Carowinds "new people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Carowinds Employee Reviews about "new people"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Matt Ouimet
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "You get 4 free tickets your first year working after you work 150hours(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "8 hours of intense heat and humidity in a stressful environment leads to a pretty sucky day(in 17 reviews)

  • "Less hours once summer is coming to an end, long hours on holidays, very strict about rules such as having phone on you(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "new people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Games Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gaming Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people Free time in the park Nice pay

    Cons

    Scheduling Managers Lunch Break Rules Reward program Terrible support

    Advice to Management

    I would advise to check up on your managers because when I worked there they went to sleep in the stock rooms.

    Carowinds2017-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet many new people. You work with young people around your age. (If you are a teen)

    Cons

    Hot. They didn't keep up with your water and you weren't allowed to leave. When you felt sick; you had to wait 30 mins before they even tried to help you.

    Carowinds2017-08-19
  3. "Okay but wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Games Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in games so we got payed the lowest from what I hear but it's was $8/hr It's fun You meet new people You get free admission Cheap food Okay paycheck depending on your location some leads and supervisors were chill fun and nice 1 hour break even though it went by really quick

    Cons

    Long hours for small pay Depending on your location long walks to the employee part of the park Heat exhaustion Had to eat in one place of all the food places in the park and they only had fries , chicken tenders or pizza Always had to have either lemonade, water, or Powerade Never get off at the time your suppose to Rude guest Came up short a couple of times dealing with money Hated my uniform black and white striped...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more relax with the strictness and let us have a variety

    Carowinds2016-07-31
  4. "Guest Services Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds

    Pros

    Meeting new people and get to have a little fun talking to kids, you also get some funny guests who love to joke with you and your able to joke back. Pay is ok.

    Cons

    LONG hours, some really rude guests, rude leads and supervisors. Super strict dress code along with really strict rules on literally everything. Makes you feel like if you breathe in the wrong direction your going to be written up. None of management knows how to compliment employees below them, and all they do is criticize you. If you work in baby care your expected to just sit there and say hello to guests coming and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to compliment and praise people, take it easy on newbies. I understand guidelines are guidelines, but there is a way to go easy on us and still follow the rules.

    Carowinds2016-06-17
  5. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Games and Merchandise Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Meet a lot of new people and the benefit is that you get in for free and receive discounts on merchandise.

    Cons

    Really hot and the managers place you in a place where its not your regular location to work.

    Carowinds2016-05-09
  6. "Singer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stage Technician/Stage Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to meet new people

    Cons

    Management picks favorites. Needs more opportunity for growth

    Carowinds2016-04-18
  7. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds

    Pros

    You get to meet new people & the pay is good

    Cons

    Hot and sometimes the security line is long be early for work

    Carowinds2016-03-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and meet new people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Games and Merchandise Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great hours. Good pay. Getting to meet alot of new people and experience alot of different aspects of the work place

    Cons

    Sometimes working a night shift and then a morning shift can be exhausting sometimes. Dealing with the public can be very frustrating

    Carowinds2015-08-31
  9. "My experience working here was awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rides Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Meet new people everyday Free admittance to park

    Cons

    Heat Having to shave Only getting 4 comp tickets

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Carowinds2013-10-12
Found 163 reviews