Carrington College Reviews

Updated May 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Carrington College  President Dr. Donna Loraine  (no image)
Dr. Donna Loraine
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was unorganized and condescending(in 14 reviews)

  • "Home office does not address issues going on at the campus level(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Carrington College full-time

    Pros

    Great company was like a big family

    Cons

    Too far from home. No room to advance.

    Carrington College2018-04-19

    Carrington College Response

    April 20, 2018Social Media Specialist

    We love hearing that you feel like Carrington is a big family! Thank you for leaving a review!

  2. "Great colleagues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carrington College full-time

    Pros

    Work from home options, good PTO

    Cons

    Bad collaboration between departments. Managment not supportive and not much room for advancement

    Carrington College2020-05-07
  3. "Avoid This Carrington"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carrington College full-time

    Pros

    At one time the college was a great place to work. It has gone steadily downhill.

    Cons

    • Academics is a vicious, punitive environment. Provost should not be in a managerial position • Bullying by some individuals affects the mental and physical health of employees • Do-nothing organization to improve the college or to hear employee concerns • RIF employees but then hire new employees. • It’s all sweat and no heart • All about the money and nothing about students or employees based on experience and education while instructors are massively underpaid and should unionize • Revolving door hiring/firing

    Continue reading
    Carrington College2020-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Former Instructor - Still Friend’s with employees there."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carrington College

    Pros

    There’s always potential for anyone or anything, but at the moment I can’t think of any for this organization.

    Cons

    It’s just too much! I left because of lack of support, integrity and ethics. There’s no trust or faith in their employees, which, in reality means employees can’t trust them. There’s always something brewing below the radar and typically it involves cuts, threats, more work and less job satisfaction. The saying “the beatings will continue until morale improves” is the corner stone of this organization’s employer philosophy. Far too many good people lost because of this archaic approach. The loss is to the students who pay extraordinarily high fees to learn promised skills to advance in life. Such a sad thing to know people with hope, come to be taught by the hopeless. Glad I’m out.

    Continue reading
    Carrington College2020-04-25
  5. "Human Resources"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor, College Or University 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carrington College part-time

    Pros

    Great students and some faculty were great

    Cons

    HR is terrible, they don’t take care if their employees at all. Also if you are not long time faculty there they will not fight for you.

    Carrington College2020-03-17
  6. "Unorganized"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carrington College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers who care about student and no morally right from wrong

    Cons

    Leadership lacks compassion and organization Pushing students into something they don’t really want Cost of the programs

    Continue reading
    Carrington College2020-02-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Micromanagement and employer does not contribute to 401k but performance expectations are very high."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carrington College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Minimal positive reasons to work here. Great students and dedicated hard working employees--non management.

    Cons

    This is a micro-manged organization. If you like this environment, then you will do well. The owner company does not make contributions to retirement. As faculty, the main focus is retention, not quality.

    Continue reading
    Carrington College2020-02-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Nothing's changed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Assistant in Mesa, AZ

    I worked at Carrington College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary at the time I left!

    Cons

    Same as now. Senior Management haf no clue how to run a skills based college. It still is all about the numbers! Keep all students , cheaters, drug users on campus, students who cannot pass minimum competency exams, students who come late, leave early basically leave your integrity at the door and pass everyone or your on your way out. I know so many people that were with Apollo/Carrington who were responsible for making Apollo the college Devry wanted. They bought it and killed it. Everyone who left is so much happier and healthier for doing so. I would never recommend this college to students or perspective employee's!

    Continue reading
    Carrington College2019-12-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Has been a mostly positive experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carrington College

    Pros

    Colleague comradery Benefits Location Student satisfaction Curriculum

    Cons

    Upper Management out of touch Weak links in certain Departments Bad behavior not addressed Low motivation Little room for growth

    Carrington College2019-10-31
  10. "Transition"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Finance Advisor 

    I worked at Carrington College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees I work with are great. Location is good and I enjoy what I do.

    Cons

    Management is stretched too thin and is not available for support as much as it's needed. Employees get little to no recognition, and currently there are no positions available to be promoted into. There are rarely enough people on campus to assist students, and many of them don't stay past a year.

    Carrington College2019-11-11
Found 190 reviews