Carowinds "heat" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carowinds Employee Reviews about "heat"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "You get 4 free tickets your first year working after you work 150hours(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "8 hours of intense heat and humidity in a stressful environment leads to a pretty sucky day(in 17 reviews)

  • "Less hours once summer is coming to an end, long hours on holidays, very strict about rules such as having phone on you(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "heat"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Pretty Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -free tickets after you work a certain amount of hours -discounts -great place to meet people

    Cons

    -the heat -long hours of work -rude customers

    Advice to Management

    organize!! communication!!

    Carowinds2019-02-21
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ganes Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked hard for them last year and I went back this year had to go through the group interview and everything and they denied me for lack of participation in a group interview. I was shocked because we had the same questions as last year. What a waste of time!!! That’s why the turn over rate is high. It’s a slave plantation!!

    Cons

    Everything. Heat! Standing up for hours, you may be scheduled to work from 11-6 but they send you home at 1. Or you may go to work at 2 and they’ll send you home by 5. What a joke

    Advice to Management

    If you have staff that worked there and go through the same exact group interview and know what the interview is about you shouldn’t have people judging them saying they have lack of participation. I think some of your people are racist

    Carowinds2019-02-11
  3. "Not My Best Idea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I’ve tried really hard to come up with something, but even the free tickets and admission to Winterfest were not advantageous as all of my family had season passes.

      Cons

      The interview process is unreasonably long and is specifically designed so they can virtually hire anyone and their brother, regardless of their abilities. Once hired, you attend an initial training session that reviews the general rules of the park/employment. After that, you must sign up for additional training for your department. The department training was absolutely horrendous. As part of your training, you speak...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please train your associates better, it makes it easier on everyone. Fix the break situation;don’t send someone on break when they’ve only been there 10 minutes because that is what’s most convenient for you.

      Carowinds2019-01-29
    • "Perfect for college/high school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Nice place to work at if you’re in college or high school during the summertime. They are very flexible with scheduling and you can work up to 45hrs a week.

      Cons

      Heat during the summer... let’s be real here, nobody will enjoy being outside when it’s humid and 90F The various departments are a mixed bag in terms of management. Some depts are pretty chill and others can have some real asswipes in them.

      Carowinds2018-12-06
    • "Carowinds"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Carowinds part-time

        Pros

        Free admission to the park

        Cons

        mediocre management, low pay, the heat

        Carowinds2018-12-12
      • "Good Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Carowinds

          Pros

          Great place for a first job.

          Cons

          The heat during the summer and the employee food.

          Carowinds2017-03-27
        • "My Experience Working at Carowinds"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Merchandise Associate in Charlotte, NC
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          It was wonderful! I loved moving around the park. You never know what you're going to be doing or where you're going to be working at that day.

          Cons

          The heat is horrid in the waterpark, and you never know what time you're going to be getting off.

          Carowinds2017-01-24
        • "My Experience at My First Job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Games Associate in Charlotte, NC
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I made new friends easily, it is good experience in customer service/ retail, the people who work here are extremely friendly, and they really try their best to make sure the associates have a great time working there.

          Cons

          The heat (but that's nothing you can control), the guests, and the food at coasters

          Advice to Management

          Get better food at coasters

          Carowinds2016-11-02
        • "Games associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Carowinds full-time

            Pros

            Free entey to the park

            Cons

            Outside in the heat

            Carowinds2016-08-17
          • "Okay but wouldn't recommend."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Games Associate in Charlotte, NC
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            I worked in games so we got payed the lowest from what I hear but it's was $8/hr It's fun You meet new people You get free admission Cheap food Okay paycheck depending on your location some leads and supervisors were chill fun and nice 1 hour break even though it went by really quick

            Cons

            Long hours for small pay Depending on your location long walks to the employee part of the park Heat exhaustion Had to eat in one place of all the food places in the park and they only had fries , chicken tenders or pizza Always had to have either lemonade, water, or Powerade Never get off at the time your suppose to Rude guest Came up short a couple of times dealing with...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Be a little more relax with the strictness and let us have a variety

            Carowinds2016-07-31
          Found 163 reviews