Carowinds Reviews | Glassdoor

Carowinds Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
49 Ratings
  1. "Uniforms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Carowinds part-time

    Pros

    During the summer there are lots of available shifts.

    Cons

    Communication from management about park rules and policies is uneven. You are on your own to figure out which manager is giving you the correct information about about uniforms, break procedures, accommodating guest complaints, dealing with weather related issues.

    Carowinds2019-01-08
  2. "Not My Best Idea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I’ve tried really hard to come up with something, but even the free tickets and admission to Winterfest were not advantageous as all of my family had season passes.

      Cons

      The interview process is unreasonably long and is specifically designed so they can virtually hire anyone and their brother, regardless of their abilities. Once hired, you attend an initial training session that reviews the general rules of the park/employment. After that, you must sign up for additional training for your department. The department training was absolutely horrendous. As part of your training, you speak...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please train your associates better, it makes it easier on everyone. Fix the break situation;don’t send someone on break when they’ve only been there 10 minutes because that is what’s most convenient for you.

      Carowinds2019-01-29
    • "Lifeguard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lifeguard in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good payment, fun job.

      Cons

      Difficult guests, a lot of sun.

      Carowinds2018-12-09
    • "Perfect for college/high school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Nice place to work at if you’re in college or high school during the summertime. They are very flexible with scheduling and you can work up to 45hrs a week.

      Cons

      Heat during the summer... let’s be real here, nobody will enjoy being outside when it’s humid and 90F The various departments are a mixed bag in terms of management. Some depts are pretty chill and others can have some real asswipes in them.

      Carowinds2018-12-06
    • "It's an okay place to work at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ride Attendant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      If you're in high school, I recommend applying here. It is literally the easiest and most fun job you'll have in your life. I really recommend going into rides because it is the most paid position in the park which starts off at $9.00. If you have nothing else to do in the summer just work here and make your moneys worth of time spent working.

      Cons

      As the season start coming closer to Scarowinds, most employees start to leave because of long hours and make it a little bit difficult for closing shifts.

      Advice to Management

      Management is great, just slow at times, but most of all it is not really fair to make us, those who do not want to go on break go on break ( If we just come in, please do not make us go to break immediately, it is pointless to call it a break if we have not even worked at all yet.)

      Carowinds2018-11-29
    • "Carowinds"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Carowinds part-time

        Pros

        Free admission to the park

        Cons

        mediocre management, low pay, the heat

        Carowinds2018-12-12
      • "Lifeguard"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I worked at Carowinds full-time

          Pros

          Great environment, they train, learn new skills, great resume builder

          Cons

          Long days, long commute, overall good experience

          Carowinds2018-10-10
        • "Fun Fast Paced Job, Good For Teenager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Security Officer in Charlotte, NC
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great co-workers Family-like co-workers Fun Fast Paced Environment Park Discounts/Benefits Fair Upper Management

          Cons

          Rude Customers Bad Hours Low Pay Unusual Shifts Short to little break

          Advice to Management

          Pay security/safety staff more

          Carowinds2018-10-01
        • "Food and beverage associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Carowinds part-time

            Pros

            -co workers are nice and some of the lower level supervisors and you get a lot of hours and time off isn’t hard to get

            Cons

            -rude area supervisors, Not enough pay for work and they don’t do a good job of training people

            Advice to Management

            treat your associates better, and stop giving anybody end everybody supervisor titles!

            Carowinds2018-09-26
          • Helpful (1)

            "It was ..interesting to say the least. Although not a job I enjoyed coming to everyday all day."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Seasonal Ride Operator/Attendant in Charlotte, NC
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            The pros of working here would be scarowinds. It was a great experience, great people , and great process. The pay was good no matter your age and better if you’re a rehire.

            Cons

            If you have a safety violation (regarding your self) that was an accident , you get put on final notice. No warning or verbal or anything like that . Then if something else small happens..BAM, you’re out, fired, kicking rocks.

            Advice to Management

            Get better managers and team leads for the fury ride, thanks .

            Carowinds2018-09-21
          Found 163 reviews