Carowinds "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carowinds Employee Reviews about "long hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "You get 4 free tickets your first year working after you work 150hours(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "8 hours of intense heat and humidity in a stressful environment leads to a pretty sucky day(in 17 reviews)

  • "Less hours once summer is coming to an end, long hours on holidays, very strict about rules such as having phone on you(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Carowinds full-time

      Pros

      it is a fun time

      Cons

      you will work long hours

      Carowinds2019-03-25
    • "Pretty Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ride Attendant 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -free tickets after you work a certain amount of hours -discounts -great place to meet people

      Cons

      -the heat -long hours of work -rude customers

      Advice to Management

      organize!! communication!!

      Carowinds2019-02-21
    • "It's an okay place to work at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ride Attendant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      If you're in high school, I recommend applying here. It is literally the easiest and most fun job you'll have in your life. I really recommend going into rides because it is the most paid position in the park which starts off at $9.00. If you have nothing else to do in the summer just work here and make your moneys worth of time spent working.

      Cons

      As the season start coming closer to Scarowinds, most employees start to leave because of long hours and make it a little bit difficult for closing shifts.

      Advice to Management

      Management is great, just slow at times, but most of all it is not really fair to make us, those who do not want to go on break go on break ( If we just come in, please do not make us go to break immediately, it is pointless to call it a break if we have not even worked at all yet.)

      Carowinds2018-11-29
    • "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Carowinds part-time

      Pros

      Good hours during the summer, can show tattoos

      Cons

      Less hours once summer is coming to an end, long hours on holidays, very strict about rules such as having phone on you

      Carowinds2018-08-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carowinds full-time

      Pros

      Easy interview, easy job and Low Stress

      Cons

      Lousy pay, long hours, no benefits, high turn-over rate

      Carowinds2017-03-19
    • "Scarowinds"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Carowinds part-time

        Pros

        It's fun to watch people's reactions, you get to make some good friends, it's overall just a pretty fun job.

        Cons

        It's long hours on your feet, so it gets tiring.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work!

        Carowinds2016-10-20
      • "Food & Beverage"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Carowinds

        Pros

        -HAHAHAH -but i guess you get cheap food in the employee area -free admission to park -I dealt with a lot of nice guests

        Cons

        -Long hours. At least 6 hours -Work 40 hours a week even if you're part time -you will get tired of that Coaster's food -ugly uniforms -i worked at food & beverage so you can't wear nail polish due to safety reasons (even though you wear gloves the whole time) -I live in Mint Hill so I have to get ready 2 hours prior to the time I have to clock in. (That was just a personal...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Just get some brand new supervisors

        Carowinds2016-09-02
      • "Okay but wouldn't recommend."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Games Associate in Charlotte, NC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I worked in games so we got payed the lowest from what I hear but it's was $8/hr It's fun You meet new people You get free admission Cheap food Okay paycheck depending on your location some leads and supervisors were chill fun and nice 1 hour break even though it went by really quick

        Cons

        Long hours for small pay Depending on your location long walks to the employee part of the park Heat exhaustion Had to eat in one place of all the food places in the park and they only had fries , chicken tenders or pizza Always had to have either lemonade, water, or Powerade Never get off at the time your suppose to Rude guest Came up short a couple of times dealing with...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Be a little more relax with the strictness and let us have a variety

        Carowinds2016-07-31
      • "Guest Services Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Guest Services Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Carowinds

        Pros

        Meeting new people and get to have a little fun talking to kids, you also get some funny guests who love to joke with you and your able to joke back. Pay is ok.

        Cons

        LONG hours, some really rude guests, rude leads and supervisors. Super strict dress code along with really strict rules on literally everything. Makes you feel like if you breathe in the wrong direction your going to be written up. None of management knows how to compliment employees below them, and all they do is criticize you. If you work in baby care your expected to just...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Learn to compliment and praise people, take it easy on newbies. I understand guidelines are guidelines, but there is a way to go easy on us and still follow the rules.

        Carowinds2016-06-17
      • "Really Fun Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        - Good benefits - Full of fun - Good food - Awesome new friends - Overall, a really cool job

        Cons

        - Long hours - Rude guests - Weather - On your feet a lot

        Carowinds2016-04-06
      Found 163 reviews