Carolina Handling Field Service Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Carolina Handling Field Service Technician Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Carolina Handling CEO Dave Reder (no image)
Dave Reder
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Field service technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The family environment and general good vibes put forth by the entire crew at Carolina Handling was a breath of fresh air. My extensive experience in the automotive industry had bittered me towards the public as a whole. My experience thus far has really restored my faith in humanity and more importantly myself. Thanks to all the folks at Carolina Handling for making me feel like part of the family right out of the gate.

    Show More

    Cons

    The sheer size of the company and volume of information to take in from day one has been quite a bit of an adjustment. Especially coming from the small business sector.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the outstanding work!

    Carolina Handling2018-08-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, they honestly try to make sure the employees are taken care of. I transitioned from the military and have had a good experience so far. As a service technician you are givin alot of freedom throughout the day and you are givin a lot of trust. Good job security as fork lifts are necessary for companys to run. As a technician you can work as many hours of overtime as you would like and there is a close knit between the teams you work in.

    Show More

    Cons

    Biggest complaint is you work long hours unexpectedly, and dont expect any snow days. With the freedom comes the few employees that abuse it. A few of the median section leadership are greedy.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take care of your employees and they will take care of you

    Carolina Handling2018-04-11
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Service tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There trucks are very well set up when you hire on. Best I have ever seen.

    Cons

    You will spend most of your time doing silly computer work on those stupid iPad things. I had 20 years plus in service and it didn't take me long to see the clear picture. The techs have to make numbers up to match there time. At the end of the day you spend much more time having to lie on paperwork to get your hours. Wich is basically stealing. And yes all the techs I worked with did it. The amount of pencil pushing you spend you could rebuild the forklift. So my advise is stay away if you enjoy honest hard work but if you like playing around on an iPad all day go for it. And I would NEVER allow them to service any of my equipment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Throw the stupid game pads in the garbage and allow your techs to earn there livin honestly. Stop forcing your service techs to have to lie on paperwork to fead there family's. But my advise to your company is to just keep doing what your doing and go bankrupt so an honest company can take over.

    Carolina Handling2017-12-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Carolina Handling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Gainesville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture of my company is second to none! Everybody is here helping each other!! It's crazy how much Carolina Handling invest in us techs!!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Carolina Handling2017-06-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Field Service Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Carolina Handling does an excellent job at bringing in good people. The introduction to the vision, company culture, and the expectations is what every company should do. Health and dental benefits are pretty good, and the 401k is great. You're constantly challenged to push yourself and your teammates, which allows for tons of personal growth. There is a lot of autonomy given to associates to do their jobs and to be creative.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company has grown tremendously, as well as the workload. At times, the "Big Picture" gets to be too big of a priority at the middle management level, and interferes with the responsibility of satisfying customer requests. There is a constant stream of changes in our processes that are meant to to help, but often become hindrances, and are almost always worked around. Despite having great financial performances year after year, good performing associates pay increases do not stack up. Competitors are regularly offering 20% more in pay for associates to leave Carolina Handling. The communication gap between management and employees grows everyday.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lead. Listen. Value the input and time of the associates who perform the processes and tasks everyday. The Big Picture should be a beacon we see from afar. It should never interfere with the daily excellence required to exceed the expectations of our customers, and our associates. 2% annual increases do not satisfy the associate who performs well and cares about the continued success of the company. Close the gap of compensation offered by your competitors. Whether it's through truly competitive salary increases, or performance based bonuses; a financial commitment must be made to the associates who commit themselves to your cause everyday.

    Show More
    Carolina Handling2017-04-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They really take care of all your needs and allow professional growth. Unlimited hours if hourly. Office positions may get stuffy

    Cons

    If you stay away from the office politics and the usual office drama (not much of it here though) - you will be in good shape

    Advice to Management

    none

    Carolina Handling2016-12-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for, with good benefits and pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the top, if not the top company to work for in the industry. They strive to be the best and provide their employees the tools and training to be the best. If you want to be successful this is the place to work.

    Cons

    Pay somewhat below the industry but they make up for that in other ways

    Carolina Handling2016-01-24
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None at this current moment

    Carolina Handling2016-01-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "They ask a lot, but they take care of their employees..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation, above average benefits. Extensive training program. Perks beyond wages and benefits.

    Cons

    Administrative paperwork system archaic.

    Advice to Management

    Update to this century and move to an internet or WLAN system of handling administrative paperwork.

    Carolina Handling2015-01-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good job but not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, high accountability keeps production levels high a corrects mistakes before they get out of hand. Pay is good, Team system and territory works well. Company van & special tools. Work from home, flexible hours, good training.

    Cons

    Customer Service Reps. (CSR's) take it in the shorts. Too broad of territory. Unable to stay on top of customer issues until it's too late. Field Service Tech's are expected to be Techs, Salesmen, Complaint Department, CSR, Numbers Chasers and still fix the forklifts.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a "SOP" Standard Operating Plan and stick to it. Don't talk out of both sides of mouth, be honest about the numbers, allow the employee to score high on their reviews. Give quarterly bonuses instead of letting the teams bust their but for 12 months and because goals weren't met in one quarter they get nothing.

    Carolina Handling2014-01-27
Found 12 reviews