KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cars.com

Is this your company?

Cars.com

Add a Review

Cars.com Director Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 532 reviews

3.6
13%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Cars.com CEO & President Alex Vetter
Alex Vetter
6 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cars.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company to work for

    Sep 10, 2020 - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    decent work life balance, meritocracy, very high quality senior management

    Cons

    too many meetings, somewhat insular, inward looking

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    changed company

    Mar 11, 2021 - Marketing Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    people, benefits, location, team, office

    Cons

    management, politics, customer turnover, down industry

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    gone are the good days

    Mar 18, 2019 - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    co-workers are smart and work hard

    Cons

    too many reorgs; cut more workers; top heavy, non-contributing vp, management-level people, abrupt changes, focused on time-consuming useless tasks, goals always changing

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Cars Representative

    Our employees are the heart and soul of our business, so we are very sorry to hear that your experience has not been what you expected. As a tech company in a highly competitive industry, we must constantly evolve to keep pace with our competition. Improving communication and breaking down the silos between departments and the leadership team is something we are working hard at to keep everyone in the organization connected to each other and to what's going on in all areas of the business. Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please know that we are aware of many of the challenges and opportunities that exist, we take them seriously and diligently work to resolve.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company, fantastic co-workers, experiencing some reasonable growing pains

    Aug 10, 2017 - Product Marketing Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, plain and simple. I worked at Cars.com for nearly 13 years and made some of the best personal and professional relationships of my life. It is such a tight nit culture but also an open, welcoming and accommodating to new faces as well. I recently left the organization but was inspired and motivated every day by my co-workers. I personally experienced a tremendous amount of growth opportunity, moving upward and across different departments. The organization acknowledges and rewards hard work, collaboration, integrity and accountability.

    Cons

    Cars is going through some expected growing pains as it evolves from it's spin off from the parent company. Leadership is actively trying to solve some of these growing pains but there is a certain amount of "get stuff done at all costs" going on that is taking away from time spent developing people and aligning everyone under a common purpose. To get back to 5 star status I feel that the organization needs to get back to some of the things that made it the best place to work in Chicago, the people and culture. The great news is that leadership is aware and cares. Before I left I had several meetings with members of the C-Suite who were very open and honest about the challenges and are genuinely interested in making things better. Turnover has been an issue as of late as folks that have been around for a long time look more for what they appreciated about the organization in the past. This turnover is starting to erode some confidence within the rank and file.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Director of Social

    Thank you. Cars.com is a special place. As we’ve grown and evolved, we’re proud to continue to attract and retain people who are open, inclusive and collaborative.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The trust is gone.

    Sep 2, 2017 - Director, Software Development in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New office space is nice. Work life balance was nice. Still some good tech talent left.

    Cons

    Failure to understand that the consumer is #1. The competition has overtaken the market because they've built their business with a consumer focus rather than finding ways to funnel a consumer to a dealer. The remaining top developers are prisoners to their paychecks. Overpaid to prevent exit. They'll do great work, but the work they're forced to do is fruitless and management fails to see it. It's impossible to keep moral high.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Cars.com Response

    Cars Representative

    Thank you for your review. We like to provide our people with the opportunity to balance many things that are important in their lives by allowing flexibility to work outside of what is perceived as normal work hours. We are excited about the recent products that we have been put into market like the Price Comparison Tool and Salesperson connect, both created with our consumers in mind. We also look forward to future launches. Finally, we agree that our folks are doing great work and we are proud to be able to continue to recognize them for it both internally and externally. We have also recently welcomed more new great hires, all in support of our growth strategy.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Sad downfall

    Jun 20, 2017 - Director in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Several good people still at the company. Products are the best in the market and strong consumer brand.

    Cons

    Quickly deteriorating culture. Gotcha leadership from several at VP level. Instead of making fundamental changes to the sales channel they just try to rehash old contests to juice revenue, which never pulls them into the black.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Director

    Jan 11, 2017 - Director in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company just makes you feel good for working there. Employees believe in what they are doing.

    Cons

    The company needs to think about what their future is. If they stay the course without taking risks they run the risk of just becoming stale like the media companies that once owned them.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A great place to work

    Nov 2, 2016 - Sales Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard, have fun culture. Innovative in the consumer space and always trying to grow and do more. Focus on employee development.

    Cons

    Minimal negatives. As with many rapidly growing companies, systems and processes are always needing revision.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Director of Sales

    Feb 10, 2016 - Director in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great consumer brand and a product that generates great results for advertisers. Company is ahead of the curve in key areas of the business - mobile and service

    Cons

    Fairly insular and conservative company that doesn't capitalize on it's full potential.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Director

    Apr 28, 2015 - Associate Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    culture and creativity are a plus at this organization

    Cons

    pay scale is low and challenging to move forward in career

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Cars.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cars.com? Share Your Experiences

or