Carrington College Reviews | Glassdoor

Carrington College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Donna Loraine
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and education for students(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits (medical, 401k, free tuition) and decent pay for being in a contact center(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management was unorganized and condescending(in 13 reviews)

  • "Home office does not address issues going on at the campus level(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Career Services Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Carrington College full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with. Everyone here is really nice and helps you get situated to succeed.

    Cons

    Work load is high, have to try and get communication with students who don't want to email back.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Carrington College2018-09-13

    Carrington College Response

    October 9, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you highlighting upon the importance of our colleagues' success.

  2. "Personalized Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Clinical Instructor 

      I have been working at Carrington College part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Small class sizes Caring and supportive environment

      Cons

      May required to assume additional duties not specified in the job description, such as participating in self-study

      Carrington College2019-05-19
    • "In need of better leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Faculty in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Carrington College full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Most employees are amazing and supportive. Students are the reason we are here! We offer some high quality programs.

      Cons

      Executive leadership that report directly to the President and brought here from a failing university a few years ago do not know our business, do not provide positive direction, and have ruined our caring culture. IT issues not getting resolved. Expense reibursements take forever!

      Advice to Management

      Let's hope the new owners see how ineffective those at the very top of the org chart are, and make some much needed changes soon! Please step in and give some hope and direction. Senior leaders are silent and don't even discuss a company strategy anymore. The President rarely shows up to her office but never addresses the college community. How about walking the halls and greeting students and faculty? The silence...

      Show More
      Carrington College2019-05-01
    • "Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - National Dean in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carrington College full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Room for growth. Good pay. Travel

      Cons

      Stressful work and very heavy workload

      Advice to Management

      Be more supportive

      Carrington College2019-04-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "Underpaid and overworked!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Carrington College full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Some of the people here are amazing people, I made some lifelong friends here.

      Cons

      The company is struggling and has had lay offs 3 years in a row. Management is not receptive to colleagues’ concerns or solutions to existing issues. There is a drama culture at times. They also underpay their employees and expect 150% from everyone. They also run a skeleton crew, so there are never enough enrollment or finance advisors. They will combine roles to save money on colleagues salaries. Also, when Carrington...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop pinching pennies and value your employees. You’ll have happier employees who stay for longer term. Stop making 1 person do the job of 2 or 3.

      Carrington College2019-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Unstable, not worth it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Carrington College full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Generally good immediate faculty members to work with. We care about each other because management doesn't.

      Cons

      Management and higher ups do not care about individual employees. Company was recently acquired by SJVC that does not have a stellar record either. They can't even keep their own programs accredited. Things are either ridiculously micromanaged or no one knows who is in charge. The benefits are a joke.

      Advice to Management

      Try sitting in as a student for a week in each program before you try to make changes or suggestions because you really have no idea what we do. Support, value, and nurture your employees before they all leave. Have some integrity when it comes to what you view is a successful student and don't blur the line.

      Carrington College2019-04-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Carrington College full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great Instructors School benefits minimal

      Cons

      Poorly management Corporate has no idea what is going on at a school level Poor communication Stressful environment

      Carrington College2019-03-11
    • "Ok place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Carrington College full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with the students, fun events, cool co-workers, competitive pay

      Cons

      lack of communication, micromanagement, high turnover, doesnt seem to much room for advancement

      Advice to Management

      value your employees, have more flexibility and gold the right people accountable

      Carrington College2019-02-16

      Carrington College Response

      February 20, 2019Social Media Specialist

      Thank you for leaving a review. We appreciate your honesty and value your feedback. It is great to hear that what you enjoy most is working with the students and your coworkers!

    • "Nurse Practitioner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carrington College full-time

      Pros

      Chill environment with decent coworkers

      Cons

      Upper management was unorganized and condescending

      Advice to Management

      Recognize your employees work their own and do not try to take credit for others’ work

      Carrington College2018-10-04

      Carrington College Response

      October 9, 2018Social Media Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to see your coworkers and work environment as a few of the things you enjoy about Carrington College.

    • "Library assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Library Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Carrington College part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      pay flexible hours coworkers training understanding and supportive environment

      Cons

      there are no cons about this job in my opinion

      Advice to Management

      keep up the good work ! I enjoyed working with you guys.

      Carrington College2018-09-09

      Carrington College Response

      October 9, 2018Social Media Specialist

      Thank you for leaving such a great review!

    Found 178 reviews