Carolina Handling "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carolina Handling Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Carolina Handling CEO Dave Reder (no image)
Dave Reder
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company that cares about their employees and has high expectations that there employees must achieve(in 3 reviews)

  • "Pay is good, Team system and territory works well(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you're employed at this company, you'll soon realize that the upper management only cares if you're in Sales or Service(in 5 reviews)

  • "So my advise is stay away if you enjoy honest hard work but if you like playing around on an iPad all day go for it(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Experienced and Motivating!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carolina Handling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Carolina Handling, I've had the privilege to work with the most personable and encouraging upper-management team of my career. No matter the department or team member, I've always been greeted with a smile and a helping hand. My co-workers are team-oriented and always willing to go the extra mile for someone else. Also, I have truly appreciated the amount of effort Carolina Handling has put forth to include... family members in company events. Carolina Handling is one of the few remaining companies that understands the importance of family and the need to have a tight-knit relationship with team members.

    Show More

    Cons

    I currently do not have recommendations for improvements.

    Advice to Management

    I currently do not have recommendations for improvements.

    Carolina Handling2016-06-09
  2. Helpful (6)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is only based off the 2 years out of 3, but I learned so much about the field, especially coming in brand new to the department. I had a great manager who saw the best in me and knew I could grow with the company. The office associates are the nicest and sweetest people.

    Cons

    Pay could be a lot better at this company. After being here for 3+ years, and only received a total of $1.50 raise is pretty pathetic. This company loves to promise their employees promotions and pay raises, but it's all talk. If you're employed at this company, you'll soon realize that the upper management only cares if you're in Sales or Service. Any other department that works their butts off, receives no credit.... Highly recommend not working for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to the management team is to start listening to your employees. If you haven't noticed already that you continue losing great employees, then obviously you're doing something wrong. Providing fun events will not take care of the problem. Upper management needs to stop acting like it's a fraternity. You can't trust anyone in this company. Once you think you can trust someone, they go and stab you in the... back, even though they claim it's an open door policy.

    Show More
    Carolina Handling2019-01-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Puppets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stability is available if you’re willing to be a puppet. The ability to think for yourself is not appreciated within this company. Upper management gets recognition for their skill of influencing and manipulating employees. This clique has mastered the ability to tell people what they want to hear and act in a way that is just the opposite. The only individuals that will be successful are the ones who don’t notice... the inconsistency.

    Show More

    Cons

    You will get brain washed with the famous sales pitch that the company takes care of their employees but this is a facade. There was a time that the company functioned this way but this mentality has expired. Now the culture consist of one ring master and his staff of puppeteers who are recruiting employees that are easily distracted with smoke and mirrors.

    Carolina Handling2018-05-12
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Once a great company, now going downhill......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Coordinator in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time

    Pros

    Not much except for paid holidays and some great employees to work with.

    Cons

    Everything else is downhill. Once a great company has lost it's vision. If you have no family life this might be for you. Too much to learn and keep up with due to outdated systems/CRM software and management pressure. No fun at work. You can see employees all around stressed out and quite all the time. On top of heavy work load they keep adding more and more. Ultimately the bubble will burst. I have heard of... employees quitting without even giving notices due to frustration. You will be there all day. There is so much work that you have to work through your lunch hour just to catch up. Lately in past 3 years the company is experiencing very high turn over and it takes them forever to hire new employees. Pay is okay, nothing great. You could make more money elsewhere with less stress and work load. There is the old boy culture with this company. If you are in it, you get all the perks and benefits in upper management. Rest can just toil for less pay. Look elsewhere, with improving job market you can find something much better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management could care less about what employees think but here is my 2 cents. Don't expect employees to work like robots, we are humans and have limitations. Offer better pay and work schedule like 4 days / 10 hours so we can be with our family. Offer work from home option also. The new younger generation cares about all this. Once all the aged employees working for the company now retire, the new younger crop of... employees will not buy into this culture. They don't care much about vision and values of the company. They are not into typical 9 to 5 type of schedule or wanting to spend next 20 plus years with the company. The work/life balance has to be much better.

    Show More
    Carolina Handling2017-09-27
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Rental Coordinator - they don't allow for negative star reviews, otherwise this company would get one!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rental Coordinator in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k. The 401k plan was very lucrative and extensive. I believe it is still strong and very beneficial to the employees, but not as grand as they say.

    Cons

    They defiantly talk the talk, BUT do NOT walk the walk. When I first started, I was sold the culture of the company and how much they invest in the employees giving them room to grow. Unfortunately, this is a culture of the past. Since their acquisition by majority partners, this company is a shell of its former self when it comes to its training, employee relations, and upward mobility for educated and... talented individuals. In the particular role I was in I worked countless hours to keep up with demand of an outside sales force that was given preferential treatment from upper management. Upper managements makes it clear through their actions and words that they completely devalue the employees that are not in sales and work in inside administrative roles. Their systems are so out dated and it puts a strain on those processing orders and actually dealing with customer problems and relations. At one point, due to the companies inability to hire talent and/or refusal to increase their staff, I worked 70-90 hours per week to keep up with the demanding sales team and process orders. I was then questioned on my time spent to keep the department afloat and asked why I was working so much overtime. To upper managements own admission, there should have been 3-4 associates working in my role at the time. I was the only one still employed in the department at the time! Not due to firings or layoffs, but due to the fact that this company overworks the associates and puts so much stress and creates a demanding culture that employees left in droves! They cannot keep employees that are talented in positions of need because of their severe mismanagement and overworking of its employees. There is a serious "boys clique" at Carolina Handling and if you are not in that club, mainly sales roles, you are not going to be promoted at all! It's almost as if the clique treats themselves as a private fraternity and will tell you till their blue in the face that hard work, dedication, intellect, and growth is what will allow you to climb the corporate latter at Carolina Handling. Unfortunately, being an incompetent salesmen with an affinity for golf, getting drunk, and strip clubs is what gets you ahead. You could always choose to suck up to upper management and feed their irrational egos. If your in a sales, role or interviewing for one, you have a golden road to act completely incompetent even while giving away company profits to win a deal and putting the onus on inside positions to deliver to customers on unrealistic promises. At best, Carolina Handling is a company in steep decline and living off past reputations. At its worst, it severally struggles to keep up with quality while alienating its employees, customers, culture, and core values that they preach in an interview are still in place. I was ready to give my heart and sole to this company, but they continuously let me down time after time. Please be aware of this company's change in morals and values when interviewing. They will tell you that they are the best and you will end your career there. If you are going out for sales and given a sales territory because your an ex frat boy that didn't graduate, you will love your job. If you apply for anything else besides sales, good luck to you and your sanity if you decide to work there. I highly recommend you reconsider because you will hate yourself within the first four months after that romance period wears off! Upper management and sales are more concerned about overworking you and playing golf more than anything else! The worst part is, they are not even in the top five of forklift providers in quality and ease of doing business! God bless anyone who is still working there or who is considering working there! There is not enough time in the day to speak on how mismanaged this company is! Do yourself and your family a favor and STAY away!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start practicing what you preach and treating employees how you promised you would treat them in the interview process! You could have had an employee for life, but your mishandling of every possible situation left me no choice but to change careers! Good luck and God speed!

    Carolina Handling2017-07-21
  6. Helpful (8)

    "They talk the talk, but don't walk the walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carolina Handling full-time

    Pros

    When you start at this company they really lay it on thick how great it is to work for them. They attempt to live up to it all to a certain degree but it almost feels like a forced company culture. The company has good benefits and tries to take care of employees to an extent. They are growing which is a good in theory.

    Cons

    Company culture felt almost manufactured or fake in away. Heavy screening of new hires gives the office a sense of robot personalities to a degree. Everyone is told how Carolina Handling is the best, but every company says they're the best. They are hell bent on exponentially growing the company yet their methods, procedures, and technology are archaic at best. This causes employees to be further and further bogged... down with administrative tasks. One being their obsession with submitting Help Desk tickets for everything. There have been shakeups in upper management and now finger pointing is coming from the top. Very convoluted messages from management. "Ask lots of questions" vs "We're letting you go because you're still asking questions". I believe HR is writing a lot of reviews on here to make themselves look like all stars. Hourly position's pay are posted as flat salaries on here (red flag).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Coming from a much larger company which grew exponentially from massive acquisitions and growth I can say playing the blame game internally will get you no where. You need to make a massive investment in technology that should have been implemented yesterday. You can't be perfect especially when you grow rapidly. Mistakes will happen. Nobody is perfect and they don't learn at the same pace!

    Carolina Handling2017-06-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dispatch in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Carolina Handling for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some really great people there.

    Cons

    Upper management has questionable morals

    Advice to Management

    Reward, advise and compliment your associates. Don't treat them like a number.

    Carolina Handling2015-11-11
Found 7 reviews