburgh is very boring over the summer

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-07-17
  5. "Worked as a research assistant while I was a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at Carnegie Mellon University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great university. I enjoyed the research I worked on

    Cons

    No specific Cons to address. Pittsburgh is not too exciting of a city

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-07-02
  6. "Good research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of resources and smart colleagues to work with. Life is peace and quiet here in Pittsburgh.

    Cons

    Too many students swarming the professors, you may not get as good a chance to collaborate with the professors you would like to work with.

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-05-08
  7. "Great people, but lack of structured growth opportunities for staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CMU overall has a committed staff, a great benefits package, and many opportunities to work across the university on interesting projects. If you want to work in a university in Pittsburgh, CMU is your best option.

    Cons

    As a staff member, opportunities for professional growth and promotion within the department are often scarce and employees typically need to leave their department in order to move up.

    Continue reading
    Carnegie Mellon University2019-04-08
  8. "good interdisciplinary environment to study energy topics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnegie Mellon University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Passionate faculty and students. Pittsburgh is nice too.

    Cons

    Could add power systems faculty

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-03-18
  9. "Best AI school in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The chance to work with the best AI talents in the world. Supervision from expert faculty in the field.

    Cons

    Really not much. Probably the weather of Pittsburgh.

    Carnegie Mellon University2019-03-06
  10. "Postdoctoral Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnegie Mellon University full-time

    Pros

    A top university that gets better every year

    Cons

    Pittsburgh is not an ideal city to live

    Carnegie Mellon University2018-10-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 111 reviews