Carowinds Reviews | Glassdoor

Carowinds Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
53 Ratings
  1. "Hard Labor and uncaring people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work there at 16 years old. Get a lot of hours. Discount on food, free pass.

    Cons

    short breaks, managers don't care, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Give time for associates to get to the break area when they work across the park. For females, allow them to carry a small bag for the time of the month.

    Carowinds2019-07-12
  2. "Carowinds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and it has a good management team .

    Cons

    It gets hot while working .

    Carowinds2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Retirement Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Operator in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, work as little or as much as you want. Lots of fun interacting with the guest.

    Cons

    Heat, Short Staffing sometimes makes getting breaks difficult. Seasonal work.

    Carowinds2019-06-04
  4. "Decent job for high schoolers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 

    I worked at Carowinds full-time

    Pros

    Free tickets, promotion ability, fun environment

    Cons

    Primarily run by inexperienced college students

    Carowinds2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work unless you a desperate. They do not protect their employees or safety."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The free park tickets are cool It’s a fast paced environment with a ton of people

    Cons

    I was sexually harassed here, i told HR and full time managers, yet they just fired the employee and tried to ban him they did do everything in their power but, he came to the park the next week and i had a panic attack when i saw him. Corporate Cedar Fair said my issue wasn’t enough to ban him from the park. So if you are a young bright female, do NOT work here or let any other females. This company will not protect...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Protect your employees when they are attacked. Put more protection in the parking lot. Don’t be so strict about availability, it’s obvious you’re short staffed so don’t turn away people who could be good employees simply because they can’t work that much.

    Carowinds2019-05-27
  6. "Good place for high school kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Rides 

      I have been working at Carowinds part-time

      Pros

      Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with.

      Cons

      Management can be slow to adapt

      Carowinds2019-04-14
    • "great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ride Operator in Fort Mill, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      discounts and people are great sometimes to work with

      Cons

      pay is not good at all

      Advice to Management

      please do better with the pay

      Carowinds2019-03-28
    • "full time employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Carowinds full-time

        Pros

        it is a fun time

        Cons

        you will work long hours

        Carowinds2019-03-25
      • "Cool Lil Summer Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Ride Operator in Charlotte, NC
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Carowinds full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Free Drinks Good Food Pretty Girls Everywhere Fun Environment New Friends Welcoming Vibes Chill Job Ride the Rides til you're bored

        Cons

        Annoying Managers Constant Standing Fat Sweaty Entitled Visitors Allot of High Schoolers

        Advice to Management

        Find your chill

        Carowinds2019-03-18
      • "Works teenagers like slaves"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Service Associate in Charlotte, NC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Carowinds part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Joggers employees at as you gas 14, and pays decent for a first job

        Cons

        Excessively long shifts Short and infrequent breaks Incompetent Human Reource department Area Managers abuse their power

        Carowinds2019-02-21
      Found 168 reviews